1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

My new sim - Prosimu T1000 3DOF

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by mirkobastianini, Dec 9, 2017.

  1. Giorgio73

    Giorgio73 Alluminium rig with prosimu 3dof kit

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Occupation:
    Plc enginer
    Location:
    Italy,Varese
    Balance:
    825Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    You could do as Doctor Krunz did
    He built a wooden base with six wheels underneath which he bosses block.
    In the front part of the table he made a box to contain all the controls.
    Try to check out his tread.
    In any case, this hobby requires some manual work, maybe it can be facilitated by the correct purchase of the components, in order to facilitate assembly
  2. Giorgio73

    Giorgio73 Alluminium rig with prosimu 3dof kit

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Occupation:
    Plc enginer
    Location:
    Italy,Varese
    Balance:
    825Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    the tread is
    Doctor Kruntz 3 DOF Motion Sim by ProSimu
  3. RacingRichie

    RacingRichie Prosimu T1000 3DOF Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Europe/Austria
    Balance:
    113Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    cool. Might be getting a DD soon as well and wonder what exactly you did. Do you mind sharing a picture?
  4. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    358Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Yes Giorgio, I understand that this is niche, low volume production stuff. But I've severe neurological condition, so it is not laziness, it is the search for the easiest path in my case. Like - I need to do A, what is the least physical path to it?

    In any case, I've picked up a board from local home improvement store and installed 9 wheels under it. Not sure it will be able to hold 250kg, we'll see. Building a door is a bit too much for my ability, I do plan to stuff all the boxes under the board, and when my brother visits, we'll screw boxes into the upper board. I can't believe I built it actually. Good thing I plan to install simvibe in the next 2 years, and amp should fit under this board too, woot!

    Attached Files:

  5. Pavel_besss

    Pavel_besss New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    87Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Thanks for reply. So as understand from placing stiffness bar on you picture flex was back and forward? Not the left and right? Cause wheel stand have only one leg and this is obly worry about this rig for me))
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Onaflyer

    Onaflyer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Boston, USA
    Balance:
    246Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    No there is BARELY any side to side flex when driving. In fact no flex at all, you can even stand beside it and try to flex it, the whole rig moves but the upright is solid.

    Very well designed and built, bravo Prosimu!
  7. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    358Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Guys,
    Is there any strong EM field around SCN6 actuator? I am wondering if it is safe to have PC near actuator. Thanks.
  8. RacingRichie

    RacingRichie Prosimu T1000 3DOF Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Europe/Austria
    Balance:
    113Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    please specify "near". My pc is about half a meter away from the nearest actuator. no problems since 10 months.
  9. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    358Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Mine is 30cm away and I am worried about hard disks.
  10. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    358Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    One more thing, do controller boxes heat up? I am considering stacking them up in an enclosure box, but wondering if it is a bad idea.
  11. RacingRichie

    RacingRichie Prosimu T1000 3DOF Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Europe/Austria
    Balance:
    113Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    I don't how easy it is to get your hands on a device that can measure EM fields, but as a start you could put a magnetic compass between Pc and actuator and see if there is any significant field?!

    controller boxes and power supply heat up, but only very slightly: my room temp is 20°C and controller box has 25°C.
    • Like Like x 1
  12. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    358Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    thanks, I'll keep monitoring temps. It sounds like no active cooling is necessary, even if all boxes are in a closed enclosure with couple of holes for heat to get out. Ok, on to Simtools, really want to start the beast :)
  13. Giorgio73

    Giorgio73 Alluminium rig with prosimu 3dof kit

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Occupation:
    Plc enginer
    Location:
    Italy,Varese
    Balance:
    825Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    Excellent work iron. I believe that with your base and nine wheels you should have no problem supporting your weight plus the weight of prosimu. You can still make it stiffer by placing wooden strips on the underside of the base.
    What are the dimensions of the wooden base and the thickness?
  14. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    358Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    I added an inch on each side so it is 41 by 49 inches. Board thickness 3/4 of an inch. I originally didn't plan to build platform, but when I saw pile of wires and controllers, I had to do it.
    Wooden strips is a nice idea, that would've also give me more clearance for my improvised enclosure, but well, I'll keep it as is for now.

    Anyone on this thread enjoys rFactor 2? Would be nice to discuss best settings with someone who likes that game. Yes, I will go through the manual, but still I like to talk to people when solving problems.

    Not yet finished, but couple of WIP screenshots of my build.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  15. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    358Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    I wanted to ask for an advice on two more build problems I have to solve:

    * My platform on wheels moves, even though all wheels are on brakes. Any suggestions how to prevent it from moving? I think I might try putting it onto some anti skid surface, but not sure that would be enough.

    * ideas for keyboard mounting solutions? I used to use strongest iPad holder I could found on my previous setup, but with rig moving, it won't stay in place no matter what I do. Suggestions?
  16. Giorgio73

    Giorgio73 Alluminium rig with prosimu 3dof kit

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Occupation:
    Plc enginer
    Location:
    Italy,Varese
    Balance:
    825Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    To keep the base stationary, you can use anti-vibrations screwed under the base that friction with the floor. You can make holes on the four sides of the base and insert the anti-vibrating ones. With the nuts you can adjust them in height, so when you have to hold the base station down there until you touch the floor, when you have to move the base you lift them off the floor.

    For the keyboard you should make sure that its support is attached to the base and not to the prosimu station. By contradiction you could build or find a small table with your feet fixed to the wooden base.
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Giorgio73

    Giorgio73 Alluminium rig with prosimu 3dof kit

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Occupation:
    Plc enginer
    Location:
    Italy,Varese
    Balance:
    825Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    upload_2018-11-27_20-10-29.png

    You can use a component like this but is necessary put the rubber under the base because is in hard plastic
    • Like Like x 1
  18. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    358Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    could you give me a name of this component, so that I can look it up?

    You are right - I'll have to attach keyboard to the platform, not the wheel base as I had it before. I am currently trying to decide between laptop holder Mount It! (MI-3352LT) and On-Stage KS6150
  19. Giorgio73

    Giorgio73 Alluminium rig with prosimu 3dof kit

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Occupation:
    Plc enginer
    Location:
    Italy,Varese
    Balance:
    825Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    The translation in English is Articulated adjustable foot
  20. Giorgio73

    Giorgio73 Alluminium rig with prosimu 3dof kit

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Occupation:
    Plc enginer
    Location:
    Italy,Varese
    Balance:
    825Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    • Like Like x 2