1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

yaw/s data with LFS

Discussion in 'LFS - Live For Speed' started by FoxONe42, Jun 2, 2018.

  1. FoxONe42

    FoxONe42 6DOF newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Aix-en-Provence France
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi all,
    I am testing Simtools with the free demo version of both simtools and LFS, along with my 6DOF Rc servo platform before I begin the full size project.
    Everything is working fine so far, but there is just one thing which is weird to me, that is the yaw motion. Indeed, data we get from LFS is simply the heading and is not verry suitable for a motion platform that can not fully rotate 360. actually, yaw value ranges from -180 to 180 and the platform simply goes in one angle depending on the heading of the car. SO when the can is heading 0, the platform is pointing straight forward. When it is -180, the platform is in its most maximum left position (which depends on my settings) and max right position for 180 degrees. Obviously, when going from 180 to -180 (which is basiclly very close on a 360 move), then my platform jumps straight from full left to full right, which is obviously not realistic.
    If I understand well what's happening here, I guess the main problem comes from the fact that yaw info is simply the heading, and that would work in a better way if this was actually something like yaw / s (I know such info is available in the x plane config).
    SO after all this explaination :), my question is pretty simple: Is there a way to get yaw/s info from LFS instead of simply yaw (Heading). Or this is a fixed paremeter and there is simply nothing that can be done about it ?

    Thanks a lot in advance for your answer
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,642
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    90,628Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,632 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    To manage the transition from one axis extreme to the other you will need to use the filters, in particular smoothing and washout gain and return.
  3. FoxONe42

    FoxONe42 6DOF newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Aix-en-Provence France
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Alright Noorbeast, thanks, I'll try this. If I understand correctely from your answer then, there is no way to get "Yaw/s" instead of "Yaw" only. Is that correct ?
  4. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimTools Developer SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,040
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    4,256Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,879 / 10 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    There is certainly a way to include yaw/s
    I'll need to check, how simple it is…
    • Like Like x 1
  5. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,300
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,857Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,214 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Use TL (traction loss) for cars as yaw does not work for most racing plugins. I don't play flying games so I can't comment on that side.
  6. FoxONe42

    FoxONe42 6DOF newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Aix-en-Provence France
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    @value1
    Ok thanks, but don't bother too much. this was a general understanding question and LFS is just for test, I do intend to use Simtools with X-plane which seems to come with extra 1, 2 and 3, pitch/s, roll/s and yaw/s respectively so that should be alright.

    @bruce stephen
    You are right, LFS comes with extra 1 Traction loss. I will use this one as my 6th DOF instead of yaw. Thanks
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  7. hannibal

    hannibal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Balance:
    172Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    hi! i am new here.
    im looking testing a 3DoF device.
    im trying to understand why someone would want to use extra yaw's or pitches or rolls...

    @noorbeast , would it be too much to explain what "To manage the transition from one axis extreme to the other" on your post #2
    thanks... :)
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,642
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    90,628Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,632 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    As of Sept 29th my comment is somewhat redundant, as the new SimTooms V2.3 has added Anti RollOver – This setting returns the output value to zero when the input is at its max or min setting. For Instance, if we had a Max and a Min of 180°/-180° for an input and this setting was on, any values after 90° start counting back to zero. Making an input of 100° = 80°, 120° = 60°, and 180° = 0°. The same thing happens for the negative values also meaning that a -180° = 0°. (Note: This setting is only intended for the Roll and Pitch inputs from a game.): https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/simtools-v2-3-is-out.12483/#post-163409

    Prior to this latest SimTools innovation what would happen at the inversion point of a roll or loop, using traditional pitch and roll, is that the sim would jump from one side to the other, and the only way to soften it was to use filters, specifically Smoothing, Gain and Return.

    Some flight plugins already have an alternate approach using Extra1 and Extra2, in place of traditional roll and pitch, and what they do is hold roll or pitch until the joystick returns to its neutral position. Again filters could be used to tweak how it behaved.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. hannibal

    hannibal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Balance:
    172Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    ok, thanks for the explanation!
    i havent even thought about the 360 roll.
    i was anticipating limit on yaw so VR HMD users dont get wrapped around the cord.