1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Pekwah1's 2DOF DIY

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Pekwah1, Jul 8, 2020.

  1. Pekwah1

    Pekwah1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    214Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Hi Guys,

    First post on here, new builder in the UK.

    I was originally planning a 2DOF DIY sim with traction loss loosely based on the DoF Reality H3 system, but going to get it up and running as 2DOF only to begin with and then maybe add the traction loss afterwards.

    Have got a load of metal and starting converting a normal gaming seat rig using a Mercedes 190E propshaft UJ and a little bit of steel box section:

    IMG_8518.jpg

    IMG_8519.jpg

    Other than that I have 3 wiper motors ready, an Arduino Uno, and as I had a Monster Moto already lying around i'll use that for testing, although it's just a mini so will either buy a full fat Moto or just more mini's for the other motors.

    Planning to have this running with my Xbox for now (I know it's quite limited on games), maybe in the future may add a decent PC and VR to take it to the next level, but budget is key to begin with!!

    Updates to follow.

    Thanks,
    Andy
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,582
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,221Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,140 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  4. Pekwah1

    Pekwah1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    214Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    First bit of electrics testing tonight as the pots have arrived, I’m using:

    TT Electronics 6127V1A360L.5

    I’ve just locked up a basic layout using a piece of wood, I’ll knock up a proper box and add fans for the rig:

    5B7732D9-2554-48DC-B9C0-3E6DCA3CF253.jpeg

    don’t have any motors at the moment so just tested using SMC3 util and pleased to say getting good feedback on both sensors:

    99F6F12A-6C00-470B-9201-7C659E48D6AB.jpeg

    next is to get some motors, attach the sensors and fabricate some brackets on the rig.
    then mount the electrics and power supply.

    then make the linkages from the motors to the seat.

    then.... work out how to get simtools set up and get some plugins to work with the Xbox!
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Pekwah1

    Pekwah1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    214Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Another productive evening, my motors arrived today so have been isolating the earth, it wasn’t possible to tell visibly which one was connected to the body so had to put bits of paper between the brushes and motor and then use the multimeter to trace the wires and identify the earth but all done!

    5B3D8092-6B8F-4FCF-966A-885548F383C8.jpeg

    Also found out that one of my monstermoto units was not working, just putting out a consistent 2.16v all the time, replacement is already on its way!

    tomorrow will be fabricating some motor brackets to the chair and a bit of testing.
    • Like Like x 1
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,582
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,221Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,140 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  7. Pekwah1

    Pekwah1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    214Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thanks,

    that’s exactly what I was doing, one of them is spot on constant 12v, no idea what happened to the other one as barely giving any voltage at all....

    supplier already has a new one on the way to me anyway so hopefully will have it here soon.
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Pekwah1

    Pekwah1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    214Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Had a play tonight with where to mount the motors, I know a lot of people go with a bar at the top back of the seat but I’m going to try underneath the back of the seat frame, just working out the length of the cams I need...

    also realised my seat was way too low, so chopped and welded some higher sections:

    DC191395-C2A7-4678-8520-904E30AD5486.jpeg
  9. Pekwah1

    Pekwah1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    214Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Some more progress tonight, realised my seat was freely rotating around the UJ so welded on some ‘wings’ to the main thread and cut slots in the bar to stop it rotating, all now stable!

    also welded up the first motor mount and then realised that the positioning is not good so cut it all back off again and then got annoyed so came back inside.

    did work out where it needs to go though, so that will be tomorrow’s job!
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,582
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,221Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,140 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Nice progress :thumbs

    Keep in mind wiper motors are not very powerful and a compact design for a full frame rig need a fair bit of torque compared to other designs with more inherent design leverage, SimCalc can help give you and idea of design Vs physics trade offs: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...e-linear-speed-and-forces-of-your-design.270/

    Just checking you have some cooling in mind for the MMs, as they will overheat without it.
  11. Pekwah1

    Pekwah1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    214Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thanks, yes have already ordered heat sinks and paste for the MMs, understand about the motor positioning and design, to be honest I quite like fabricating so if it doesn’t work too well on the first go then I’m quite happy to chop it up and try something else!
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Pekwah1

    Pekwah1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    214Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    A bit more done tonight....
    The new MM arrived so replaced this and giving good voltage now, also added heatsinks and have a cooling fan ready to mount.

    image.jpg

    Also welded up my first motor mount, seems to move pretty well, didn’t have the energy to do the other side tonight so that’s tomorrow’s job!

    E0990462-6807-4CCB-9E53-D4A6ED26757A.jpeg

    Have ordered couplers to attach the hall sensors, so once these arrive can make the brackets to hold them still.

    pretty close to testing now, applied for the diy simtools licence - does anyone know if the reply comes via xsimulator or direct from the simtools guys?
    • Like Like x 1
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,582
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,221Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,140 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It will go to the email associated with your Xsimulator.net account, but you won't meet the eligibility criteria until your rig is complete and your build thread shows that, plus meeting the membership period. Please PM me a reminder when your build gets there, as you are close.
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2020
  14. Pekwah1

    Pekwah1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    214Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Ah ok thanks didn’t realise the rig needs to be finished first! Also missed the 30 days bit, although not too far away from either now!

    will message once done!
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Pekwah1

    Pekwah1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    214Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Some more progress, both motor mounts now fabricated and welded up!

    93B8B859-DBC4-4F49-9162-B1FBE2275C20.jpeg

    going to move the linkage point under the seat so need to knock up some small brackets for this.

    just waiting for the motor couplers to arrive so I can mount and attach the potentiometers and then I think it’s about done!!!
  16. Dschadu

    Dschadu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,584Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 1 / -0
    Your build is coming alone nicely!
    I noticed one thing: please don't use the green/yellow wire for anything else than grounding! I suggest you to buy something like red and black H05V-K 2.5mm² or 4mm² to wire up your DC stuff! As this is the main type of wiring in the industry, the wire is relatively cheap.
  17. Pekwah1

    Pekwah1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    214Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The earth wire was just because I had it lying around and using to test. Out of interest what would be the problem using this as it’s pretty thick core wire?

    anyway, loads more progress over the last couple of days and I think it’s basically finished!!!

    It’s the small things sometimes that take the time:

    B77DDDF5-D5B2-4360-857C-D97E119DE4B5.jpeg

    67C7C00A-82F7-4765-8E77-8697BDBFA0DE.jpeg

    motor couplers arrived but were too long so ended up making my own.

    brought it inside for some quick testing with SMC3 and it’s alive!!!!!!

    B0024085-7029-463D-AAFA-E1A1D22A83AA.jpeg

    C05CAB35-A216-49B8-8F15-FFA40A971EC9.jpeg

    One thing I can’t work out is how to upload a video??
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,582
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,221Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,140 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  19. yellofella

    yellofella Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Occupation:
    builder
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    708Coins
    Ratings:
    +69 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SimforceGT
    Hi @Pekwah1
    Good build so far buddy, thought id throw in a few pointers to help you on your way to a diy licence. I think the criteria is you have to have to have build log on this site and a reasonably well tuned working sim on LFS then upload a video of it running as well as being a member f0r more than 30 days.
    Ok there a few things i would change and ill explain why.
    Firstly in one of your pictures i could see a modified pc power supply. I would change this to a 480w 12v led power supply as pc power supplies have loads of built in protection against voltage spikes which motors produce huge amounts of. Might help to avoid future problems.
    Secondly your lever arms are way to long. The way you have it set up the motor drivers are going to have to work extremely hard to give you the amount of movement you will get. Most likely is after a few minutes they get so hot that they go into protect mode and keep shutting down. Now a diy licence doesnt specify how much movement you need to have so a 50mm lever arm will get you to a diy licence far quicker and you can change it to whatever you like once you have it.
    Thirdly the wire you have connected the pots with is not going to be good enough. You need to use shielded cable to get smooth motor motion. The wire you are using will cause motor jitter that can only be delt with by using a huge deadzone in the smc3 which is bad unless you use shielded cable. Get an unused usb cable and cut the ends off and use that cable. The outer shield needs to connect to ground at the arduino end only.
    Fourthly cooling. You are going to need to put fans directly above the drivers as they really do get hot. I have 2 pwm pc high flow fans on my motormonsters and still i get constant temps of about 60C with good coolers.
    To finish i would say this. If you go from new member to having a working sim in under 30 days then i tip my cap to you. This is either a great site with fantastic build examples or you were born to build sims.
    If you need any more help then tap me up as im always keen to help members that choose to go the motormonster route
    Keep up the good work and im sure your have your diy licence soon enough
    Hope this helps buddy
  20. Dschadu

    Dschadu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,584Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 1 / -0
    Because it is - as you wrote - only to be used as earth. It is pad practice - and can even be dangerous - to use it for anything else.
  21. Pekwah1

    Pekwah1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    214Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thanks for the reply Yello,

    firstly, this is a great site and although I haven’t been building for that long but did spend ages researching before so knew roughly what I would be doing with the rig....

    For testing I won’t be able to use live for speed I don’t think, I only have a prehistoric laptop that can’t even run some very basic games, I’m planning to use the sim with my Xbox, and maybe at some point in the future if I like the sim will invest in a proper PC.

    agree about the arms, one of the things I was thinking of revising as it only uses about 45 degrees of movement from the motor and doesn’t give the best leverage, although with my basic testing has done the job.

    thanks for the tip with the pots, I’ll change this along with the earth wire - all was just wiring I had lying around for testing....!

    Now that I’ve got something cobbled together the mechanicals were pretty simple but I’ve been cutting and welding stuff for ages so used to that.

    once I got my head around the wiring diagram, the electronics were also pretty straight forward, but again have wired a whole car from scratch and trained as a computer programmer so maybe had a head start ;o)

    anyway will keep you updated as I go and hopefully not too long now until I can try it properly!