1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question Stepper Motors for Motion Sims?

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Marc R, Feb 10, 2018.

  1. Marc R

    Marc R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Germany, Hesse
    Balance:
    180Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hello,

    im planning to build a 2DOF 360° Motion Simulator. I thought of using Steppers like Nema 42 or something like that. These have up to 40Nm of Stall Torque. Thats Insane!

    My Question:

    Is it a good idea to build a motion sim with Steppers?

    Thank You!
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,501
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    95,938Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,051 / 39 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Ringorumble

    Ringorumble Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    179
    Balance:
    236Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 1 / -0
    The fun Thing ist you get real high Torque Stepper with PSU and Controller for 140 Euro ... My 400 Watt gearbox Motor plus sabretooth plus PSU is Incl PSU and half of the sabretooth 300 Euro .. then some crank etc you are with 350 Euro .. If you dont need 60 cm travel you can build for Sure the Same but better Response actuator with at least the Same amount of Invest .. the only Thing what is Missing is a Code Using them.
    Otherwise i would have started Mine ...
    Seems Like as soon Somebody done a Code He goes commercial :)
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,290
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,874Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,218 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
  5. Marc R

    Marc R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Germany, Hesse
    Balance:
    180Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Thank you!

    Linear Actuators won't be an option for me, as i am building a complete 360° Cage. Will Stepper motors like Nema 42 (40Nm Stall) be enough to turn a complete frame (100kg) and me (65kg)? I could also use 2 Motors for each axis to get 80Nm of Torque.
  6. Bord-Ing.

    Bord-Ing. New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    South Germany
    Balance:
    296Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    In the back of my mind there ist the idea of using high torque steppers for a 6 dof simulator. But I have no time for testing at the moment.

    Michael Hensen is going with steppers. As I understood he is going to write a software with acceleration ramps for positioning.

    Do you have a link to those steppers? I only found some with 28 Nm holding torque.
  7. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    625
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    4,900Coins
    Ratings:
    +117 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    i think steppers will work good on a ballscrew type actuator

    but not on a lever arm type actuator
  8. Marc R

    Marc R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Germany, Hesse
    Balance:
    180Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
  9. Marc R

    Marc R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Germany, Hesse
    Balance:
    180Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Im thinking of directly putting the Motor movements into the 360 Frame. 2 Motors for each Axis. I just have no idea if 60Nm is enough to make me and a big cage move, accelerate and breake quickly.
  10. brad nichols

    brad nichols New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    9Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    I had the same idea. I started with a NEMA 23 3.0NM and a DM542T driver totalling $99. Wondering if the 23 stepper would be able to pull the weight, if not i wouldnt be out much. Then I also bought a NEMA 34 Closed loop stepper and driver(86J1880EC-1000-LS-JH Driver-2HSS86H). I posted a video of the motors working and getting data from an iRacing replay via simtools. https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...my-iracing-rig-in-progress.13103/#post-173664 Well last night i finally got the motors mounted well enough(still waiting on odds and ends parts) and I have to say it was insane! To be completely honest, felt much better and smoother then i actually anticipated. I will have some updates on my post hopefully on Sunday. I have a bunch of tweaking to do. I have to figure out an easy way to set the actuator positions. For example if you reset, reflash the arduino and have power supply on it will drive the steppers. Then in simtools when it connects to the game they always drive and usually bottom out my actuators. So im researching best approach on here now.
    • Like Like x 1