1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question Tuning center profiles?

Discussion in 'SimTools Pro & Entertainment Version' started by sberns, Oct 17, 2018.

  1. sberns

    sberns Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, Arduino
    Is it possible to save tuning center settings using game manager profiles or otherwise? I typically use the same axis allocations when driving a particular sim, but use different min/max values in the tuning center depending on the car (eg road vs GT3 vs formula). It would be great if I could save these min/max settings as part of a profile. I read through the faqs but couldn’t figure it out. Thanks!
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,552
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,243Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,499 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  4. sberns

    sberns Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, Arduino
    Thanks - but when I create individual game manager profiles, do those profiles also store profile specific tuning center values? I tried to do that but it didn’t seem to work. I think it’s more accurate to adjust min/max values to account for changes in g-forces etc for different cars rather than adjsut per car axis % allocations which I prefer to leave relatively static per sim title.
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,552
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,243Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,499 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    No the Tuning Center values remain the same in the Game Manager Profiles, but if you have a good base motion profile you can adjust each axis force up or down to represent a wide range of vehicles and tracks, say in AC from a Cobra at Nords, which wallows around, to an F1 where I have to reduce the Main Level % considerably, because such cars are so stiff.
  6. sberns

    sberns Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, Arduino
    Thanks again @noorbeast for clarifying! How would I best go about requesting this feature in a future version of Simtools?
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,552
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,243Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,499 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    PM or as I am doing here tag the SimTools dev @yobuddy.

    That said I would encourage you to focus on refining your base motion profiles and take full advantage of SimTools current capabilities, as it already works well when you do.
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2018
  8. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,654
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    29,820Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,692 / 10 / -0
    @sberns,
    Game Manger Profiles adjust the Game Engines Min/Max values for the game by up to -50% or +50%.
    (It why you tune with a mid range car. You can even adjust them live while the game is being played.)

    So accentually with a different vehicle, you just need to scale the settings in as needed.
    And your off to the races...
    Take care,
    yobuddy
  9. sberns

    sberns Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, Arduino
    Thanks @yobuddy. Would you be able to help me understand the relationship between changes to a game manager profile and tuning center min/max values? Is it linear? - if I increase surge in a profile by 20%, is that in effect lowering the max value by 20%?
  10. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,654
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    29,820Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,692 / 10 / -0
    Yes it is linear and It lowers both the Min and the Max value by 20%.
    (essentially adjusting the range of the values for the new vehicle)
    Let me know if you have any more questions buddy,
    yobuddy
    • Like Like x 1
  11. sberns

    sberns Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, Arduino
    One more question regarding tuning profiles - is it possible to have tuning center min/max values reflect delta game values instead of absolute values?

    To clarify, I’m trying to better tune the heave effect on my DIY G-seat for improved road texture feel by exaggerating small changes independent of larger elevation changes. I would like to be able to set min/max to something like -0.5/0.5, but for that to reflect changes in heave from the previous instantaneous value. Eg if going over a bump while traveling up a hill, the absolute game heave value may go from 1.8 to 2.0, but I would like my heave axis to react to 0.2 from a min/max range of -0.5-0.5. This would maintain “focus” and separate smaller details within the heave game effect.
  12. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,654
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    29,820Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,692 / 10 / -0
    @sberns,
    You can do this with a custom game plugin.
  13. sberns

    sberns Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, Arduino
    Thanks. I’ll read about custom plugins and see if I can figure it out.