1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

2DOF first sim

Discussion in 'New users start here - FAQ' started by smoukn, Nov 5, 2016.

  1. smoukn

    smoukn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Maribor
    Balance:
    185Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hi everyone!

    I found this forum a while ago, and start to think how great it would be, to have a motion platform at home. I just moved to a house and got plenty of space. So I finally decided to start my own project.

    For the sake of simplicity I will start with 2DOF sim, with peddals attached to moving platform. I really like Erwan960 sim, so I am thinking to make one like his.

    I started with small scale model, made from Lego technics and couple of servos. I took my Arduino, hook things up, and the model came alive! Wow! It's moving! :)

    I uploaded a video to vimeo, but don't have 5 posts yet, so I cant paste a link. I will, as soon as I can.

    Regards,
    Damjan
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. smoukn

    smoukn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Maribor
    Balance:
    185Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Here is the first video of my model.



    What do you think? Is it time to go full scale? I think it is! :D
    • Like Like x 4
  4. Mathis Van Eetvelde

    Mathis Van Eetvelde Send me a PM!

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Belgium
    Balance:
    178Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I'm kind of in the same position as you only i'm a bit less experienced.
    I love your scale model but i can't really see how it's built so it would be awesome if you showed us :)
    Also I would love to know how you setup Simtools :)
  5. smoukn

    smoukn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Maribor
    Balance:
    185Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hey Mathis!

    I'm glad you like my model. Here are a couple of pics of model:
    20161105_143948.jpg 20161105_144027.jpg 20161105_144036.jpg

    As you can see, you have to make some sort of U-joint, which supports moving part of platform. I was really lucky that holes of motors alligned with lego holes. So the motors are attached firmly. As you can see on the 3rd picture, I had to glue one lego piece to moving shaft of motor.

    I used Arduino UNO and code from @aerobbie. Here is the link from FAQ: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/arduino-code-for-use-with-various-hardware-and-simtools.31/

    I also followed this post: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/2dof-simulator-servo-model.6851/#post-77270

    Here are my simtools settings. I don't really know, if these settings are ok, but it works.

    Screenshot_1.jpg Screenshot_2.jpg

    I hope these pics will help you, with your build.
    • Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. Mathis Van Eetvelde

    Mathis Van Eetvelde Send me a PM!

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Belgium
    Balance:
    178Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
  7. smoukn

    smoukn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Maribor
    Balance:
    185Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    OK, after small research, I have decided to go with the @Erwan960 design. I want to spend minimum ammount of money for my first build. I can always upgrade later.

    Here are the parts I am planning to use:

    - 2x 12V DC Geared Motor, Motor with 50:1 ratio Gearbox - http://www.ebay.com/itm/112191134096?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT (125$ + shipping)
    - Arduino UNO (already have it)
    - Monster Moto H-bridge (5$) OR Semiconductor BTS7960B 43A Stepper Motor Driver H-Bridge (10$) OR Pololu Dual VNH5019 Motor Driver (50$)
    - PSU DC 12V Universal Regulated Switching Power Supply - http://www.ebay.de/itm/DC-12V-Unive...hash=item43ece7210d:m:mwMOVgkcKuh5iSViLgVFe6A (55$ + shipping)

    Questions:
    Which motor driver should I pick? I know you guys are having problem with these cheap clones, what about BTS (IBT-2)? If you recommend Pololu I am willing to invest little more $$$ for this.
    Do I need 2 PSUs or just one?
    Will this motors be enough for this design?
    How much weight can this design/motors withstand on top (moving) platform. I have around 80kg?

    Thank you in advance for all the answers.
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,196
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,938Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,748 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The MMs work fine, it is just a bit of a lucky dip.

    I would suggest 2 PSUs, the motors will have some significant power spikes and it simplifies things with isolate PSUs per motor.

    The motors will be fine for what you have planned, just make sure it is well balanced.

    You can work out the theoretical load capacity, but do also allow for mechanical loss: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/calculating-basic-linear-speed-and-forces.89/
  9. smoukn

    smoukn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Maribor
    Balance:
    185Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Thank you noorbeast.

    I've just ordered motors and MM. :)
    • Like Like x 1
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,196
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,938Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,748 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  11. smoukn

    smoukn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Maribor
    Balance:
    185Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    @noorbeast Just one more queston regarding PSUs. Do I have to order 600W 50amps, or will be enough to order 400W 33A, since on the specification of motor I see it uses 23Amps current? These are way cheaper.
  12. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,196
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,938Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,748 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  13. smoukn

    smoukn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Maribor
    Balance:
    185Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Thank you for advice @noorbeast. I ordered HP DL380, the modification looks quite easy.
    • Like Like x 1
  14. smoukn

    smoukn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Maribor
    Balance:
    185Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Finally!

    The parts have begun arriving. I have successfully moded PSUs and tested motors.

    20161114_172849.jpg

    I connected the motors directly to PSU. Motors were quite noisy. Is this normal?

    Shold I now open the new thread in "DIY Motion Simulator Projects"?

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  15. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,196
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,938Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,748 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I would not regard DC motors as noisy, can you shoot a video to show what you mean.
  16. smoukn

    smoukn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Maribor
    Balance:
    185Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Here is the video:



    The motors looks used. One of them actually has sticker "noisy" on the gearbox. But both of them are very loud I think. And the noise seems to be getting out of motor itself, not the gearbox.
    20161114_160149.jpg
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,196
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,938Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,748 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You can undo a couple of bolts and pop the gearbox off, that will give you a good idea if it is gearbox or engine that is noisy.
  18. smoukn

    smoukn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Maribor
    Balance:
    185Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    They are both noisy as before, even with the gearbox off.
  19. Blame73

    Blame73 Yet it moves!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,138
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,063Coins
    Ratings:
    +998 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    In the link you posted they're said to be seller refurbished
  20. smoukn

    smoukn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Maribor
    Balance:
    185Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Yeah I know. I didn't expect the motors to be new, but at least that they would work as they should.
  21. xiejin

    xiejin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    CHAINA
    Balance:
    65Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF