1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question SaberTooth 2x32 SCM3 Arduino - output testing doesn't move the motor

Discussion in 'SimTools DIY Version' started by MichaelS, Jun 2, 2020.

  1. MichaelS

    MichaelS New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Balance:
    135Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    After a while away from here when we doing some rebuilding in the workshop i picked the build up a few days ago but struggling to make the motor move in output testing in simtools engine.

    (in photos is shows simtools demo because i have a new laptop and haven't patched the diy version i have bought yet).

    While simtools testing i did close the scm software before starting up simtools. My settings are posted below.

    I followed the tutorial from blazinH : https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...ket-serial-pid-motor-driver-w-softstart.9277/

    and when the motor is powered on it does move correctly to the zero point so to say.

    If anybody has any idea what im doing wrong or what mistakes i have made i am happy to hear.

    Thanks in advance.

    Michael

    2020-06-02 22_13_49-Question - SMC3 + Sabertooth 2x32 + ZYT90-155-12 MCP4.png 2020-06-02 22_16_00-Question - SMC3 + Sabertooth 2x32 + ZYT90-155-12 MCP4.png 2020-06-02 22_16_47-Game Engine.png
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,089
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,196Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,996 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Can I please clarify if SMC3 responds as expected, as that has to be properly configured and working before messing with SimTools, also what motor shields are you using?
  4. MichaelS

    MichaelS New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Balance:
    135Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I just found out i was using the output on motor 2 from the sabertooth, in simtools i sway and surge to axis2a and it worked.

    easy fix luckily but maybe a bit dumb :roll

    Just have to figure out the jittering now when using the square structure in scm3.

    If you got some pointers that would be nice. Tried a few things in the pid settings but not a lot of luck so far.

    If i up the pwm max to a bout a 100 it jitters that hard that it goes mental and i have to shut it down because it just keeps on rotating full circles on way.

    here a quick movie of the jitter.


    2020-06-02 22_13_49-Question - SMC3 + Sabertooth 2x32 + ZYT90-155-12 MCP4.png
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,089
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,196Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,996 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  6. MichaelS

    MichaelS New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Balance:
    135Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Been reading that pdf file and watched some of the video's. But i can't get rid of the overshoot unless i lower the proportional dramaticly or the pwm max. If i add integral only by 1 it starts to jitter even more. When adding derative even up to a 1000 it still overshoots.

    Having such a low proportial just doesnt feel good. In your previous post you mentioned try 235. I tried that and it just went nuts with pwm max at over an 100.

    2020-06-03 17_34_50-PID Without a PhD.png 2020-06-03 17_37_43-Windows SMC3 Setup and Monitor Utility.png