1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Simulated Wind using MonsterMoto and ArduinoUno

Discussion in 'SimTools compatible interfaces' started by SilentChill, May 15, 2015.

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,561
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,310Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,505 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Brilliant, I have addeded it to the 3D printing section of the FAQs: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/3d-printing-no-printer-no-problem-use-the-hub.129/
  2. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,172Coins
    Ratings:
    +830 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yeah, it would be perfect for any Arduino based project, you might just need to tweak the length of the supports based on the height of the shield you are using. I will be making some more different designs when I change from JRK's to MM's

    Awesome!! I didn't know we had a 3D printing section.
    • Like Like x 2
  3. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,172Coins
    Ratings:
    +830 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Just did a little test of the threads and they work fine at 0.2mm and the threads printed great. This test was with an M4x15mm bolt with a .05 pitch.

    I was able to tighten it so hard that it started to crush the plastic, you can see the circular dent in the top where the bolt crushed the plastic so there is no change of the thread stripping out.

    [​IMG]

    This means I can get the print time down to 6 hours.

    I will print another test one to see how it compares with the slower settings.
    • Like Like x 3
  4. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,172Coins
    Ratings:
    +830 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I did a print at 0.2mm layer height and it came out really well. Looks just as good as the 0.1mm.

    This has dropped the printing time from 17 hours down to only 8.

    Here are some photos. The one on the left is the 0.2mm and the one on the right is the 0.1mm

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 6
  5. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    At the moment we have still hot summer temperatures, so yesterday I was driving my Mercedes (a 11 years old one lol) for testing purposes, what happens with the wind flow - with open windows of course - mostly the wind is coming from the back! Ergo IMHO my design is not too false @speedy ;)
    • Funny Funny x 1
  6. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,573Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,269 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    :grin:grin ...

    That is called "A perfect 3D effect" ... :thumbs :D:D
  7. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,573Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,269 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    @Avenga76 ... fantastic job buddy :thumbs

    And since that a screw came into usage with most of us doesn't have such resources ...

    How about making us some useful accessories like :
    A slotted coupling for the feedback pot with the motor , or maybe a universal varable ratio reduction gears that can be used with it ;) .
    I guess the market place will be a good start here for that and I can help in the design :thumbs.

    IMHO ... an engraved SimTools logo on each part would be a fair enough good start .
    • Like Like x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2016
  8. HoiHman

    HoiHman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    210
    Occupation:
    Mechanic
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +143 / 1 / -0
    I got the fans installed on my rig today. They really add to the immersion. I have only tried them in Iracing yet, but it feels pretty good and it makes the VR experience more intense. I will try to get AC/PCARS/Dirt Rally working tommorow.

    No Limits 2 is also pretty cool

    The biggest challenge was taking in account that my rig is not permanent. Still need to some rewiring en find the perfect distance between the 2 fans.

    [​IMG]

    I was thinking about spray painting the fans black, but without the stickers they also look really nice in white.

    I have some issues with my 3d printer, but as soon as i have worked that out, i will be printing fan ducs and Richards Adruino box.
    • Like Like x 5
  9. sberns

    sberns Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, Arduino
    Amazing work Richard and thanks for sharing! I will definitely be printing one of your boxes for this project. If I'm not using ductwork, do you think fan grills are necessary?

    I'm planning on using an ATX power supply (430W, single 12V rail with 34A max) I already own as my power supply for the 6A fans. Can I just use one of the ground+yellow +12V wires from one of the connectors (to power the 2 fans) or must I join all of the 12V wires together and grab the feed off the group instead?
  10. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,172Coins
    Ratings:
    +830 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The fan grills do make a difference even without ducts.

    I brought an anemometer and I have done some tests and I see about a 40-50% increase in wind speed at 600mm.

    I will do a video about it later in the week
  11. HoiHman

    HoiHman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    210
    Occupation:
    Mechanic
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +143 / 1 / -0
    Looking forward to that video richard. How high do we need to print the fan grills to make a difference ?

    I got AC & Iracing working, but Dirt Rally doesn't do anything. Could be that i read somewhere that DR is not supported in my region??

    I also have a question about Pcars. Simtools tells me to disable MMS in the game why i patch it. What setting is MMS and is the game with MMS still compatible with SC4 which i need for my accuforce.
  12. stevemontuno

    stevemontuno Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,868Coins
    Ratings:
    +330 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    @HoiHman Dirt Rally has a Problem with the Outgauge Proxy Server so running multiple telemetry based devices is not easy,,,

    There is a work around that you can do to fix this issue though,,,

    http://www.eksimracing.com/cmps/
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. HoiHman

    HoiHman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    210
    Occupation:
    Mechanic
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +143 / 1 / -0
    Thanks a lot Steve, i will give that a try.
  14. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,172Coins
    Ratings:
    +830 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I see a benefit from even the 1/4 height air straightener.

    With Project Cars, make sure you are using the standard plugin, no the UDP alternate plugin. The normal plugin uses the same shared memory setting that SimCommander uses.

    With Codemaster games, Sim Commander supports UDP forwarding so you can just use that to forward the UDP to SimTools (Port 4123)

    [​IMG]

    With Dirt Rally specifically they have allowed you to do multiple UDP outputs directly from the game.

    So you could just do

    <udp enabled="true" ip="127.0.0.1" port="10001" delay="0" extradata="3" />
    <udp enabled="true" ip="127.0.0.1" port="4123" delay="0" extradata="3" />
    • Informative Informative x 3
  15. sberns

    sberns Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, Arduino
    Thanks quite a difference!! I didn't think it would be so significant. That said, I am terrible at 3D modelling. Any chance you would be willing to share the file for the honeycomb grill? It would be amazing to be able to print them to use on the seaflo fans. Your rig is very inspiring!
  16. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,172Coins
    Ratings:
    +830 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yeah, it my first quick tests I see about 20-23KPH winds just with the fans and 27-30KPH with the air straighteners on. It is a more focused beam of air so it projects further. The downside it you need to angle them correctly because the jet of air is narrower.

    Just like this

    [​IMG]

    I have attached the STL with and without the mounting bracket

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  17. sberns

    sberns Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, Arduino
    Thank you very much!! Very generous of you! My order is coming from China and is not expected until the end of October but I'll try and post some pics when it's done.
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,561
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,310Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,505 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  19. HoiHman

    HoiHman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    210
    Occupation:
    Mechanic
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +143 / 1 / -0
    Thanks, i will give it a try tonight hug:


    I just designed a air-straightner yesterday myself which is a lot shorter because i do not have a lot of room. It will mount over the outlet of the motor and only be 50mm tall . It's being printed as we speak, but my printer isn't that fast so i still have to wait another 5 hours for it to finish.

    Looking at the pictures above you have mounted the motors in a box, how big is the difference in sound (coilwhine)
  20. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,172Coins
    Ratings:
    +830 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You can just print mine at half height.

    In Cura or what what ever slicer you use just set the Z scale to 0.5, leave the X and Y at 1.0 and it will be fine. That is how I did my 25mm high ones, just set the Z scale to 0.25

    Those pictures aren't mine, just an example of the affect of airflow straighteners I found on the net