1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom **RIP** - 6DOF project using 12v DC Motors, Sabertooth 2x60's (was MM's) and Arduinos + OSW

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by SilentChill, Jun 2, 2015.

  1. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,548
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,490Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,317 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Quick video of Elite Dangerous , I know the motion needs a lot of tweaking :) Work in progress :D


    • Like Like x 5
    • Winner Winner x 3
  2. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,526Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    I can see what you mean. It does seem to need some more tuning, maybe some softening filters, but... MAN, that looks like a rush!!

    What forces have you dialled in so far?
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,548
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,490Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,317 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    All the 6 forces. I smoothed out too much as it was way too savage before . Takes a while to tweak each game spend more bloody time tweaking than playing

    Dirt Rally is so good though with all the forces you can feel everything
    • Like Like x 4
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,526Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    So true! You can find yourself always chasing the perfect setup, and never get around to enjoying the game!
    • Agree Agree x 4
  5. Mamati

    Mamati Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Istanbul/Turkey
    Balance:
    158Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 1 / -0
    @SilentChill I was planning to do the same rig with same configuration but I wasn't brave as much as you. You made a great job in a short period, I would like to really congratulate you! May I ask you 2 questions; could you please tell me the visual difference between Chinese MM and original sparkfun MM? When will you try it on No limits roller coaster on your 6dof? I will be waiting for it impatiently. Thank you.
    • Like Like x 1
  6. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,039
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,428Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,935 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    you can see below the board
    "Sparkfun.com
    Monster Moto Shield"
  7. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,548
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,490Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,317 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thanks @Mamati :)

    The chinese copies look the same and the clones just dont have the sparkfun on the back just monstermoto on them.

    I have tried nolimits but im really struggling for it to behave properly as the forces are not very good. Surge, heave and sway dont really seem to work on a 6DOF. I have tried different ways but it feels pretty shit to be honest, it was better on my 3DOF. It really really needs pitch and roll.
  8. mrbeginner

    mrbeginner Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Occupation:
    What ever come in my way
    Location:
    Finland Niinisalo
    Balance:
    - 5Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 1 / -0
    I think i have the same problem in my motomonster. I change wiper motors because i believed they have some problem but the new motors work's same way. clockwise fast and counterclockwise they go about one circle very slow and stops. Mine motomonster was sparkfun text so it clone and after check there was gap under the chips. Where you buy those copy version?
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  9. Alexey

    Alexey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    455
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    7,940Coins
    Ratings:
    +607 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    You will find that it is the motors with the issue not the drivers, as wiper motors turn slower in reverse.
    In terms of the motor stopping in reverse, did you modify the power supply with resistors to bypass the safety override? If you haven't then the supply will give you a bit of current but will shutdown if the current draw goes over a certain limit. To get full current supply you must do the resistor modification. The reason why they would stop in reverse is because the motors actually draw more current in reverse due to the slant gearing in the wiper motor resisting reverse rotation due to friction. If the modification is not done the reversing of the motors might be tripping the supply.

    To confirm this simply connect your motors directly to the supply and hold your hand on the lever to make the motor work harder and draw more current. Do that in forward rotation and reverse rotation.

    To confirm that the drivers are faulty, simply switch the polarity on the motor and if the motors spin in reverse faster than spinning forward then it is the drivers.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. mrbeginner

    mrbeginner Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Occupation:
    What ever come in my way
    Location:
    Finland Niinisalo
    Balance:
    - 5Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 1 / -0
    Thanks for quick answer! Yes i know that the wiper motors work good only for one way. That's why i bought D63L motors in china 12v 45W and 55rpm with 20Nm. I try them with moto monster a1 - red wire and b1 - blue wire = clockwise ok . Then i changed a1 - blue wire and b1 - red wire then it goes counter clockwise ok. If i turn the position pot other way the motor turn slowly other direction and if i push the rod then the motor stop and red direction light onto moto monster shut down.
  11. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,993Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    20150728_135151.jpg new motos from same seller are now just copies. the sparkfun ones i got looked better made. so i got 7 copies and only 1 doa. got refund in less than 24 hrs. the funny thing is even though these show up working they are cheaply made. a lot of the components are crooked and sloppy on the boards. 5 of the six working boards have a red power led and one has a green led. all the same tho. green led must have slipped into the pile. proof that QC is not a priority. In the end I'm just glad they work. we will see for how long tho.
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2015
  12. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,548
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,490Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,317 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yeah these MM's are total hit and miss, Im glad I finally got 12 that worked. I still have 8 I just cant be arsed making video proof that they are all not working.
  13. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,039
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,428Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,935 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi ! could you please share a link? I didn't found any D63L motor on Aliexpres... nor eBay
    :)
  14. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,383Coins
    Ratings:
    +275 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    55rpm and 20Nm for 45W ?? o_O
  15. mrbeginner

    mrbeginner Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Occupation:
    What ever come in my way
    Location:
    Finland Niinisalo
    Balance:
    - 5Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 1 / -0
    http://wewinmotor.en.ecplaza.net/brush-dc-worm-gear-motor--309895-2379495.html

    DC Worm Gear Motor

    D63L(72)-12V45W-55RPM 4 pcs $220.00

    Freight cost $106.80

    TOTAL: $326.80

    These was for proto and after i get monster changed i try to send video that you can see how much they could move sim
  16. mrbeginner

    mrbeginner Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Occupation:
    What ever come in my way
    Location:
    Finland Niinisalo
    Balance:
    - 5Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 1 / -0
    Yes I know that sound too good to be true but what i tested it's has much more power than wiper motor.
  17. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,039
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,428Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,935 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks
    have you measured the current under load by yourself? I bet it's over 4A
    4A x 12V = 45W
  18. mrbeginner

    mrbeginner Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Occupation:
    What ever come in my way
    Location:
    Finland Niinisalo
    Balance:
    - 5Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 1 / -0
    Good advice. I have now time to test because monsters are still somewhere in China. I put info after testing
  19. Alexey

    Alexey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    455
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    7,940Coins
    Ratings:
    +607 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    That's actually about on par with commercial wiper motors. Don't forget it's only 55rpm.
    Examples: https://www.motiondynamics.com.au/domestic/ Usually the stats that suppliers give you
    are more of a baseline figure. The motors will definitely draw more than the rated wattage shown.
    My 200W (14A) motors would see spikes of 30A every now and then until I gave the sim more leverage.

    Also, might want to continue this discussion in your other thread as we are clogging up silentchills thread.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. mrbeginner

    mrbeginner Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Occupation:
    What ever come in my way
    Location:
    Finland Niinisalo
    Balance:
    - 5Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 1 / -0
    Good advise. i put the info for motors here:

    http://www.xsimulator.net/community...-2dof-is-better-than-no-movement-at-all.6809/