1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Project 2Dof

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Bordiin, Sep 30, 2015.

  1. Bordiin

    Bordiin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    115Coins
    Ratings:
    +96 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I make some changes.
    I use the tip rod and conical nut,
    change the motors supports but I have not fixed in the base yet, I'll pass the screw between the wood and metal plate that hold the motors. check it out.
    IMG_20151007_151338825.jpg IMG_20151007_151415593.jpg IMG_20151007_151453255.jpg
  2. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,400Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I still fear those mounts wont be strong enough. Mount them then sit in the chair and bounce up and down a bit, If they Flex ANY little bit. They aren't strong enough.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Agreed, with what I can see, (pictures are taking too long to load, like the page was open 5 mins and nothing happened), the brackets are way too thin. Find something 4mm thick and mount the motors inside the edge, not outside
  4. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    551
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,518Coins
    Ratings:
    +277 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Be careful with the angle of the ball joints.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. mgill4bu

    mgill4bu Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    130Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK, Joyrider
    I don't know if it was brought up already, but have you considered JRK for your motor control? I'm guessing that's what you mean by H-bridge. My team wanted to design our own controllers but it was just easier to use the JRK.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    @mgill4bu , JRKS are a little costly yes, however, if you have the time and patience, (I certainly dont) then go with an arduino and h-bridge. So if you have time changing codes and sorting things out to save a quid, then go ahead.
    Meanwhile , a mate of mine was messing for nearly 2 years with arduino code , I stepped in, set up some JRKS on his sim and withing 15 mins he was driving and moving like never before.
    Personal choice and cost factor mostly.
    Oh and Ive put the JRK under commercial sim application, meaning constant use on 2 hire out sims. Ran spot on all the time. For the money spent, its so much better.
  7. Bordiin

    Bordiin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    115Coins
    Ratings:
    +96 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Sorry not answer you in the last weeks, My work take a lot of time.
    @mgill4bu @bsft i'm using the H-Bridge, i found the MM's to buy in brazil but to expensive. so I take the board inside the micro Server Sg90(Little motor to prints) I used in my prototype, I changed the potentiometer and made H bridge with Mosfet's. Works fine but the motor doesn't have torque. Maybe because the motors are old. i'm waiting to arrive a new motors.
    IMG_20151020_121106327[1].jpg
    • Like Like x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
  8. jefesant

    jefesant Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Occupation:
    Mechanic
    Location:
    China
    Balance:
    - 19Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, SimAxe, Arduino, JRK, Joyrider, SimforceGT, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Is possible use Steeper motor ? for 2dof motion
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,356
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,899Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,087 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  10. yeniuser

    yeniuser Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Occupation:
    Teacher
    Location:
    Turkey
    Balance:
    313Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    As I know you can get max torque at half of the max voltage, are these motors sufficent ?
  11. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    which motors?
  12. yeniuser

    yeniuser Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Occupation:
    Teacher
    Location:
    Turkey
    Balance:
    313Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    previously mentioned 24v viper motors. are the sufficent?
  13. Bordiin

    Bordiin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    115Coins
    Ratings:
    +96 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    With wiper motor that i havê now it's impossible, only with the seat, it create a overloads in the power supply and stop all.

    I'm waiting the new power supply and new motor to test.

    Thanks
  14. Bordiin

    Bordiin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    115Coins
    Ratings:
    +96 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    After a long time, i figure a way to do the first tests.
    I have lot of to improve the mechanical.
    I need help, look in the video, the seat have a strange movement for sides, i think it's not normal, I'm using the Joint ball with conical nut.
    I think the angles are wrong. Have a thread when explain more about the angles?
    Thank's

  15. tombo

    tombo Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    2,352Coins
    Ratings:
    +244 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  16. Bordiin

    Bordiin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    115Coins
    Ratings:
    +96 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hello Tombo
    Yes, I'm still using the CV. But i cut. now it's smaller. look the picture
    IMG_20151125_153130258.jpg
  17. tombo

    tombo Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    2,352Coins
    Ratings:
    +244 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Bordiin

    Bordiin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    115Coins
    Ratings:
    +96 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Right! This is a prototype,
    I'm start building a new, I already bought the new motors and new power supply. I need time to start build the mechanical structure.
    But What you used instead Ujoint?
  19. tombo

    tombo Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    2,352Coins
    Ratings:
    +244 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Take a look here 2 Dof DC Motor Rig with Item Profile
    There'll you find an Image of the part I used. It's from a newer Bmw model. But any rear driven car should have a very solid one.
  20. Bordiin

    Bordiin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    115Coins
    Ratings:
    +96 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    @tombo OK, Thank's to your help, i will make the modification and keep and touch thanks.