1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom No-Weld 2DOF Seat Mover On Homebrew Ricmotech RS1 Clone

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by armpit, Jun 7, 2017.

  1. armpit

    armpit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    SC, USA
    Balance:
    195Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    After some final fit and finish work, I'm calling the build DONE!
    Since it's the centerpiece of the mancave renovation, this means the mancave is done too; Time to show off!

    3.jpg

    1.jpg

    2.jpg

    4 - MD0FNYW.jpg

    4.jpg


    It can be slid under my desk and used without VR, here's my wife giving Dirt Rally a go with that setup:


    Future plans
    • Double-bridge mod new motor controllers when they arrive to get more amps with less being asked of each controller board.
    • Traction loss! This is a heavy unit, but I am considering adding a traction loss platform under it as a summer project
    • Enjoy it!
    It's been a fun and highly rewarding build, I really am grateful for the community here and all the help I received along the way.
    I wouldn't have been able to do it alone; My wife made a vinyl decal to advertise the community and I have it proudly displayed on the rig!
    • Like Like x 4
    • Winner Winner x 3
  2. Anguspogo

    Anguspogo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    297Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, SimAxe, Arduino, 4DOF
    will done Sir
    A job well done
    not only have you helped me with my arduino code but you have inspired me in your build quality and engineering skills
    Thank you so much for your help
    still dancing
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  3. llluis

    llluis Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Quebec
    Balance:
    1,518Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    @armpit , what's the length of your rods connecting motors and seat? (the long vertical ones)
  4. armpit

    armpit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    SC, USA
    Balance:
    195Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    The rods that are connected from motor lever to seat back are 30.5" center to center. adjustable +- 1"
  5. llluis

    llluis Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Quebec
    Balance:
    1,518Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Perfect, thanks.
    I'm building 2 linear actuators for a 6DOF (cost constraints) and I just thought that adding the ujoint, I could use them on a 2DOF similar to yours while I build the remaining 4 during the following months. They will be under 30".
    • Like Like x 1
  6. armpit

    armpit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    SC, USA
    Balance:
    195Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    The controllers came in from ebay seller satisfyelectronics and they worked perfectly! These are the first ones I've had that actually work 100%, they are around the $5 price point shipped from China.
    I wired them up as half-bridge following Pit's guide and they feel great! They seem to require less pwm to have the same intensity of movement and seem to overshoot+recover less than with the single driver per motor. I'm leaving everything configured the same as before to do some shakedown runs and then I'll work on dialing in the SMC3 tune for this change.

    Full disclosure, it was late at night and I was tired doing the wiring and accidentally plugged the 12v input to one of the controllers inverted which made my arduino let out the magic smoke as soon as I powered the chair on. It ended up being just the 5v regulator which sacrificed itself to save my USB port. Everything still works fine because this chip isn't needed when the arduino is being powered using usb, so I really lucked out with the damage there since I don't plan to use this board for anything except this chair using USB input.
  7. llluis

    llluis Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Quebec
    Balance:
    1,518Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    @armpit did you or can you measure how much your seat was raised due to the ujoint, please?
  8. armpit

    armpit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    SC, USA
    Balance:
    195Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Right at 3 inches
    • Like Like x 1
  9. armpit

    armpit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    SC, USA
    Balance:
    195Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I decided to extend the levers coming off of the motors to see how an absolutely absurd amount of movement felt, and I'm really impressed with how the motors are handling it. I'm a heavier guy and it was still able to toss me around without the motors seeming to struggle at all.

    The amount of movement IS ridiculous and wears me out after an hour or so, so I'll probably be swapping them back soon.

    Here's a video showing the new range without me in the chair (bonus cat in a basket). With me the movement slows down a bit but the motors do not stall.

    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2018
  10. armpit

    armpit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    SC, USA
    Balance:
    195Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I reverted the motion back to my medium lever length, the torque just wasn't there for extremely hard braking and really it was just way too much movement for inside of VR.

    I used the seat slider rails I took off of the seat to make a platform for the pedals mostly so it's not quite so cramped for my taller friends to use when they come over but also so my wife (shorter) can reach the pedals, really happy how this turned out:

    IMG_20180225_183116265_LL.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Stephen Robotham

    Stephen Robotham Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    jamaica
    Balance:
    254Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    Hey, what size or gauge steel did you use to mount the motors? Is it possible to mount them with wood?
  12. armpit

    armpit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    SC, USA
    Balance:
    195Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I believe it's either 0 gauge or 2 gauge. It's whatever the local hardware store had that seemed like just the right amount of too much overkill for motor mounts.

    I'm not sure I'd trust wood as the mount itself since the bolt thru holes in the motors are so small, I'd be afraid wood would split the first time there is agressive movement.
  13. Human Dude

    Human Dude Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Earth
    Balance:
    55Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    @armpit, if you're still active here could I trouble you to share your final settings in the SMC3 utility and where you ended up as a 'default' with SimTools axis assignments? I'm kind of at a loss as to where to start with tuning them, since this is my first sim and I'm not sure what it's 'supposed' to feel like.

    I'm also using the PGSaw motors and they are also giving me that PWM buzz that you had - going to try the 104 ceramics on the Arduino side of the hall sensor connections tomorrow morning. The sensor boards I'm using already has an RC filter built in and I'm still seeing noise in the SMC3 util, so I figure that's probably worth a shot.
  14. armpit

    armpit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    SC, USA
    Balance:
    195Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Sure thing, I'll grab a screenshot of the settings this evening
  15. armpit

    armpit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    SC, USA
    Balance:
    195Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino


    Here are my SMC3 settings and my axis settings for Assetto Corsa. These might help you out but they may not work for your particular build at all.
    It's definitely worth taking the time to set up a motion profile from scratch following the FAQ https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/

    upload_2019-2-13_23-49-46.png

    upload_2019-2-13_23-51-2.png

    upload_2019-2-13_23-51-17.png
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2019
  16. Human Dude

    Human Dude Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Earth
    Balance:
    55Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    Thanks!!

    I've got something that seems to work-ish with SMC3, but I'm not thrilled with it and yours are pretty radically different. I'm thinking it's probably worth trying, I can always reset it back to what mine were before if something closer to yours don't work at all.

    The SimTools axis settings is mostly just to confirm I'm on the right track more than copy direct. It looks like I'm headed in the right direction on that front, at least. I had thought that each axis was only supposed to run up to 100% to avoid clipping - you seem to go way over that. Was there a particular reasoning that let to that?
  17. armpit

    armpit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    SC, USA
    Balance:
    195Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    The axis exceeding 100 is what I found gave the best feeling for me - it gives me more feel for what my car is doing but will clip if say I'm braking hard while in a turn on a bumpy road I may not feel the bumps in the road much. Definitely will depend on the game and especially the tuning center settings, which I realized I forgot to post for Assetto. Every game will vary wildly in setup for all of this, and there's personal preference that goes into it as well

    upload_2019-2-14_8-36-47.png
  18. Human Dude

    Human Dude Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Earth
    Balance:
    55Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    Going over 100 being okay is a pretty big piece of information. I was struggling with getting any feeling out of road surface or curbs / rumble strips at all. Thank you!
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,871
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    98,260Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,217 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The guide to refining a motion profile, and associated link concerning axis % allocation, detail that the ideal is around 100% and that it can be over when a DOF is shared between multiple axis, but the caveat is that if the axis movement reaches 100% for any reason then clipping will occur: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/

    The chances of clipping at 140+% are pretty probable, for those that run many 100% then clipping is almost a certainty.
  20. Human Dude

    Human Dude Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Earth
    Balance:
    55Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    Yeah, I took that to mean 'Really, seriously, get it down to 100%' rather than 'FYI clipping will probably happen'. I've read the guide a couple times but I think I just need to spend more time with it because I really don't fully grasp what is going on yet.