1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

2 DOF project

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Relic, Jun 9, 2017.

  1. Relic

    Relic New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Ohio
    Balance:
    194Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Hey all, finally decided to move up from my static rig after seeing all the great motion sims on here.

    Currently using a PVC rig (attached image: don't mind the missing shifter mount and tv mount; got lost during the move), and was considering just adding a seat mover to the back but plan on doing TL at a later time so I figured I might as well start the frame now.

    As far as rig design, I plan to go with something similar to the rig @Avenga76 built.

    Current shopping list:
    1. JRK 12v12 (x2)
    2. 25:1 gear motors from pgsaw
    3. Server PSU (x2)
    4. Hall Effect Pot (x2)
    5. Tie rod ends
    6. U-joint
    7. Flexible couplings for pots
    Anything I'm missing or any other suggestions?

    Couple of initial questions:

    I already have a lot of square tube steel, but what size would work best?

    Would it work better to use my seat slider to move my pedals or have slightly smaller square tubing that could slide in with locking pins?

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,464
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    119,830Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,533 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You will need some quality usb cables with ferrite cores. The clip on ferrite cores are pretty handy.

    Consider some fuses and a kill switch.

    A seat slider is a convenient way to adjust pedals, put tubing with pins will work as well.
  4. Relic

    Relic New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Ohio
    Balance:
    194Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Already have 2 emergency stop switches I had lying around. Same with fuses/fuse holders. (I'm an electrician/master maintenance tech by trade). Good point on the usb cables, guess I haven't thought enough about all the small details.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,258Coins
    Ratings:
    +840 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Hi.

    Good to see you have a build thread up.

    For the adjustablity. When I first built my rig I tried to go for the old slightly smaller square tube trick but it became a real pain as my rig got heavier and more complex.

    I switched to just using a seat slider for the pedals.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    For box section size, I use a combination. The outer frame of my rig is all 35mm and then my seat frame and some of the connecting parts are 25mm.

    Fuses and killswitches are a must. I have 2 killswitches on mine. One up the front where I can hit it while driving, and another on the back of the rig so I can kill it if other people are driving it or while I am tuning it etc. I have a ton of uses all over my rig, about 6 all up, dotted all over my rig. Once you start adding moving parts then you have to be more careful with cable management and electrical protection.
    • Like Like x 1
  6. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    289Coins
    Ratings:
    +122 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    whats about buttkickers? i will buy 4 today, for use with simvibe soft...
  7. Relic

    Relic New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Ohio
    Balance:
    194Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Alright, long time since I posted but I'm finally ready to begin. Purchased my motors and steel tubing to start fabbing up my frame but I have a question on design. I opted to go straight for a rig with traction loss and a seat mover but I was wondering if I should mount the monitor to the traction loss frame or keep it static. It wouldn't be affected by the seat mover but would turn with the rig when TL actuated. Would this be realistic?
  8. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    289Coins
    Ratings:
    +122 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    well, realistic is, but of course the ideal would be the screen moving along with the rest. It depends a lot on the focus of your design ... moving the entire frame along with the cockpit, your body and the screen requires a force that few engines have (logically speaking in reasonably priced engines)
  9. Relic

    Relic New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Ohio
    Balance:
    194Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    I know it'd be a lot of weight for the motors if I was doing a full frame and trying to move the TV with the rig. I'm assuming that a 50:1 would be able to handle moving everything on a rotational axis though, since for this motion its not really having to fight gravity so weight shouldn't be as much of an issue. Correct?
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,464
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    119,830Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,533 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You can use SimCalc to work out the basic physics of a design: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...e-linear-speed-and-forces-of-your-design.270/

    Inertia plays a big roll with a high mass, particularly in fast direction changes.