1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Resolved Virtual Axis Not Moving When Playing LFS

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Sim Lift, Jun 6, 2019.

  1. Sim Lift

    Sim Lift New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    44Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    One of the key indicators that Simtools-Hardware is working is by testing through "Axis Testing". Similarly, to test Game-Simtools Interface, you need to use "Virtual Axis" Option.

    If you are starting with Simtools and having issue that playing LFS does not move the virtual axis, it means you probably have either of two issues

    1) LFS configuration
    2) Tuning Center Values

    for issue no 1, you need to open cfg.txt (found in installation directory of LFS). In the file change to following

    Conn To Master 1
    OutSim Mode 1
    OutSim Delay 1
    OutSim IP 127.0.0.1
    OutSim Port 4123
    OutSim ID 0

    Your port ID must match the Port Used ID identified in Game Profile Editor

    For tuning center, guide is already available on the forum so not repeating here.

    Happy Gaming
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,151
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,050Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,338 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The most common mistake with LFS is patching it without first running a race in first person mode.
  3. Sim Lift

    Sim Lift New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    44Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    Thanks @noorbeast. Patching LFS without first running a race in first person mode also effects cfg.txt? Or it's only related to Tuning Values?
  4. Sim Lift

    Sim Lift New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    44Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    @noorbeast - is there are way to know if Tuning values are correct? I did the same mistake as you mentioned but then did a manual reset. Not sure if the values captured now are correct. Below are many current values. Are they ok?

    values.PNG
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,151
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,050Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,338 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Running LFS generates some required files.
    Follow the steps here to refine a motion profile, initially doing one axis at a time, and in particular capturing the TC Max/Min values and then tweaking them: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/