1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

No motion output from the F18C?

Discussion in 'Digital Combat Simulators (DCS)' started by Moe Colontonio, Jun 1, 2018.

  1. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    199Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I've got a ProSimu T-1000 3dof and it's been working fine with a slightly modified plugin from here on Xsim.

    The new F18 Hornet I get nothing. If I switch roles into another aircraft, the AV8 for instance, it works just fine, no need to back out of the game or anything, it's only the hornet that doesn't work. Any ideas?
  2. misoswan

    misoswan Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    225
    Balance:
    729Coins
    Ratings:
    +54 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, JRK
    :sos:eek: bad news

    The new F18 Hornet I get nothing. If I switch roles into another aircraft, the AV8 for instance, it works just fine, no need to back out of the game or anything, it's only the hornet that doesn't work. Any ideas?[/QUOTE]
  3. misoswan

    misoswan Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    225
    Balance:
    729Coins
    Ratings:
    +54 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, JRK
    :sos:eek: bad news.... I waiting for solved.(now I not buy f-18) thanks for info
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Flash66

    Flash66 6DOF Motion over the ocean in DCS FA/18-C Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Las Vegas NV
    Balance:
    - 12Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Oh no! That's terrible news! I am completing my platform build just for the FA/18! I hope I didn't just invest $10K in this platform build to not be able to fly the FA/18 which was my primary motivation for doing this. Hopefully the creators of simtools or some of you great folks can figure this out! Ha! I'll pay someone to figure it out for that matter. Seriously, I'm in way too deep as it is so what's a few more bucks?!
  5. Flash66

    Flash66 6DOF Motion over the ocean in DCS FA/18-C Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Las Vegas NV
    Balance:
    - 12Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi Moe, Any luck getting the F18 to work? Hoping it was just a fluke and you got it going!
  6. Happy Cat

    Happy Cat New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Russia
    Balance:
    152Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Yak-52 also not working..
  7. hannibal

    hannibal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Balance:
    172Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    is simtools telemetry still broken for F18C and Yak52?
  8. Flash66

    Flash66 6DOF Motion over the ocean in DCS FA/18-C Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Las Vegas NV
    Balance:
    - 12Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Not sure about the Yak but the F18 is working perfectly.
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Happy Cat

    Happy Cat New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Russia
    Balance:
    152Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Yes. Now yak52 and f18 good working
    • Like Like x 2
  10. hannibal

    hannibal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Balance:
    172Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    thank you! that is good news!!
    over all, how do you like the motion platform experience along with DCS world? how does your Motion rig behave when you do the catapault launch?
  11. misoswan

    misoswan Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    225
    Balance:
    729Coins
    Ratings:
    +54 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, JRK
    never more without a motion platform.it is too same when you tri VR never back on monitor.
  12. hannibal

    hannibal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Balance:
    172Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    wowoowoowowow! crazy.... i want a motion rig now! now.. :p hope to join everyone soon.
  13. misoswan

    misoswan Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    225
    Balance:
    729Coins
    Ratings:
    +54 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, JRK
    For flight you need 3 dof need feel heave :)
    • Like Like x 1
  14. hannibal

    hannibal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Balance:
    172Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    i have to be honest. i have no idea what heave is all about. im going to have to learn what all the simtools attributes are, and what forces and effects are produce from motion. I will have 3Dof someday, i hope to go 4Dof once i get establish.
  15. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,654
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    90,709Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,641 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  16. hannibal

    hannibal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Balance:
    172Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2018
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,654
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    90,709Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,641 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The axis are the same for a plane and the picture included in the link gives a representation applicable to a plane:

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1
  18. hannibal

    hannibal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Balance:
    172Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    my knowledge has increased! :p
  19. Flash66

    Flash66 6DOF Motion over the ocean in DCS FA/18-C Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Las Vegas NV
    Balance:
    - 12Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    When loading onto the cat, it's just like it's really happening. The fidelity is mind blowing how good it really is. upon loading it jerks you around and forward surge ready to launch. During launch you get a nice kick in the ass forward and bounces until it lifts off the deck to a smooth flight. Granted the actuators and steppers I have are very expensive with incredible speed and fidelity, but I would assume any would give a similar effect.
    • Like Like x 1
  20. hannibal

    hannibal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Balance:
    172Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    wow.. mind blown... any details about your build, links.. like what kind of actuators and steppers, if you are willing to share...

    but really ... MIND BLOWN!