1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Yaw problem

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Driftman, Sep 15, 2020.

  1. Driftman

    Driftman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    132Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    The yaw swing arm now has a situation, that is, when it slowly swings to the extreme position on one side, it will suddenly return to the extreme position on the other side at a very fast speed. This situation occurs when the vehicle drifts around a circle. Is this normal?
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,088
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    7,830Coins
    Ratings:
    +247 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    What type of motors and sensors are you using ?

    Do you antrollover selected

    Is washout enabled
    • Like Like x 1
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,812
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,504Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,228 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Can you please post pictures of all of your settings.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Driftman

    Driftman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    132Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    thank you!
    600w12v DC motor, rotating adjustable 300 degree carbon film potentiometer. The sequence file can only work on one side when washout is used. I only play drifting and I am not going to use yaw to switch to extra1.
  6. Driftman

    Driftman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    132Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thank you, my plan only has one motor axis1a, yaw, 25%,
    genenc 2d standard: washout 50, gain 1
    But now I use extra1 instead of yaw. extra1 is normal and available.
  7. Driftman

    Driftman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    132Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino

    Attached Files:

  8. hooshang

    hooshang Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    258
    Balance:
    220Coins
    Ratings:
    +149 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    this is normal but not correct! it happens when you reach to the extreme position, means +180,next is -180 and not +179! so your actuators try to move fast to the oposite side, this problem discused before a few times in the community and i think it can be solve by adding a few more line code, i donno maybe there is a filter or washout in the Simtools...
    • Winner Winner x 1
  9. Driftman

    Driftman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    132Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thank you very much for your answer! But I can't write code, and I don't understand software. This should arouse the attention of simtools software authors and be improved. I mainly play drifting. Now I can only set extra1 instead of yaw, because I don't know how to set yaw to make the swing arm work properly.
  10. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,088
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    7,830Coins
    Ratings:
    +247 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Is your simtools motion set to 100% ?
  11. Driftman

    Driftman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    132Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino

    My setting is only 40%, only yaw, no other degrees of freedom settings.
  12. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,812
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,504Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,228 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    When it comes to drift the axis used should really be traction loss (pivot point near feet) not yaw (central pivot point). Yaw is useful and realistic for say a helicopter, but in a car is mainly relevant in a spin, whilst traction loss relates to the rear end breaking loose, as it does in drift.

    First off grab a copy of the SimTools manual, and keep it handy for reference: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/rtfm-start-with-the-official-simtools-documentation.117/

    You can't refine a motion profile without some basic understanding of the steps involves, so see the FAQs for some tips: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/

    The FAQs also have tips on how to configure traction loss for those plugins that support it: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/traction-loss-in-simtools.175/

    Finally, when requesting help please post pictures of all of your settings, particularly in circumstances where you are just starting out.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  13. Driftman

    Driftman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    132Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thank you very much, you are very enthusiastic, I learned about yaw this way, but I haven't played flying games for the time being, I am thinking about drifting and also using sway. I'm sorry, I just visited our simtools website, and I'm not too proficient in sending some pictures or anything. I will learn slowly. I use a translator, and I have to translate Chinese into English, but I'm not very skilled yet.
    • Like Like x 1