1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question Not that anyones interested.. Completely torn back down and rebuilding

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by 2nasty4u, Jul 14, 2022.

  1. 2nasty4u

    2nasty4u ROOKIE BUT LEARNING FAST Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Antioch, CA, United States
    Balance:
    951Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi all it's been awhile since I've been on here, I was suppse to post a motion video of my rig once I got it working. Well that video never came because I never got it working correctly. Found out I'm not a good as welder as I thought I was, found out that I don't know s*** about geometry. I didn't take my time in building it, I didn't make sure any of my angles were the same, motor placement was correct, and I I was too hasty and I threw it together too fast and ended up with a 6 dof that didn't work. I burned up Motors and motor drivers because Motors were working too hard. working against themselves you know pushing against each other trying to raise it you know when I get to the neutral point it seemed like they would be just pushing against each other like they're too close together or something. Or one motor would be back further than the other so then the whole rig would twist and things like that. you know just over stressing the whole rig from the rig being get to hastily built. so I completely tore it apart for materials and so this is my second attempt at 6 dof. please refer to the photos the first set of photos will be of my first dof and the second set of photos will be of my current attempt at a build. if anybody can take anything from this is.... if it's your first time building please take your time, do your measurements be diligent in your measurements and your angles thank you. 20220419_213322.jpg 20220419_213336.jpg 20220419_213449.jpg


    Current build I'm making two different cockpits. one for racing one for flight that they just slip out it. they can be changed quickly and easily without having to you know tear everything apart to change games. as you can see one of the cockpits is down on the ground, it's the one for racing and I'm currently waiting different Motors because the motors I have for one they're kind of worn out from the other rig and two they were never really strong enough to start with
    DSC01144.JPG DSC01146.JPG DSC01152.JPG DSC01148.JPG DSC01166.JPG DSC01161.JPG DSC01172.JPG IMG_0136.JPG IMG_0143.JPG IMG_0133.JPG IMG_0146.JPG

    I will post some videos of motion shortly
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2022
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. 2nasty4u

    2nasty4u ROOKIE BUT LEARNING FAST Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Antioch, CA, United States
    Balance:
    951Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    20220705_005200.jpg IMG_0140.JPG 20220702_184907.jpg

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  4. 2nasty4u

    2nasty4u ROOKIE BUT LEARNING FAST Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Antioch, CA, United States
    Balance:
    951Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Here are all my simtools settings. If anyone has any ideas that can help me please comment thank you AXIS ASSIGNMENTS.png AXIS ASSIGNMENTS2.png HEAVE FILTER.png PITCH FILTER.png ROLL FILTER.png SURGE FILTER.png SWAY FILTER.png YAW FILTERING.png Screenshot 2022-07-20 220255.png MOTORS 3,4.png MOTORS 5,6.png
  5. 2nasty4u

    2nasty4u ROOKIE BUT LEARNING FAST Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Antioch, CA, United States
    Balance:
    951Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    motion box

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  6. 2nasty4u

    2nasty4u ROOKIE BUT LEARNING FAST Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Antioch, CA, United States
    Balance:
    951Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    my interface settings interface 1 and 2.png interface 3,4.png interface 5,6.png
  7. 2nasty4u

    2nasty4u ROOKIE BUT LEARNING FAST Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Antioch, CA, United States
    Balance:
    951Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,282
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    131,037Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,145 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    My first suggestion would be to not use any filters until you have fully refined a good base motion profile, it will only add false ques and complicate matters, filters should be the very final step in refining a motion profile.

    My second suggestion would be to do each axis setting one at a time, with the other axis temporarily disabled.

    See the FAQs here regarding tips to refine a motion profile: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/

    Posting SMC3 settings without showing Out Mode tests is not really helpful, as it is impossible to know how the hardware is responding.
  9. 2nasty4u

    2nasty4u ROOKIE BUT LEARNING FAST Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Antioch, CA, United States
    Balance:
    951Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Ok so by filters you mean like the the smoothing and all that stuff? Okay cool thank you thank you for the input see nobody nobody gives me anything all the people that hear that know all what they're talking about they got bored and they stopped helping people all the people that know what they're talking about don't help anymore. you're the only person that's been around for a while that still helps people so I'm getting zero help here.
    All the guys that are the big names here when they need help they got 12 pages of help now that other people need help make zero comments on anybody's posts zero.
    Just look at mine alone I got you you're the only person that said anything to me at all and it's not like I'm disruptive or rude or anything like that I'm very nice and cordial and polite. None of the big names here have ever commented on any of my build posts.
    I think I'll just be moving to a different community someone with people actually want to help people the people that know what they're talking about actually want to help people because they sure as hell not helping me
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2022 at 13:42
  10. 2nasty4u

    2nasty4u ROOKIE BUT LEARNING FAST Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Antioch, CA, United States
    Balance:
    951Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    1659946365520464579975402543400.jpg 20220807_172221.jpg 20220807_172207.jpg 20220807_172216.jpg 16599185741978902916150126477120.jpg 20220806_152116.jpg 20220806_152050.jpg 20220806_152101.jpg 20220806_151929.jpg 20220806_152116.jpg 20220806_152050.jpg 20220806_152101.jpg 20220806_152116.jpg 20220806_152050.jpg 20220806_152101.jpg 20220806_151929.jpg 20220807_172221.jpg 20220807_172207.jpg 20220807_172216.jpg 16599185741978902916150126477120.jpg 20220806_151929.jpg 20220807_172221.jpg 20220807_172207.jpg 20220807_172216.jpg Well Ive torn it down again and now Im rebuilding with different motors and instead of one motion box in the middle of the simulator. I now have three small motion boxes in between each set of motors that I built, and now just the power supplies will be in the middle. Yes I'm still using the ibt2s. I am going to invest in some sabertooth or I think I might try the Cytron MD 30 controllers so let's see how that works, and I'm also going to change my Pivot points for my push rods from the outside of the platform to underneath. 20220807_172221.jpg 20220807_172207.jpg 20220807_172216.jpg 16599185741978902916150126477120.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2022 at 10:13