1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

RFR steering wheel - direct drive by RacingMat

Discussion in 'Direct Drive Wheels' started by RacingMat, Feb 7, 2015.

  1. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,106
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,788Coins
    Ratings:
    +595 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Where can i get information in English on the AI Leonardo firmware? I currently use mmos and have the argon and discovery board. Does that only work with Arduino?
  2. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,148Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,849 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi!

    The post is here RFR Wheel Ai-Wave

    It is argon compatible, yes but not an english post but you may ask in english ;)
  3. Mmcool

    Mmcool Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    1,062Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  4. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,148Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,849 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Boards are freely available
    and firmware is still beta: I'm waiting for my STLink to flash the boards and for feedbacks from MrBeano's tests
  5. Mmcool

    Mmcool Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    1,062Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Wasn't talking about the core407 boards but anyway, thanks

    Mike
  6. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,148Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,849 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    the STLink is for flashing the nRF modules ;)
  7. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,148Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,849 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  8. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,773
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,342Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,481 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Lol, Oh how i wish those were ALL the components you need for a DD Simucube setup.

    Wheel ?

    QR ?

    Case for Simucube and PSU ?

    Button's on wheel ?

    Motor Mount ?

    Dsub, fans, Kill switch, ?


    ect ect ect,....so i would be leery suggesting the build can be done for "800$" because in reality it cant imo, Unless your getting some really good exchange rate on some of the parts or something funny like that.
  9. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,148Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,849 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    LOL, it's my 3rd direct drive wheel building so I'm quite aware of this... and the tutorial linked is more detailed for who's interested
    but nowadays everything is available in kit
    thanks to the work done by RacingFr forum members first firmware, first DC/brushless/stepper trials, first Mige supply 1er.gif

    You can buy everything or built many parts:
    ► motor mount 7€
    http://www.racingfr.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=48785
    mini_820728supportvolantfixecorniereRacingmat2015021.jpg mini_690612supportvolantfixecorniereRacingmat2015022.jpg mini_720722dcoupesupportMige4.jpg mini_211998supportvolantfixecorniereRacingmat20150211.jpg mini_234047supportvolantfixecorniereRacingmat20150212.jpg
    948827supportRFRWheeltetebombee2.jpg

    ► quick-release DIY or bought or printed
    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/3d-printed-quick-release.6360/

    ► DIY wheel...
    • Like Like x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
  10. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,773
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,342Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,481 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I found a Much more solid solution to the 3d Printed QR....and for guys who dont have printer's....almost as cheap.

    http://simuhack.com/producto/mige-130st-quick-release-2-3dqr/

    For guys with out a welder or metal fab skills, A local shop would surely charge you more than 7$ for that mount.

    Look Mat, i get your point. thing's can always be done on the cheap and DIY, But to suggest a Simucube build can be done for 800$ is completely out to lunch. There's many thing's your just neglecting to factor in.
  11. LI JIAN HUI

    LI JIAN HUI Learn 2DOF maker

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    CHINA
    Balance:
    287Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor
    Great project, what is the percentage of things that can be used to simulate the real car?
  12. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,148Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,849 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  13. RaceRay

    RaceRay Administrator Staff Member SimAxe Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,624
    Occupation:
    Self-employed | Web and application development
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Balance:
    24,564Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,263 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, SimAxe, SimforceGT
  14. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,148Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,849 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @Salvo224 : digest post in french : http://www.racingfr.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=51614

    english tutorial here from Beano
    https://boxthislap.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/BuildGuideonProjectBruteForce.pdf

    configuration file granite here :)
    https://granitedevices.com/wiki/List_of_motors_for_SimuCUBE
  15. 1Wheel

    1Wheel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    austraila
    Balance:
    151Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    @RacingMat in that Image it shows 2 pots is that referring to, Potentiometers and if that's the case why would it have pots for an H shifter.Don't they normally use Limit Switches? is there some other item that's called a pot. Just Trying to understand and Learn. Thanks.
  16. Haris

    Haris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    60Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Hi Mat!
    I have a RFR wheel on my Arduino Leonardo. Can I use a nema steppermotor for DD?