1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

SMC3 Arduino 3DOF 3-Phase AC motor Opto-Coupler shield ...

Discussion in 'SimTools compatible interfaces' started by speedy, Jan 7, 2017.

  1. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,189
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,343Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,251 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    For interfacing Arduino with VFD's running 3-Phase AC motors ...
    Using the SMC3 Arduino 3DOF motor driver Arduino code "In the default Mode 1" .
    Opto-Coupler PCB will be like a Dummy PCI card shaped for easy mounting inside a computer ...

    20170126_020945.jpg 20170126_020732.jpg

    All 3 VFDs [analog voltage / direction] and the 3 POT Feedback wirings will be in the PC back side with normal easy to use green terminal connectors ...

    20170126_020835.jpg 20170127_021007.jpg

    Arduino board will be mounted to the PCI shield as a second layer with just the USB cable connected internally to it ...
    No additional power socket as it will be fully powered separately via this USB ...

    Use an external 12V power supply for the shield power connection not more than 1A is recommended to eliminate EMI motors noise ...
    Using the the same computer power supply is still an option for less than 2Hp motors and VFDs cases .

    Opto-Coupler wireing connections.jpg
    For 6DOF get yourself two of these and you're ready to go ...

    20170126_050509.jpg 20170126_050617.jpg

    The making :
    The components side of the opto-coupler will be a regular through hole components but with a surface mounted pads to spare drillings .
    The 1:1 printable DIY file for toner transfer PCB process ...
    Aduino_SMC3_ArduinoShield.pdf

    A great idea by my big friend @cthiggin to do a label sticker for it :thumbs
    Opt-PCB w-Labels.JPG
    Labels for New OPT-PCB - PC - 032717.pdf

    A toner transfer with a 3M vinyl sticker will do a perfect job for you ...

    7.JPG 8.JPG 9.JPG


    20170123_064203.jpg 20170123_064118.jpg



    20170124_134914.jpg 20170125_080936.jpg 20170125_094315.jpg

    Edit: for more information about operational amplifier
    http://www.talkingelectronics.com/pay/OP-AMP/OP-AMP-1.html
    • Like Like x 6
    • Winner Winner x 3
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Creative Creative x 1
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2017
  2. That Dude There

    That Dude There Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    430Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0
    Thank you for all your advice on VFD's. I want to start a build thread for a 3dof AC motor setup, but I'm not to that point.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. paulg100

    paulg100 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Bristol UK
    Balance:
    1,174Coins
    Ratings:
    +87 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Looks great Speedy,

    Is there any delay or switching noise (physical not electrical) introduced by the optocouplers?
  4. Mmcool

    Mmcool Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    1,008Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I could answer that being from analog electronics background for many many years... yes there is responce delay because of the charging time of the RC filter and possible ripples on the analog out signal. Not sure how much as there are no captures of the response of the above circuit in oscilloscope.

    Here you can read more why:
    http://electronics.stackexchange.co...tant-in-pwm-digital-to-analog-low-pass-filter

    Mike
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,189
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,343Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,251 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thanks buddy ... :)
    There is no Relays used here. So, no audible switching noise at all ...

    If anyone need to know how a digital circuits can produce a delay in time response ... for all various TTL IC's internal transistors switching it is calculated within the nano second ...
    As this is not an INTEL INSIDE GHz to worry about data latching or time taken to travel through the board layers :) .

    Plus, it is not an RC lowpass filter ... The LM324 operational amplifier is used as Integrator and directly driven by PWM digital signal with a basic feedback capacitors that doesn't involve with PWM high frequency side sustaining the analog resolution ... thus converting the PWM duty cycle into an analog signal is extremely high resolution and very responsive .

    Simple as that :cheers
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2017
  6. Mmcool

    Mmcool Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    1,008Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Edited by Pit, please keep it polite and respectful.

    What is the values you used for the RC filter? Perhaps I can calculate the response mathematically

    R=resistor (found it on the layout is 10Kohm)
    C=capacitor ?

    And perhaps the frequency of the PWM signal to do some spectrum analysis. Is it the standard 490hz of arduino?

    You do know these values right? I assume it's your design, no?
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 8, 2017
  7. Mmcool

    Mmcool Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    1,008Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Ok, using 490hz pwm and C value 10uF:

    IMG_20170307_134444.jpg IMG_20170307_134356.jpg

    With above values the response delay is 0.23 sec or 4.3hz period.

    You use that for setting the speed of the motor in not wrong right? I guess it's good enough for vfd inverters if you set their ramp settings to 0.5sec.

    Mike
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
  8. paulg100

    paulg100 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Bristol UK
    Balance:
    1,174Coins
    Ratings:
    +87 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    A ramp of 0.5secs is really high no? Im running mine at 0.05acl and 0.02 dcl i think
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,189
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,343Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,251 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Even though you still believe it is an RC filter :confused:, Isn't there any sense of a wrong numbers can be found here ?

    :popcorn
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2017
  10. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,900
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    27,958Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,879 / 28 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi guys please stay kindly to each other, I deleted the previous posts, you get another chance :cheers
    • Like Like x 1
  11. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    24,580Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,270 / 20 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I know - lets look at the relevant specs of the actual OP Amp...- see below. A lot less then 0.23 Seconds :).

    upload_2017-3-8_17-1-52.png
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,189
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,343Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,251 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2017
  13. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,189
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,343Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,251 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Another photos for the opto-coupler with a black mounting brackets to the PC back .

    20170316_051851.jpg 20170316_052046.jpg

    a simulation for the op-amp that is used as integrator ...
    http://tinyurl.com/zf9jct9


    here is the response time of the PC817 opto-isolator

    Untitled.jpg
    • Like Like x 2
  14. judges

    judges New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    168Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0 / -0
    Hey speedy, great project, but I think the cap values are missing in your pcb layout. Also it would be great if you could post schematics (certainly can be deduced from the board layout, but easier if you have'em...)

    Thanks,
    Heiko
    • Like Like x 1
  15. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,189
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,343Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,251 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hello Heiko ... thanks for pinning that out, they are 1uF/16v ...
    Sorry buddy I don't have total schematics for it atm ... as this is the 6th edition of the board right now ... many circuits are added lately and schematics are not updated .
    • Like Like x 3
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2017
  16. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,189
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,343Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,251 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Some more animated explained types of op-amp circuits ...
    http://www.talkingelectronics.com/pay/OP-AMP/OP-AMP-1.html

    Going further revealing all the secrets :grin and for beating all those BIG expensive interfacing components raping your resources ... A DIY_1HP_VFD is coming out soon :p .

    You can see this circuit has another name of a Voltage Follower with Equal-Gain operation amp. and with a very small smoothing capacitor for the output side .
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2017
  17. ferslash

    ferslash Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    458
    Balance:
    4,475Coins
    Ratings:
    +163 / 2 / -0
    speedy until now i see this thread, it is grate what you made (i have to confes that i barly undertand the whole thing since electronics is not my natural language)....

    how much time and money you have to invest to create this board?

    best regards

    fer
    • Like Like x 1
  18. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,189
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,343Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,251 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Nothing complicated here @ferslash I assure you :thumbs ... this kind of circuits are really simple ... this one is even simpler than having an FM radio signal => demodulated into an audible stereo sound ...

    Furthermore everything else is a direct signal shaping and interfacing .

    I'll give you a PM for some hints and details .
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2017
  19. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,189
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,343Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,251 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    A great idea by my big friend @cthiggin as he did a label sticker for it :thumbs

    Opt-PCB w-Labels.JPG

    Attached Files:

    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  20. F22raptom

    F22raptom New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    80Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi @speedy - I have an Arduino Uno and 3 monster motos (one for each VFD), other than a PCB kit to make this board are you able to list the individual components I need to solder onto it? Or are they already listed in the PDF? (I can't view the PDF - might be because I'm browsing on my phone)

    Can you officially confirm if this circuit + arduino is all I need for simtools to be able to read my potentiometers and communicate with the VFD's?

    Thank you for your efforts BTW. Finding info on AC motor feedback with VFD's is complicated. So many platforms to use but I already have arduino so prefer that but obviously it was initially developed for DC motors not AC.