1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

PT-Actuators 3DOF system?

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by LukeBrown, Jul 1, 2019.

  1. Zeroselect

    Zeroselect New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Balance:
    113Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Watching that video just gave me the biggest :grin thinking how its going to be having a motion rig.
  2. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    842
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,101Coins
    Ratings:
    +733 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
  3. Zeroselect

    Zeroselect New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Balance:
    113Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Looking at buying a kit from PT-actuator.com. I am not much of a DIY/Maker type (not enough time in my life).

    Doesn't the PT-Actuator kit already come with the required hardware (aasd-15a)?
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    842
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,101Coins
    Ratings:
    +733 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Sure, look here:
    http://www.pt-actuator.com/proshow.asp?strID=174

    The actuators on PT-ACTUATOR are 150mm stroke (FSX-100 are 100mm stroke).

    It includes servomotors and drives ( AASD-15A) as well my AMC-AASD15A servo controller that makes it compatible with simtools.
  5. Zeroselect

    Zeroselect New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Balance:
    113Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Sweet!

    You're going to be inundated with question once I get my setup. :grin
  6. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    842
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,101Coins
    Ratings:
    +733 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    You can seek answers or ask questions here:
    https://discord.gg/bx4PxYR
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,097
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,002 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    No I am suggesting adding traction loss and perhaps a G-Seat + harness tensioner to the motion rig for a more complete and realistic experience.

    Personally I do consider a traditional 3 actuator design is better, as with 4 sometimes one actuator will not be in contact with the ground, which can't happen with 3.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. djbart82

    djbart82 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Occupation:
    Operador
    Location:
    28029, Madrid
    Balance:
    138Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Motion platform
    good night Luke
    I am going to mount a system like yours but with the SFX100, can you pass me the configuration file that you have please?
    Thanks greetings
  9. djbart82

    djbart82 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Occupation:
    Operador
    Location:
    28029, Madrid
    Balance:
    138Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Motion platform
    good
    this configuration is correct, currently I have the sfx100 with three servos, one front and two rear and this configuration I do not notice it natural
    when accelerating leans forward, when I brake back, it should be the other way around
    another thing that I notice and I don't know where to change in the simtool is the brsquedad when changing gears, I would like it to feel less abrupt
    could you help me please
    thanks
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,097
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,002 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    In SimTools Axis Assignments the Dir box being checked orange or not determines which way and axis moves, so try reversing how yours are set for surge: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/which-way-to-set-simtool-axis-movements.230/
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Chris0711

    Chris0711 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    26Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi together,
    I followed the discussion 3 vs 4 actuators in different forums. With the PT actuators, I think we have a strong system . So 2 actuators in the rear, one in front of the pedals should be powerful enough.
    Has some of you testet both types and has good arguments for 4 actuators?

    My plan is, to combine a 3 post platform with a traction loss at front and rear and a seatmover for simulating the G forces.

    Best regards,
    Chris
  12. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    842
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,101Coins
    Ratings:
    +733 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    I would suggest placing TL only on the rear, and the front single actuator would be the rotation point for the TL... better balance while rotating a 3 legged rig.

    Also did you see this promotion on PT-actuator site? If you use iRacing would be great opportunity...
    1-20032611193L18.jpg

    Thanks
    Thanos
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. Chris0711

    Chris0711 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    26Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Wow, thar is really a good offer.

    For the TL System, i have more questions, but I think I find a better thread for this

    Have you tested both systems? 4 legged and 3 legged? I just wonder, if there is any reason for the 4th leg, else the better weight management. I understand the argument of simulating the suspension movement. But simulating a single wheel movement (lika a curb...) would lead to one actuator loosing ground contact? Or am I wrong?

    I just want to make sure to get the best immersion, if it's better to have 4 actuators, I will save money a bit longer ;)

    Thanks,
    Chris
  14. r3df0x

    r3df0x n00by Racer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    IT technician
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    245Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    Watch Out! is not 150mm or 100mm stroke but only 80mm

    Too bad!
  15. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    842
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,101Coins
    Ratings:
    +733 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Yes, its a special offer for iRacing as it says... and 80mm is still a lot for 3 actuator platform which has more range than a 4 actuator platform... Its a trade-off between stability or range. ;)
  16. nikwilliamson

    nikwilliamson New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Occupation:
    UX Designer
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hey. It looks like it's been updated, and is now 100mm stroke? @Thanos can you confirm?
  17. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    842
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,101Coins
    Ratings:
    +733 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Hey, I'm not sure myself either. It's from PT-Actuator, maybe you can contact them to ask? Despite PT-Actuator using my AMC controllers, I have little or no say to the actuator hardware they make!

    Thanks
    Thanos
  18. r3df0x

    r3df0x n00by Racer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    IT technician
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    245Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    @Thanos Does it make a difference to you if we buy your AMC Controller on your Tindie page or from PT-Actuator?
  19. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    842
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,101Coins
    Ratings:
    +733 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    No its the same thing. The only difference is that PT-ACTUATOR adds a really cool metal enclosure to it... ;)
  20. Simsim777

    Simsim777 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    70Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    My recent experience with PT Actuators was not very good. I placed an order with Shao and did not get all the parts I ordered. Their Customer Service.....Well before paying they were very quick to message back (day, night, afternoon) it didn't matter Facebook, Instagram ect they sent photos it was all good. They constantly assured me everything was going to go great. Once I sent them thousands of dollars they basically put me at the bottom of the list and it was tough to get even a reply or a tracking number. But once I received the order and some parts were missing the replies completely stopped. The service really ended once I payed and if you have problems like I did then there is simply no service. Just my experience.
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1