1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

My new sim - Prosimu T1000 3DOF

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by mirkobastianini, Dec 9, 2017.

  1. mirkobastianini

    mirkobastianini Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    190
    Occupation:
    informatic
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    1,598Coins
    Ratings:
    +75 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    After have sold my 2DOF rig...i've decided to buy a Prosimu T1000 3DOF.

    I was not convinced of a lot of thing but after tried it I can't say nothing else than..awesome!

    Pro:
    -SCN6 actuators are another world than DC motors; they are very fast and precisely. With this kind of actuator you can really feel little details that you lost with DC motor.
    -Entire frame is really clean, polish and simple. It's not very big comparized to a 2DOF.
    -Connections are very simple, 2 cables for actuator and all system is powered by a simple notebook power supply.

    Cons:
    -SCN6 actuators are pretty noisy.
    -when you stay on it...you don't want to get off :D

    Anyway, thanks Patrick because it's very a good simulator.
    Mirko

    photo_2017-12-09_20-29-40.jpg

    photo_2017-12-09_20-29-39.jpg

    photo_2017-12-09_20-29-41 (2).jpg

    photo_2017-12-09_20-29-41.jpg

    photo_2017-12-09_20-29-42 (2).jpg

    photo_2017-12-09_20-29-42.jpg

    photo_2017-12-09_20-29-43 (2).jpg

    photo_2017-12-09_20-29-43.jpg

    photo_2017-12-09_20-29-44.jpg
    • Like Like x 7
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,470
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    89,558Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,560 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thanks for sharing your new rig.

    This actually belongs in the Commercial sim section, our admin @Pit can shift it for you when he has a spare moment.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Bernd Manger

    Bernd Manger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    160
    Occupation:
    Measurement and control mechanic
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    933Coins
    Ratings:
    +251 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Nice Sim (unfortunately not self-built).

    But please put away the carpet lying beneath, he destroys the overall impression. (looks like a flying carpet from "One thousend and one nights") ;)
  4. mirkobastianini

    mirkobastianini Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    190
    Occupation:
    informatic
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    1,598Coins
    Ratings:
    +75 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Yup, sorry noorbeast :)

    Anyway, I will make a video soon... I'm really impressed by this kind of actuators. They are very accurate...another world than classic DC motor.
  5. gWest

    gWest always remember: superheros fly head first Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Occupation:
    Athlete
    Location:
    Utah
    Balance:
    61Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Hey guys,
    I just purchased this sim as well. I'll be honest, it is a BOAT LOAD of fun. I love the challenge of getting it set up. It took me about a day to get it put together but I was taking breaks along the way. It is temporarily set up at my in laws but I will post photos when it is set up with cable management at my house. I was curious on a couple things and hope that there are multiple users here to address.

    1. Did yours come with the carpet? Everything I see in the instructions says that it would but Patrick didn't include it and wants me to purchase something else for him to ship it for free. A bit frustrating.

    2. I am working on the Project Cars 2 title and in the menus the sim will randomly move around on occasion. Does anyone know a work around other than getting out and coming back in?

    3. Do you have problems with the front end lifting out of the red frame work? My cousin sat in it weighing 210 lbs and the thing tipped over backwards.

    4. I have started adjusting the settings in simtools and am trying to get an accurate traction loss setting. Are you guys using more Sway or Yaw? the back end is randomly kicking out on the simulator in tight slow radius corners where I am not losing traction.

    5. Does anyone have ANY ideas on how to not to drive people living below you crazy with the vibration noise??? hahahaha

    I appreciate the help and hope this is in the right section! #ImNewHere

    -Greg
  6. mirkobastianini

    mirkobastianini Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    190
    Occupation:
    informatic
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    1,598Coins
    Ratings:
    +75 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    1) You need to buy a carpet if you want it.
    2) I don't use PC2
    3)I suspect your setting are wrong... you should follow patrick setting, calibrate values with tuning center, and after that don't go over 65/70% in main profile game.
    4) with this kind of simulator you can't emulate Yaw.
    5) this kind of actuator is very noisy. What you can do Is to build a rolling platform to avoid contact with floor.
  7. HardyG

    HardyG New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    North-Rine-Westfalia
    Balance:
    35Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    nice to see another T1000. i'm buying this also as my next gift to me.. but i'm a little bit surprised.. you buy a simulator for 3000$ and have only a 100$ wheel? that's a bad match. :eek:
    Anyway.. i like this very clean build with the cable management. :cheers
    How long was the delivery time?
  8. mirkobastianini

    mirkobastianini Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    190
    Occupation:
    informatic
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    1,598Coins
    Ratings:
    +75 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Because I have no money now :D My next gift will be T300rs Alcantara.

    1 week.
    • Like Like x 1
  9. mirkobastianini

    mirkobastianini Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    190
    Occupation:
    informatic
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    1,598Coins
    Ratings:
    +75 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Updates:
    EFA91817-9EF7-4C8C-BDAA-70BC4D8DD03C.jpeg AF624A82-9A80-4110-9FDC-B562BB224576.jpeg CAE625CF-3957-4348-A6CD-6B524D934DB0.jpeg 64A5DE8D-B834-4617-923A-FB4EC5FD36A4.jpeg 9417FB8A-D69A-45A9-89E8-CEF0E06FD9F5.jpeg 6C28EC9F-35E9-4B7A-95D7-C8E6B2F5B1E1.jpeg
    • Like Like x 2
  10. nighthawkra

    nighthawkra New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    usa
    Balance:
    - 82Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Awesome stuff bud! I only have a 2dof rig hopefully soon I'll have a 3dof ;). Just got his new shifter plate in I'll be posting a video soon u can check it out on my channel RTA Motorsports on YouTube. His new shifter plate is crazy strong as my old one eventually bent! Lol

    Anyways good stuff keep us updated!
    -crash
    RTA Motorsports
    • Like Like x 1
  11. mirkobastianini

    mirkobastianini Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    190
    Occupation:
    informatic
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    1,598Coins
    Ratings:
    +75 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF




    what do you think about my setting?
    patrick from prosimu suggest to set main level around 60/70%, and all axis allocation at 60% (heave at 20%).
    regarding tuning center, with assetto corsa, my values are:
    pitch: 1.5 max/min
    roll: 2 max/min
    heave: 0.5 max/min
    sway: 1 max/min
    surge: 0.8max/1.2min
    traction loss:1.8 max/min

    Any tips? @noorbeast @Zed
  12. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Vive

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    702
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    3,931Coins
    Ratings:
    +727 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I was going to say maybe more surge while viewing the first video but that looks good in the second. How does it feel to you?

    I don’t have a good feel for critiquing other peoples' rigs. Since I run in VR I don’t even see how much my own rig moves. I just go by how it feels.
  13. PIM1

    PIM1 VR Racer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Messages:
    91
    Occupation:
    Fitness Instructor
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    270Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6, Motion platform

    Hi, I have the 2 DOF rig and the movements look good but only you can judge from feel. I really think you should get vr as a motion seat with vr is a perfect match. Looks like we will have news about a high resolution vive tomorrow so could be time to jump in.

    Thanks :)
  14. mirkobastianini

    mirkobastianini Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    190
    Occupation:
    informatic
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    1,598Coins
    Ratings:
    +75 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    mmm... i dont know if its normal that with certain car you can feel little bit some effects and with others no. for example, in f1 car, i can feel a lot of heave but less sway.

    anyway' its strange that prosimu suggests axis allocation over 100% (every axis is around 60%).
    Maybe I feel im missing some sway, not in speed but in terms of range.

    ive tried playstation vr...and my stomach goes away :(
  15. long legs

    long legs Perfect Race is a perfect day

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Occupation:
    teacher
    Location:
    catalonia
    Balance:
    36Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5, Motion platform
    I have a scn5 actuators and Im thinking that your movement its slowly. Anyway try to Put the television near to you, because the fov is wrong and all the inmersion loost.
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,470
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    89,558Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,560 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    While you can a bit over 100% total for axis allocations going too far you will induce clipping and lose motion fidelity, which I would expect is the case with 60% allocations.

    Once you sort and refine a motion profile you can then create variations of it in Game Manager Editor for different cars on different tracks: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/
    • Like Like x 2
  17. mirkobastianini

    mirkobastianini Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    190
    Occupation:
    informatic
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    1,598Coins
    Ratings:
    +75 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    You are on right noorbeast, but I don't know why Patrick suggests to use 60% for every force. In fact he suggests this setting:
    Pitch:60%
    Roll:60%
    Sway:60%
    Surge:60%
    Heave:20%

    Main Level: around 60%.

    Maybe because Axis are limited to 85% to prevent damage to actuators?

    I've tried standard setting like:
    Pitch: 20%
    Roll:15%
    Sway:30%
    Surge:20%
    Heave:15%

    But movement are too shortly.

    If you have some suggestion to optimize this kind of setting, I really appreciated it. I'm here to make testing to improve simulation on this kind of 3DOF.
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,470
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    89,558Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,560 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    What game are the settings for?

    Please post pictures of all of your current settings, including Tuning Center.

    Are there safety or equipment limitations as to why 60% is suggested for the main level?
    • Like Like x 1
  19. mirkobastianini

    mirkobastianini Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    190
    Occupation:
    informatic
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    1,598Coins
    Ratings:
    +75 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Now I don't have pc under my hands, but setting are:
    Pitch:60% 1.5 max/min
    Roll:60% 2 max/min
    Sway:60% 1 max/min
    Surge:60% 0,8max/1.2min
    Heave:20% 0.5max/min

    Main Level: 65%.
    Actuators are limited to 85% for damage protection (Owner of Prosimu says this thing)

    If I increase main level to higher values, I will have faster movement but not with long range.
  20. mirkobastianini

    mirkobastianini Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    190
    Occupation:
    informatic
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    1,598Coins
    Ratings:
    +75 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    @noorbeast Yesterday I've tried another setup(which is under 100% of total allocation):
    Pitch:15% 1.5 max/min
    Roll:15% 2 max/min
    Sway:30% 1 max/min
    Surge:25% 0,8max/1.2min
    Heave:15% 0.5max/min

    Now range of movement are really little, and if I increase main level (for example from 65% to 75%) what change isn't the range of movement, but the "speed" of the little movement.
    What i'm trying to obtain is to have a bigger movement, maybe the problem is related to axis limiting.

    Any suggestion is appreciated.