1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question Newly returning. AMC simtools

Discussion in 'New users start here - FAQ' started by eloverphx, Jun 6, 2020.

  1. eloverphx

    eloverphx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Shakopee, Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    307Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Joyrider
    Hello there. Been away from the scene for about 8 years. I first started my simulator build then had kids, moved three times and now finally getting a little extra time to play with it again. I have the amc 1.5b and the thanos h-bridge and trying to get it working with simtools. I see the amc in the drop down menu but don’t see anything that would refer to the old amc 1.5. Am I too far out of date? Can I wire up an arduino to my h-bridge or will I need to start all over? I have been reading up on the forums and haven’t seen much as far as these questions. Thanks in advance. Oh by the way My build is a overly tall and big metal joy rider. Want to get it running for now then think about tearing it down for A new improved design that I keep seeing on here.
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,883
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,629Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,682 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    @Thanos would be the best person to give advice and he is active here.
  4. eloverphx

    eloverphx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Shakopee, Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    307Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Joyrider
    Thanks, I’ll wait to see if he responds. I have tried using the amc config tool and am unable to open the serial port with that so not sure where my issues are, assuming that this tool works for this as well. Could be dip switches aren’t right. Hell can’t remember what everything does on the board anymore.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,171
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +919 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    The AMC1.5 is really old piece of equipment, the firmware was too basic and it cannot communicate with AMC tool or use AMC plugins that exist in Simtools now.

    Can you take a photo of that board? Just to see how old are the parts on it...
  6. eloverphx

    eloverphx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Shakopee, Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    307Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Joyrider
    [​IMG]
    hopefully that link works. It has a atmel 644 on it. Is it possible to hook my arduino to the old h-bridge? Using one of the modes in the docs? If so anyone have a diagram how to hook it up or what the pins are one the h-bridge.

    Attached Files:

  7. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,171
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +919 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF