1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

New Aussie based Motion Sim build in the making.

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Archie, May 18, 2018.

  1. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,067
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,507Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,339 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Saw this on my facebook feed and thought it was interesting.

    Those that use Actuators might know more if this is "on the money" from a $$$ point of view??

    I asked if the builder is thinking of using Simtools but did not get a reply.

    Video: https://www.facebook.com/trakracer/videos/1700215906692110/

    Pics:
    upload_2018-5-18_9-2-14.png


    upload_2018-5-18_9-3-19.png
  2. AussieSim

    AussieSim Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    999Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0 / -0
    They're claiming "5DOF for under $5k" and Trak Racer: "I hope around Sept this year. "
  3. AussieSim

    AussieSim Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    999Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0 / -0
    As far as I can tell, it will be 4DOF with pitch, roll, heave and yaw

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,212
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    87,822Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,421 / 35 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    As depicted it is traction loss (forward pivot) rather than yaw (central pivot).

    It also seems to have surge rails under the seat in the drawing, though that could also just be seat adjustment rails.
  5. Ringorumble

    Ringorumble Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Balance:
    104Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    @Archie They use a custom Software. Sim Tools doesnt send vibrations to a Motor while moving ,or ?
  6. boomer

    boomer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Balance:
    50Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    another member here pointed me to this thread. I'm really keen finding out more on this motion sim.

    does anyone know the 5K they quoted is in AUD or USD?

    I was looking at the fasetech racecube - https://fasetech.com/

    but once you convert it to Aud + shipping and im sure taxes it come close to 10k :(
  7. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,067
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,507Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,339 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    My understanding is it would be AUD @ 5K. Search 'Trakracer" on Facebook to find out more. (Disc: I'm not associated/affiliated with them at all, just passing on the info.)

    I actually bought one of there RS8 Rigs and will be adding motion to it myself when I get the time. I've got the balance point sorted, just need to make the base plate.

    So time poor at the moment.....
  8. boomer

    boomer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Balance:
    50Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi @Archie one of the FB post on their page mentioned its 5k USD. I dont know if its by someone that is affiliated with the company or not.

    I do like their RS8 Rig and i believe the mk6 just came out on sale.

    Are you going to build and adopt a DIY solution or considering the version their are currently building?

    have you taken a look at the RaceCube by fasetech? www.fasetech.com

    what are you thoughts on the RaceCube?
  9. Jerry Atrick

    Jerry Atrick this is my sim Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    132
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Balance:
    1,120Coins
    Ratings:
    +40 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    HI Boomer pricing for RaceCube? have you had conformation on costs?

    I figure base in AU $ is around 10000 + Gst @ 1000 + Booking/Loading fee @ 500 + Shipping ???

    If it comes on a slow boat, 350??

    So in total sounds like a fair bit!:(

    Maybe by the time you've sold your rig, the RS8 Rig will have some actuators, or lets hope so:)

    Jerry
  10. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    894Coins
    Ratings:
    +235 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
  11. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,067
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,507Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,339 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Hey @boomer - Could well be USD 5K then. Either way, I' won't be buying one :D

    I'm going back to a foot mount, full frame sim using the RS8. I'm just going to place two motors at the front and one on a seat-heave mechanism I'm still working out. Once I get some time I'll start the build in earnest and post in a new thread :)

    My current sim is a thigh-mount seat mover, but I flight sim way more than I race sim and I really miss the increased sense of pitch a full frame gives you.
    • Like Like x 1
  12. boomer

    boomer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Balance:
    50Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    @Jerry Atrick I just got some pricing from Fasetech regarding their racecube. Its ridiculous over priced for us Aussies.

    RaceCube: $4699
    Sparco Seat: $299
    Hotas Mounts: $129
    Shifter Mount: $99

    Then Delivery: $1267

    Total: $6493.00

    Obviously seats and mounts are separate and you dont need to buy them from their site.

    but the reak kicker is, those prices are in Euros!

    Thats 10,209.00 AUD plus I'm sure we will have to pay taxes in Aus as well :(


    @Archie yes please keep us posted. I'm really keen to get one my self but DIY isn't option for me as I lack the knowledge to build one. I my self also mainly play racing and flight sim. DCS with the latest Hornet that was released recently getting bit of play currently.
    So i'm keen get something sorted out soon.
  13. Jerry Atrick

    Jerry Atrick this is my sim Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    132
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Balance:
    1,120Coins
    Ratings:
    +40 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Hi Boomer, yep on the 10000 is a plus 10% and a booking fee by customs at about 5% and that seems to depend on the kind of import.

    When I purchased my Prusa Mk3 as it was over 1000 AU customs charges were 10% GST and 5% booking fee.

    So if you can get a rig for 5K you'll be doing alright:)

    Jerry.

    PS: if your offer still on for a race? maybe I can make some time next week to have a run.
  14. joe extraknow

    joe extraknow Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    863Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    that is correct. I put a request for add this new feature:
    https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...motion-dof-axises-especially-for-heave.12114/

    This sounds great, but your video seems showing vibrating in wrong directions, see the motor vibrates all around. I think you may consider designing a good host so that the actuator can be mounted properly on a frame that all energy transfer to vertical direction only. Then put load on to measure the data: what is max load can be added, and what is up limit of frequency actually vibrating and what is max amplitude you got: 0.5 mm or 1 mm, or 2 mm?
    Stating a spec like this would be very helpful.
  15. boomer

    boomer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Balance:
    50Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    @Jerry Atrick I will def be keen for some casual racing... as long as I dont have to work over the weekend..... .so far looking good....
  16. Jerry Atrick

    Jerry Atrick this is my sim Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    132
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Balance:
    1,120Coins
    Ratings:
    +40 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Hi Boomer, are you working this weekend??

    Jerry
  17. boomer

    boomer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Balance:
    50Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Sorry Jerry, I wasnt working but I totally forgot to check back here to see if you were available. I'll PM you instead so we dont spam this thread.
  18. Jerry Atrick

    Jerry Atrick this is my sim Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    132
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Balance:
    1,120Coins
    Ratings:
    +40 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Oops did I break the rules:oops: sorry it won't happen again.

    Jerry