1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

My new sim - Prosimu T1000 3DOF

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by mirkobastianini, Dec 9, 2017.

  1. Giorgio73

    Giorgio73 Alluminium rig with prosimu 3dof kit

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Occupation:
    Plc enginer
    Location:
    Italy,Varese
    Balance:
    825Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    I also think that the seat remains slightly lower than a seat prosimu omp. you can get it up by putting shims on it. the thing becomes more complicated if you want to tilt the seat, the seat sold by prosimu can be tilted by means of the fixing bracket that has different adjustment holes.
    • Like Like x 1
  2. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    358Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Hi,
    I am about to start assembling my T1000 3DOF! woot!! But I hope someone can give me an advice on the following:
    I realized that now is a good time to install seat slider/rails, so that folks of different height can enjoy my system. I received OMP seat from ProSimu. Does anyone know, which slider/rail should I order? A link off amazon US or ebay would be appreciated.

    Also, is it difficult to instal slider?
    Thanks!

    PS: Can't paste link, but found "Invictus Universal Vehicle Seat Slider with Race Seat Side Bracket in Black", seems like exactly what I need, right?
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2018
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,250
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    118,426Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,451 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I don't own that rig but generally speaking for a balanced rig it is better to make the pedals adjustable, rather than the seat, as that has a lot less affect on the overall rig balance.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    358Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    That's great insight, thank you. I will try balancing things for my height (BTW, any hints on balancing T1000, anyone?). I suspect, however, some imbalance for secondary, very rare users would be acceptable. But again, good point, I almost forgot about importance of balance in this type of rigs, pheew.
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,250
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    118,426Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,451 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I am not sure what latitude these rigs have for adjusting balance, but normally this is how it is done, with a friend helping and yourself and all peripherals on the rig: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...-of-gravity-to-balance-a-motion-simulator.55/

    There are many ways to do it but you can use a seat slider for easily adjustable pedals: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/2-dof-project.10380/#post-134363
    • Like Like x 1
  6. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    358Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    I think you convinced me. It seems that unless I come up with something crafty, mounting seat on a slider will limit its height adjustment. Pedals might be easier to mount on rails after all, just wondering how well rails/slider will hold under heavy loadcell pressure, I use max pressure on my CSP V3. But probably others do that too.
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,250
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    118,426Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,451 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Can't say for sure, but seat sliders are designed to hold a lot of mass securely.
  8. Onaflyer

    Onaflyer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Boston, USA
    Balance:
    246Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    I used this slider kit, works well, easy to install. Not the strongest but once seat is on it kind of holds everything together. My advice is put the sliders onto the frame first, then the upright parts with the T1000 cut into them, then put the omp on with the side bolts.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    358Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    I appreciate your response. Would it be possible for you to send me a picture of how your seat sits on sliders and T1000 frame? Can seat be lowered if desired?

    Do you use loadcell pedals? I use a lot of force during braking, leaning towards not installing sliders, but maybe I am wrong.
  10. Thug

    Thug New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Middlesbrough UK
    Balance:
    441Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Surely that's just the same as the seat.
    You sit on the seat, your feet are on the pedals, correct? When you press with your feet/legs you are pushing forward, but you are also pushing yourself back into the chair.
    If anything is going to give, its going to be the weakest link in the chain, so either your seat, or pedals.
    It will be the same pressure on the slider whether its on your seat or pedals.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  11. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    358Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Agree, angle of force is a bit different though.

    BTW guys, is there any extra hardware, screws, bolts, washers needed for vanilla T1000 setup? I'll start building next week, but trying to collect some info for possible trip(s) to Home Depot.
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2018
  12. Onaflyer

    Onaflyer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Boston, USA
    Balance:
    246Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    IMG_20181118_165520929.jpg IMG_20181118_170032368.jpg IMG_20181118_165457660.jpg IMG_20181118_165851897.jpg IMG_20181118_165830979.jpg IMG_20181118_165914523.jpg IMG_20181118_165821625.jpg

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  13. Onaflyer

    Onaflyer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Boston, USA
    Balance:
    246Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    Kinda hard to see the seat sliders. Figured I would post up some other pics of the rig. Added a strongback brace to the steering wheel upright as I was getting flex with my OSW. Also added my 4LFE Simvibe buttkickers.

    Made some simple insulated boxes to cover the T1000 motors, now they are pretty quiet (I do morning sim racing and master bedroom is right next to my rig room).

    Built T shaped box that hides some wires and raised T1000 up 7 inches so it feels a lot more like stepping into a car and not quite sitting on floor. Still need to clean up all the wiring but everything works.
    • Like Like x 1
  14. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    358Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Thank you, your slider pictures were very helpful. Do you mind if I PM you for various questions wrt T1000 build? :)
  15. Giorgio73

    Giorgio73 Alluminium rig with prosimu 3dof kit

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Occupation:
    Plc enginer
    Location:
    Italy,Varese
    Balance:
    825Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    Fantastic rig onaflyer. What are you put beetwhen actuators and support? Picture number seven
  16. Onaflyer

    Onaflyer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Boston, USA
    Balance:
    246Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    That is just some thin rubber material, only about 1-2 mm thick. It stopped some of the harshness from the actuators. It only made a small difference but I figured I would leave them in anyway.
  17. Onaflyer

    Onaflyer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Boston, USA
    Balance:
    246Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    Sure I will help in anyway I can!
    • Like Like x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  18. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    358Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Guys,

    Any suggestions for enclosure for all the controller boxes? Unfortunately my motor skills won't allow me to build platform for this system, so I can't nicely wire everything underneath. I think I'll need a box with a few holes to put controllers away.

    Alternatively, I wonder if there's material and feet I could pick up from HD, so that I could kind of build a low table, four or maybe six feet, and just stuff controllers underneath. But I am not sure of dimensions (it should be bigger than T1000, right) and material to buy, as obviously I need something to hold up to 450-500lbs. Suggestions? How thick should plywood be?

    Cheers!

    PS. Now that I think of it, maybe I should buy wheels after all. Question is how stable platform is on wheels?
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2018
  19. Pavel_besss

    Pavel_besss New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    87Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Was this flex with OSW very annoying?
  20. Onaflyer

    Onaflyer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Boston, USA
    Balance:
    246Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    No not really, at first I didn't notice it because I race in VR......but I was watching some video of my son turning some laps in the rig and I noticed that the upright and the wheel baseplate had some flex.

    Now they are rock solid. I am so happy with the T1000 rig now, coupled with Simvibe. Really takes time to dial everything in but its a labor of love.