1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

SimTools - What's Next for development

Discussion in 'Breaking News' started by yobuddy, Feb 16, 2019.

  1. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,549
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    27,919Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,598 / 10 / -0
    The top of this post maybe explains it better...
    https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...next-for-development.13062/page-2#post-174880
  2. SimMeInMD

    SimMeInMD Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Baltimore MD (USA)
    Balance:
    144Coins
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -0
    @yobuddy ,

    Amazing work! if only I had started back in 2016! im so out of the loop on all of the sim world.. Trying to catch up!

    Again, awesome work :)
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Trigen

    Trigen Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2018
    Messages:
    131
    Balance:
    970Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Looks fantastic!

    One question, I see the entertainment version is getting some logging. I just got the pro version hoping it already had logging but none that i can see. Will this also get a log feature to diagnose errors?

    Thanks!
  4. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,549
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    27,919Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,598 / 10 / -0
    It's not that kind of a logging system.

    The logging system is to keep track of playtime on the simulator.
    What games were played between 2 given dates, how much time played on each, how many times a game is launched. etc...
    Take care!
    yobuddy
  5. Wajdi

    Wajdi Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Balance:
    297Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    Is it possible to have a version of SimTools optimized only for sim driving?
    I know it’s very difficult but from what I know SimTools was created firstly for fly sims. I think simply is a great software but with some work it can be even better.
  6. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,109
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    6,989Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,043 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    Hi @Wajdi
    Believe it or not but the very first games supported by SimTools were pure racing simulations like LiveForSpeed, the Codemasters Dirt series, rFactor, etc.
    If you are not yet happy with the experience with your platform, you might want to fix your motion profile.
  7. Wajdi

    Wajdi Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Balance:
    297Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    I’m really happy with my profile and I really like this software and I will continue to support it I just think it needs further improvements.
  8. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,109
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    6,989Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,043 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    Can you be more specific?
  9. Wajdi

    Wajdi Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Balance:
    297Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    For example, no need for game engine and game manager in 2 different app.
    Last edited: May 11, 2019
  10. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,549
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    27,919Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,598 / 10 / -0
    Every time someone posts this suggestion, I get emails from concerned people that it is being removed.
    I would agree that eventually the two apps could be combined as CPU's are only getting stronger.

    But I think it's best to get everything I want in SimTools first and then asses the max CPU usage amount possible when everything is running.
    If it turns out to still be very low, then combining the apps in the future is a obvious step i think.
    For now thou, check out this for a single click SimTools launcher.
    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/marketplace/simtools-v2-launcher.202/

    To SimTools thou, telemetry is telemetry.
    It knows no difference in what it's seeing, weather it be a Racing or flying game, or a RC car with a telemetry module.
    It's all the same to SimTools.

    Believe me when I say v2.4 has a laundry list of updates.
    And we are getting very close.
    Take care!
    yobuddy
    • Like Like x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  11. Trigen

    Trigen Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2018
    Messages:
    131
    Balance:
    970Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF

    Ive spent a long time setting up my Self built G seat and the profiles for it. Weeks of tweaking in fact. Now driving the Porche 962 Long tail around Nordschleife in Assetto Corsa in VR is immensly satifying. All the bumps and compression points and jumps are 95% in tune with what i see. The forces feels in tune with the force feedback on the wheel and the Gamevibe gives it that one extra dimension. I know a full DOF rig and seat moves are a bit different but the same applies. Its really all in the setup from what my experience is. I find it to be much better for racing than flying.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. Wajdi

    Wajdi Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Balance:
    297Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    I’m using my 4 buttkickers with Simvibe for Engine rpm and road small bumps and yes it adds a lot to my full motion setup( 4 actuators).
  13. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    505
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    3,544Coins
    Ratings:
    +160 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Flying can be great as well. It dependens puerly on your MCA approach.

    You can dig more into the topic if you are interested.

    “Motion Cueing Algorithm (MCA) is an algorithm employed for producing an impression of realistic motion sensation of driving in a limited environment.”
    Last edited: May 12, 2019
  14. Wajdi

    Wajdi Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Balance:
    297Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    Hi
    Any update about the beta testing?
  15. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    505
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    3,544Coins
    Ratings:
    +160 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    It will rock ! Almost done
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  16. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,549
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    27,919Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,598 / 10 / -0
    I think I just need to update the manual now.
    Finalize the smoothing and Intensity filter.
    And finalize a couple of surprise extras. ;)

    This will be by far the biggest update in SimTools history.
    It will bring a slew of new features and options to the table.
    Along with allot of polishing I have wanted to do for a long time.
    I simply can't wait for it to drop!

    Take care,
    yobuddy
    • Like Like x 1
  17. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,986
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,522Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,673 / 30 / -1
    Explains the lack of bombardment of FlyPT's thread as of late :D.
  18. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,986
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,522Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,673 / 30 / -1
    Still not enough for "Simtools 3" though? If not what will it take? To casual users and passer by's it will just look like an aging Simtools imo.
  19. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,549
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    27,919Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,598 / 10 / -0
    He is working on a new app I believe, this can take a bit, I know this first hand lol.

    Everything is still 100% compatible to everything else in SimTools v2.
    So there is no need for a v3 label. Even if it is truly on a whole new level.

    Allot of people believed in me to deliver the absolute best software I can write, so that's all I'm trying to do.
    And I think with v2.4, allot of people will be happy with the results.

    Take care,
    yobuddy
    • Winner Winner x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Wajdi

    Wajdi Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Balance:
    297Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    Can’t wait :)
    • Agree Agree x 3