1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Vibrating motors?

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by rkbaseball, Jun 6, 2020.

  1. rkbaseball

    rkbaseball New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    California
    Balance:
    139Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hey all,

    I finally have some time to sit down and try to work on my sim. I'm using 25:1 gearbox motors connected to a Sabertooth 2x32 and an arduino Uno. I've been following this tutorial (https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...ial-pid-motor-driver-sketch-w-softstart.9277/) and have been stuck on step 16. With those settings, I cannot turn the motor on. However, if I change the settings to the ones in the photo lower in that document, The motor turns on, but vibrates. If I let the pot rotate freely with the motor shaft it creates a smooth sweep of about 120-180 degrees and then returns to start, and will repeat this. If I hold the pot the motor vibrates back and forth and then stops. The blue/green lines in SMC3 also are not approaching each other, but the green line is oscillating rapidly back and forth from the top of the graph to the bottom. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Thank you
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,366
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,967Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,089 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Please post pictures of all of your settings.
  4. rkbaseball

    rkbaseball New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    California
    Balance:
    139Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Okay, so the 2 settings in SMC3 I have tried are the settings the guide recommends and the settings shown in the photo he attached below. SMC3 (top photo) is the photo in the guide, and SMC3(2) (bottom photo) is the recommended settings. With the top photo I can get the motors to vibrate and if I let the pot spin it will turn approximately 180 degrees before rotating back, but the other motor just vibrates (pot doesn't spin). If I hold the pot it will vibrate. SMC3.PNG SMC3 (2).PNG
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,366
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,967Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,089 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Make sure the pots are properly centered.

    Try these as basic initial settings:

    [​IMG]
  6. rkbaseball

    rkbaseball New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    California
    Balance:
    139Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hey noorbeast,

    Thanks a ton for the reply! I can't see the image attached on either my phone or computer. Could you try eithef describing or linking me to it?
    Thanks a ton!
  7. rkbaseball

    rkbaseball New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    California
    Balance:
    139Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Also, how would I make sure the pots are properly centered?

    Thank you!
  8. MarkusB

    MarkusB Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    467
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    3,461Coins
    Ratings:
    +463 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    There us a potentiometer line in the SMC3 Utilities application. If I remember correctly, it is the green line. You need to disconnect the pot and turn it by hand until the pot line is in the center of the curve diagram. It must not lie outside the red lines.

    Then you definitely need to start with all the values set to Zero, as it is described in the tutorial. Do not start with the other values (e.g. Kp = 500). Tha will not work and is also not recommended in the tutorial. In the tutorial, this screenshot is just meant for explaining all the values.

    After centering the pot and connecting it again to the motor, go on with step 17. After following all the steps, you should at least have a basic initial setting that works, so that you can continue with the fine tuning.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2020
  9. rkbaseball

    rkbaseball New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    California
    Balance:
    139Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Markus Thank you so much! I was able to get it set up! I am now working on trying to get the simtools game engine to work with the motors and will search through here to try to find some information on that. Thank you so much for all the feedback and help!
    • Like Like x 1
  10. ferslash

    ferslash Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    492
    Balance:
    4,757Coins
    Ratings:
    +178 / 2 / -0
    once i had an issue like that and the problem was a cheap bad potentiometer, when i changed them for a good quality (more expensive ones) they worked just fine

    fer