1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question Project Cars traction loss moving while stopped

Discussion in 'SimTools Pro & Entertainment Version' started by mauricioss9, Jun 12, 2017.

  1. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,774
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    33,360Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,879 / 10 / -0
    :thumbs

    Clipping mostly occurs when you have a axis that is using say 200% output (let's say 100% for Roll and 100% for Pitch).
    If rill was to use 100% of the axis and pitch needed to do anything, there would be no output for pitch as roll used it all already.
    I hope that makes sense buddy?
    Take care,
    yobuddy
    • Like Like x 1
  2. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    37Coins
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Thank you, it all makes sense, I am just trying to understand how to detect clipping actually happens. I monitor Game Engine > Output Testing > Virtual Axis > AxisXa. I never see sliders reaching leftmost or rightmost position, so I take it clipping does not happen.

    Happy Holidays!
  3. Wajdi

    Wajdi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Balance:
    381Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 1 / -0
    C77A4294-D16E-45DA-8650-47203E77ABD8.jpeg I have 4 actuators like this( 4 Axis)

    I have a total of 125 ( I use only 5 DOF ) for each axis. Is it to much ?
    I saw some presets with the same system with 230 for each axis,
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,341
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,811Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,085 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You should start your own thread, and re-post your question on it.
  5. FrancescoRoberto

    FrancescoRoberto Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    57Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello,
    May I help me, please.
    I've substituted the PS4 with a PC Gaming, and I downloaded the last SIMTOOLS version.
    I bougth RFactor 2 and I've Live for Speed too.
    I don't success to obtain a good motion profile, I remember that I've max 120% for axis, I've a 3DOF playseat with n^3 wiper motors, an Arduino Uno and n^2 motormonster.
    For example, I observed that the power hole during gear shifting is not very evident even with sway 30% and surge 60% only, and if I increase the surge nothing changes.
    There is a base setup for this first game about values of sway, surge, pitch, roll, heave; while about traction loss I've in EXTRA 1 = 100%.
    Id like a starting setup which I can change the values about my preferences.
    Thanks
    Best Regards
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,341
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,811Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,085 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Check out these tips on how to refine a motion profile, initially configuring one axis at a time: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/

    There are also other handy hints in the FAQs, once you have a good base profile: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/simtools-settings-tips-and-tricks.18/category

    Such as how to configure Min/Max Tuning Center values to simulate snappy gear changes: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/snappy-gear-change-motion.121/
    • Like Like x 1