1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question SMC3: Why can I not turn on the motors?

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Oliver Scheib, Nov 11, 2018.

  1. Oliver Scheib

    Oliver Scheib New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Germany, Schweigen-Rechtenbach
    Balance:
    29Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Joyrider
    Hi Guys. I'm new here. XSimulator inspired me to finally build a flight simulator. The frame is ready so far.

    The wiring I have taken from this great forum (see picture).
    The two H-Bridges 43A you know, I have only remounted the heat sink on the opposite side.

    When I press "Motor on" in SMC3Utils, the switch will remain OFF.
    The motors remain dead accordingly.
    Even if I position the pots in the middle position.
    For SMC3 V1.0 I also set "#define MODE2".
    Wiring I have also tested several times.

    Do you have any idea what I can do?



    20181111_172344.jpg 20181111_172344.jpg
  2. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    228Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    In the SMC3Utils the green line in the graph should move up and down as you turn the pot by hand. Does it do that?
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Oliver Scheib

    Oliver Scheib New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Germany, Schweigen-Rechtenbach
    Balance:
    29Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Joyrider
    That was a good hint.
    I noticed that the green line was very blurry. After I removed the ground of the electromagnetic shielding I had a much better signal (don´t knwo why, but it´s true).
    Know I can switch the Motors on.
    Thank you !!!!!!:thumbs