1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question VTOL VR Plugin Development

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by nebriv, Feb 25, 2020.

  1. nebriv

    nebriv New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    58Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Hey all,

    I'm working on developing a plugin for a VTOL VR (VR game available on steam) mod. The mod is injected into the VTOL VR game and outputs telemetry that would hopefully be used for motion simulators.

    Unfortunately I do not own a motion simulator. I was aiming to use YawVR's emulation tool and SimTools to capture and re-transmit the UDP telemetry from my mod.

    Does this seem like sound logic to work from?

    As I do not own any type of motion simulator - I do not wish to buy a license for SimTools. I see there is an alternative "Free" discount code available. Would this be applicable in my situation?
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,587
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,256Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,141 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  4. KydDynoMyte

    KydDynoMyte Fool's Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    RTP, NC
    Balance:
    91Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    He already has great data outputting. Shame he doesn't have a way to test the plugin he would like to make for the community.
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,587
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,256Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,141 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    There is nothing posted I can see that indicates what data is outputted. What I flagged for @nebriv is that SimTools has an API.
  6. Retro77

    Retro77 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Occupation:
    Nurse Practitioner
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    13Coins
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I'm really interested in this project. I feel it's one of the best VR flight sims out there. The immersion with the seat would be amazing
  7. nebriv

    nebriv New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    58Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    @noorbeast thanks for your reply! I thought about the memory hooks initially but the game is under very active development so the pointers would be constantly changing. I have no problem currently getting basic telemetry output through a UDP stream in game, I've already developed a mod to do just that. It seems to work fairly well. As far as what data is currently outputted, this is what I've got:

    // FORMAT
    //S:timestamp:heading:pitch:roll:x_accel:y_accel:z_accel:took_damage:gun_firing:E

    Unfortunately the current sticking point for me is getting the data ingested into SimTools - I targeted SimTools as it seems to be the most popular tool available for people with motion simulators. Currently the demo of the software only seems to support LFS and I am unable to develop a custom plugin to support the data output from my telemetry plugin within VTOL VR. As I mentioned above, I unfortunately do not own any motion simulator so I don't really have much incentive for spending money on the tool. Is there anyway to develop and test custom game plugins without purchasing the full software?

    I'm more than happy to spend my time developing a plugin for free for the community.
  8. nebriv

    nebriv New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    58Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    I don't seem to be able to edit my post - output data without emojis! :)

    Code:
    //S:timestamp:heading:pitch:roll:x_accel:y_accel:z_accel:took_damage:gun_firing:E
  9. Terrell Zeigler

    Terrell Zeigler New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Balance:
    6Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Were you able to get anywhere further with this?