1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question SMC3Utils question

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Arazok, Sep 2, 2019.

  1. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    161
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    906Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hey,
    using my rig now since 10 month a strange issue came across:
    When using SimUtils (latest version) the PWMmax values are strange. They are always 16 for Motor1, 17 for Motor2.
    If I change it and write (save image), stop and start SimUtils, the same.
    All others values are fine and correct.
    When checking with Arduino program tool and reading out the PWMmax1 value, it is 140, as it should be.
    But why is SimUtils saying a value of 16 (or overwriting it) ?

    I am using SMC3 with sabertooth code.

    cheers, Arazok
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    161
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    906Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Ok, it was my fault ! Problem found:
    With some slide changes to the SMC3 softstart code, the PWMMax values are slowly increasing, while SimUtils reads the values. That's why the wrong values (too low) are shown in SimUtils.
    I need to adapt my code :)

    regards,
    Arazok
    • Like Like x 1
  4. weld12

    weld12 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Occupation:
    Mechanical/technical/engineering/scientific
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Balance:
    166Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello Arazok,
    I think I get what your saying; the soft start code is slowly increasing pwm to max so the value represented in the utility may be an initial pwm value that is very low at start up. I don't fully understand the code or why the previous soft start code was not functioning. You've found a way to have it work and show/save real time pwm values "slight changes ;)" That's cool! If you could share I would appreciate it.:thumbs I don't know why others haven't been bothered by this as I like to use the utility at times.
    I thought maybe I had a different version of the utility, when I was experimenting with the smc3 code prior to it be adapted to fit sabertooth/soft start.
  5. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    161
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    906Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Correct. I will check the code (hopefully) today and post my changes...
  6. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,737Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,955 / 18 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    "SimUtils" is the rFactor2 plugin which collect data in game for graph and statistics?
    https://simutils.dk/
  7. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    161
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    906Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I send weld12 a pm with my changes.
    @RacingMat: No SimUtils is the graphical "standalone" Windows tools to test your motors. Can be downloaded somewhere here (in the SMC3 thread) I think.
    • Like Like x 1
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,080
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,235Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,998 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 3
  9. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,737Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,955 / 18 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @Arazok maybe you should edit the topic title with the correct term ;) SMCUtils
    • Like Like x 1
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,080
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,235Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,998 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Done.
    • Winner Winner x 1
  11. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    161
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    906Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Done, changed in thread title. Sorry for any inconveniences...
  12. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    161
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    906Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    thanks :)
  13. weld12

    weld12 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Occupation:
    Mechanical/technical/engineering/scientific
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Balance:
    166Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yes, SMCUtils, that what I was referring to as well.:thumbs
    Thanks to @Arazok, @RacingMat, @noorbeast 's contributions it is easier to follow.
    • Like Like x 1