1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
yobuddy

SimTools v2 - Video Ride Creator Beta1

Create video ride films for the Video Ride Player

  1. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimTools Developer SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,122
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    24,411Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,224 / 6 / -0
    The video ride creator has a small (unreleased) tool called VRCInput.
    The source will be released in order for anyone to make any kind of input device they want for the creator.
    I have seen a user use a Nintendo nunchuck as an input device to see how it works.
    And it worked fine except the nunchuck has a pretty low resolution.

    The video ride creator needs to be able to sync videos to telemetry files in order for it to see its full potential.
    So that is defiantly on the books.
    Take care!
    yobuddy
  2. Romain Seignour

    Romain Seignour Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Balance:
    36Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    thank you yo buddy
    but i need to have a software for start the vr in the headset do you think is possible to intégrated a 360video inside a player
    do you have an idea for have a simulator with the 360video ?
  3. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimTools Developer SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,122
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    24,411Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,224 / 6 / -0
    Sorry buddy, I don't quite understand...
    yobuddy
  4. Liviu

    Liviu New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi yobuddy , hi everybody !
    I have 2 questions :
    1. Is there any way to import a telemetry file (text format, comma separated) in order to associate it with a video ?
    2. Is it possible to use instead of Windows Media Player a different player (like VLC, ffplay or, better for my purposes, to specify the player as a command line with parameters ?).
    Would it be difficult to modify the Video Ride Creator
    Regards
  5. Liviu

    Liviu New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi yobuddy,

    I think Romain needs what I need as well : to be able to play the video in a VR headset (Samsung Gear VR Oculus) while sending the telemetry to a simulator and I think it's related with my previous post.
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    9,576
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    78,583Coins
    Ratings:
    +6,562 / 32 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    VLC would be the obvious choice, as it is open source, but thus far it does not have VR support yet.

    There are other VR capable players, see my earlier comment: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/simtools-v2-video-ride-creator.9897/page-2#post-142913
  7. Liviu

    Liviu New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  8. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimTools Developer SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,122
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    24,411Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,224 / 6 / -0
    No, but it needs to be able too.

    You would have to do it manually for now.
    Use the reformatter in VRC get your file in the format of:
    Roll (delimiter) Pitch (delimiter) Heave (delimiter) Yaw (delimiter) Sway (delimiter) Surge.

    Rename the file (vid name.cfg).
    example,
    MyVid.mpg
    MyVid.cfg

    Obviously this is less than optimal.
    We need a telemetry importer, and a usable telemetry offset 'slider' (as to sync to video).
    I want these new features as much as you guys do!

    I have a rough VLC version, but it won't do much till VLC supports what we need.

    The Video Ride Creator is not done, as it still needs a few things.
    But it has everything needed to reformat an existing vide telemetry file to be used with SimTools.
    So that's why it got published.

    Take care,
    yobuddy
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. mysimnet17

    mysimnet17 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    australia
    Balance:
    35Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    When can we get our hands on VRCInput ? as the current method of creating telemetry is really slow and tedious, i would really like to get a joystick going with the video ride creator to speed up the process .
    thanks
  10. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimTools Developer SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,122
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    24,411Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,224 / 6 / -0
    @mysimnet17
    I understand buddy, Please give we a few days to go over the code and make sure its final (we don't need anything else).
    Then I can post the source code for people to get started.
    Buzz me in a week or so if you don't hear from me buddy.
    yobuddy
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2017
  11. mysimnet17

    mysimnet17 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    australia
    Balance:
    35Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    thanks for that :)