1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question Simtools Output Testing problems

Discussion in 'New users start here - FAQ' started by jonas bandier, Mar 10, 2020.

  1. jonas bandier

    jonas bandier New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Balance:
    208Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hi there!

    I am trying to get an output from simtools but it does not seem to work. I think it has something to do with the Interface - Output in the Interface Settings tab. I have gotten motion out from the SMC3Utils program, i can move the motors just fine from there, but not from the simtools software.

    I have already tried a couple of different codes that i found on the forum.

    The rig is a 2Dof and I'm using one Dual VNH5019 motor driver board with two motors and one arduino.

    Thanks for helping! Udklip.PNG
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,190
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,891Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,745 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Setup for Simtools 2 is very straight forward, so change to 10bit binary and add Interface Output depending on how many axis you have:

    [A<Axis1a>][B<Axis2a>][C<Axis3a>]

    Set for 10bit binary output
  4. jonas bandier

    jonas bandier New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Balance:
    208Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Oh, thank you so much!

    It's amazing how helpful this forum/community is for newbies like me.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. jonas bandier

    jonas bandier New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Balance:
    208Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hi again.

    I have gotten the motor to move and i am now trying to get data out of LFS. I am quite confused about the game manager because is says in the top right corner "patched", but in the game patching tab is says "patch required". When i then click on the LFS installation directory it comes up with this error message (Pictures below).

    Thanks.

    Attached Files:

  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,190
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,891Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,745 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Please expand the error message and copy and past the error message here.

    Be aware that LFS has to be run before it is patched, see here for details: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...run-in-first-person-mode-before-patching.345/
  7. jonas bandier

    jonas bandier New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Balance:
    208Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hi noorbeast
    I have done the LFS thing.
    The error message first pops up the i open game engine.
    It looks like this:

    See the end of this message for details on invoking
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.
    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.ComponentModel.Win32Exception (0x80004005): Adgang nægtet
    at System.Diagnostics.ProcessManager.OpenProcess(Int32 processId, Int32 access, Boolean throwIfExited)
    at System.Diagnostics.NtProcessManager.GetModuleInfos(Int32 processId, Boolean firstModuleOnly)
    at System.Diagnostics.ProcessManager.GetModuleInfos(Int32 processId)
    at System.Diagnostics.Process.get_Modules()
    at SimTools_GameManager.frm_GameManager.tmr_IsGameRunning_Tick(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Timer.OnTick(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Timer.TimerNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4121.0 built by: NET48REL1LAST_C
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    SimTools_GameManager
    Assembly Version: 0.2.4.0
    Win32 Version: 0.2.4.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SimTools/SimTools_GameManager.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    EwaRlRjyQRIFJmdLrQQpzimRMOv
    Assembly Version: 0.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 0.2.4.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SimTools/SimTools_GameManager.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    Microsoft.VisualBasic
    Assembly Version: 10.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 14.8.3752.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/v4.0_10.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4001.0 built by: NET48REL1LAST_C
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Core
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4121.0 built by: NET48REL1LAST_C
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4121.0 built by: NET48REL1LAST_C
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3752.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3752.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3752.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Runtime.Remoting
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3752.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Runtime.Remoting/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Runtime.Remoting.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Game_PluginAPI
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SimTools/Game_PluginAPI.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    LiveForSpeed_GamePlugin
    Assembly Version: 2.1.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.1.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/Jonas/AppData/Local/SimTools/GamePlugins/LiveForSpeed_GamePlugin.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Microsoft.GeneratedCode
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3752.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.
    For example:
    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>
    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
    rather than be handled by this dialog box.
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,190
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,891Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,745 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I believe that message relates to access denied, is that correct @yobuddy?

    Try running SimTools as admin and see what happens @jonas bandier.
  9. jonas bandier

    jonas bandier New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Balance:
    208Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    @noorbeast
    I tried running it as administrator, now it says (Translated from danish)
    "Only a part of ReadProcessMemory- or WriteProcessMemory-
    the request succeeded" instead of "access denied"


    Error message:

    See the end of this message for details on invoking
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.
    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.ComponentModel.Win32Exception (0x80004005): Kun en del af ReadProcessMemory- eller WriteProcessMemory- anmodningen blev gennemført
    at System.Diagnostics.NtProcessManager.GetModuleInfos(Int32 processId, Boolean firstModuleOnly)
    at System.Diagnostics.ProcessManager.GetModuleInfos(Int32 processId)
    at System.Diagnostics.Process.get_Modules()
    at SimTools_GameManager.frm_GameManager.tmr_IsGameRunning_Tick(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Timer.OnTick(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Timer.TimerNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4121.0 built by: NET48REL1LAST_C
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    SimTools_GameManager
    Assembly Version: 0.2.4.0
    Win32 Version: 0.2.4.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SimTools/SimTools_GameManager.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    EwaRlRjyQRIFJmdLrQQpzimRMOv
    Assembly Version: 0.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 0.2.4.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SimTools/SimTools_GameManager.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    Microsoft.VisualBasic
    Assembly Version: 10.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 14.8.3752.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/v4.0_10.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4001.0 built by: NET48REL1LAST_C
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Core
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4121.0 built by: NET48REL1LAST_C
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4121.0 built by: NET48REL1LAST_C
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3752.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3752.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3752.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Runtime.Remoting
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3752.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Runtime.Remoting/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Runtime.Remoting.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Game_PluginAPI
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SimTools/Game_PluginAPI.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    LiveForSpeed_GamePlugin
    Assembly Version: 2.1.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.1.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/Jonas/AppData/Local/SimTools/GamePlugins/LiveForSpeed_GamePlugin.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Microsoft.GeneratedCode
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3752.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.
    For example:
    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>
    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
    rather than be handled by this dialog box.
  10. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,725
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    30,917Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,764 / 10 / -0
    Correct.

    Personally I would uninstall and reinstall a fresh copy of simtools.
    I have to believe the installation didn't go quite right with all the errors your having.
    Take care,
    yobuddy
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. jonas bandier

    jonas bandier New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Balance:
    208Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    @yobuddy
    Thanks, i reinstalled it at now it works!

    Strange because i had already triet reinstalling SimTools... but now it works and i am happy!



    Here in some pictures of my design (still work in progress):

    +20 grader.PNG 0%.PNG -18 grader siden.PNG -20 grader.PNG Kombi.PNG

    Question: what is most important? Greater angle = higher "g force" but slower response or, less angle = lower "g force" but quicker response?
  12. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,725
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    30,917Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,764 / 10 / -0
    Less angle = lower "g force", but quicker response for sure!
    Glad your up and running buddy!
    Take care,
    yobuddy
  13. dieser

    dieser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    37
    Balance:
    262Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    great progress!
    seems to run fine without load in the video! :)

    i‘m building a very similar seatmover at the moment.
    what exactly do you mean with greater and less angle? the position of the motorshaft to your seat?

    greets
    dieser
  14. jonas bandier

    jonas bandier New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Balance:
    208Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2020