1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Playseat Revolution to 2DOF

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by dr.feelgood, Apr 19, 2017.

  1. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    369Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I ordered Arduino Uno as i want to be sure that it is not Ard Mega related problem... There are some differences between those boards on USB-Serial side (if it matters).

    Not sure would that be the case, but weather doing exactly as documentations says, nothing happens on motor side :(

    If i had more knowledge, it might be possible to check if SMC3 would work with Mega. I haven't seen on this forum that anyone uses other than Ard Uno?
  2. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    369Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I see the light in the end of tunnel...

    Got a Uno and got my motors turning, so tuning starts from here.
    • Like Like x 2
  3. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    369Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi all.

    Finally got MM's to work (someone should update the documentation...) It was not an easy task because zero out of 4 worked as they should.

    But after hours and hours fiddling i got 2 of them working together (1 channel of each could provide enough juice to motors) -> I ordered some IBT-2's, hoping if they would work better. Heatsink is mandatory with these drivers, they get hot instantly after power on, but after applying these heatsink they don't get even warm (still temporary wiring in pic):

    P1000794.JPG

    During tests with smc3 util, i got mechanical problems and then decided to change pots to the backside of motors with flexible tube-mount:

    P1000795.JPG

    So, LFS is now working somehow (as i did not spend time tuning it) and today i tried Dirt Rally, but with no success (i got diy-license installed on both pc's).

    Oh well, got to read some more forum and try find The Thing... It really is a long path to satisfaction :)
  4. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    369Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I'm actually surprised that my little motors do hang on. I got thrown good while trying RBR, because i forgot to reduce max % on game manager profile :)

    One thing (not the only one), that i still haven't figured out, is that when assigning movement to axis, am i get only those simulated? So what to choose for 2dof to get best out of it? How to get good feeling to road surface and g-forces?
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,478
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,762Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,477 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  6. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    369Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Ok, i'm asking this diffenretly. Should i feel car revving, road texture, bumps on the road, etc. when choosing only sway and surge. On 2dof, i don't see any other would be preferable?

    And a short video driving RBR :)

  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,478
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,762Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,477 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Sway and surge will be felt when triggered by anything in the game that generates those. Bumps and ripple strips will be more evident with heave.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. stevemontuno

    stevemontuno Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,868Coins
    Ratings:
    +330 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Ideally for maximum immersion you want to be tuning (Surge,Sway,Heave,Pitch&roll) into your Axis Assignment settings for your 2dof,,, Heave for road texture & ground bumps as noorbeast has pointed out ,,,and Pitch and Roll is for road elevation and wot not,,.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    369Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    But still, i can use only 2 forces at the time? Why bother to tune others than what are assigned to axis? I haven't seen any evidence that software would try to sum up other forces to ones that are assigned...

    The other thing with the plugins... Wouldn't it be wise to category them according to which version of Simtools they work with? I do play some old games and i found that many plugins are not updated to ver 2. It also affects the fact how many usable plugins there are, not 94....

    Still, awesome work from all of u guys! Beats commercial software solutions 100-1.
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,478
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,762Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,477 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The beauty of SimTools @dr.feelgood is that you can tune all the forces and SimTools then mixes them on the fly, so it can mix say sway, roll, surge and heave all at the same time, even on a 2DOF rig.

    It takes time, experimentation and patients to develop a good motion profile but trust me, it is worth the time and effort.

    The old SimTools 1.3 plugins are here, but they do not work with SimTools 2 and you can't install SimTools 1.3 and 2 at the same time: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/download-the-old-version-of-simtools-1-3-and-plugins.265/

    The SimTools 2 plugins are here: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/marketplace/
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. stevemontuno

    stevemontuno Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,868Coins
    Ratings:
    +330 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    It works pretty similar to a FFB wheel really ,,,,imagine taking all the road bumps ,textures & rumbles out of your wheel ,, you would just be left with the smooth force of turning which is quite a boring experience if your used to feeling all the cool effects the wheel gives you normally ,,,,,

    So it's the same when you add Heave roll & Pitch into the mix you get to feel ,,,Road texture and bumps from Heave,,,, Road tilt when your going up banks or barrel rolls from Roll ,,,and with Pitch you get the feeling of going up or down hills plus the cool feeling of weightlessness when you go over jumps and take off on rally tracks ,,,,,but anyways you get the point,,,,,

    Tune them all separate and write them down ,,then add and blend them all together and jobs a good un :thumbs
  12. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    369Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    That's just Great news! Thanks for clarifying those things thoroughly. hug:
  13. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    369Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi all! After tuning forces, seat makes a whole lot more than i expected...

    I assigned all but YAW, because in common sense it seems to be undoable with 2dof? What do you think?

    I got some new/upgrade parts: ibt-2's and a bit more powerfull wipermotors (still the cheapest!). I'll switch them if i get bored or there will be some failure.... As said before, motor wattage is not issue, but mechanical durability is limited with these wipermotors.
    Thank god, i got Dirt 4 working straight a way, thanks to plugin provided by @value1 . Hopefully one day Dirt Rally will shake me also :oops:
    • Like Like x 1
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,478
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,762Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,477 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes ignore yaw in a traditional 2DOF design.
  15. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    369Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi!

    Assetto Corsa...Audi S1...Highlands --> broken motor axel....:(

    Oh well, i guess my upgrade-time came earlier than i though....
  16. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    369Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Finally got my motors changed. From 30W to ... 40W? Maybe, but they actually are not rated. Criteria for choosing these was that they had fixed lever, so it was easier to weld cranks. I connected them with new ball-joints. These must be more silent than my first ones, which had small play on each.

    After few test round, it was clear that one of my MM's couldn't drive all needed power to other direction, it acted very lazy. So, i took another job and wired IBT-2's. I'm so glad i had ordered them...

    After many hours, got most electric parts boxed...and CV-joint greased.

    It all seems good at the moment (i remembered to change smc3's mode from 1 to 2), just needs more tuning with software!

    YDXJ0023.jpg
  17. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    369Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Oh, i totally forgot that i made handbrake, because can't rally without it...

    New mounting plate for wheel and shifter, hole for handbrake:
    P1000814.jpg

    under table...
    P1000820.jpg

    microswitch with flexible mount...
    Sieppaa.JPG


    YDXJ0026.jpg

    :)
    • Like Like x 1
  18. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    369Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    A little video of Dirt4 - Rallycross...

  19. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    369Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    ...and bad lap of my axle breaker...
  20. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    369Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I've been busy driving, so not a lot of updates lately.... But i finally got harnesses installed. It sure helps to get much more motion-feeling, though my setup is quite lively even without. I had to add clip limit, because inertia took motors over to cut-point... just a small adjustment.

    P1000879.jpg

    It is so hard to decide weather to keep whole frame in motion or just transfer it into seat mover...

    This thing is too big with monitors to go 'inside' the house. Basic problem of construction is that monitors has to be too high (me being tall and seat being high enough that pedals can tilt forward), so no ordinary table suits under.

    I think that because i basicly only want to do Rallying, it needs to have 'g-force motions' and i'm afraid that seat mover don't have it enough. It is true that these harsh movements makes driving only more difficult, without helping to feel the grip to road, but i think that is the point.

    We'll see...

    My 25€-motors have worked well and i think i'll order two more, just to make sure that there will be only minimal down-time :D. I already got new pair of IBT-2's in case too. I would not recommend Moto Monsters to anyone. These ibt's was around 25€ a piece.

    So, at the moment i'm very pleased to the built! Vroom vroom :grin