1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

My first 2dof

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by dion, Feb 1, 2018.

  1. dion

    dion New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    104Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi everyone names Dion

    Started building my first racing sim a few weeks ago Almost finished.
    Fingers crossed I’ll finish it tonight after work.

    Running a uno r3
    Moto monster
    150watt 12v power supply
    2x 80mm pc fans
    2x vp/vn commodore wiper motors
    G27 wheel/pedals/gears
    Custome hand brake

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,775
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    121,899Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,633 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Welcome @dion, thanks for sharing your rig.

    A couple of comments for you to consider.

    Be aware that you usually need to ground isolate wiper motors: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/wiper-motor-mandatory-ground-isolation.25/

    I suspect your placement of the uni joint at the mid point of the upright is likely to result in some odd geometry as the rig moves and will increase the load on the motors, normally the uni joint is placed as close to the seat as possible: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/universal-joint-placement.108/

    The motor mounts may also be a little flimsy.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. dion

    dion New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    104Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    thanks for the suggestions

    i have grounded them in 2 points

    as for the uni joint, ill have to deal with it an see how i go hahaha dont really want to cut it up

    motor mounts were flimsy but i have now beefed them up so all good there now
  5. dion

    dion New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    104Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Update from Friday to now

    Installed scm3 code to my Arduino, wired it all up and gave it a test but no luck

    Lots of hours but it seem to be getting worse
    Ordering new moto monsters tomorrow as I Believe that’s where the issue is

    Attached Files:

  6. GIB SimRacing

    GIB SimRacing Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Barossa Valley, SA
    Balance:
    1,253Coins
    Ratings:
    +245 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Hey dion, as noorbeast already mentioned, the uni joint would be much better located closer to the bottom of the seat. I know changing things like that is a bit of a job but it would be very much worth it.
    All the best with your project!
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  7. dion

    dion New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    104Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    so another update finally got my sim up and running and i think for my first try it is awesome!!!!
    few issues with faulty pots and 2 faulty moto monsters.
    now getting into the fine tuning and making adjustable arms for the motors to see if i can get some bigger angles
    ill try post a vid soon

    Attached Files:

    • Winner Winner x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  8. dion

    dion New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    104Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    So had it running but my power supply just wasn’t enough so I have upgraded to a 750watt pc psu 79A max

    Also 1 motor must have been on its way out and just had no power. Luckily I got 4 of the same motors together swaped it out and all good.

    And Covered up all the wiring up nicely

    That’s a bit of an update.

    Can’t seem to upload a video. Will try again when I’m on my computer.

    Next longer arms for the motors (some time this week)

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  9. dualclick76

    dualclick76 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    italia
    Balance:
    33Coins
    Ratings:
    +40 / 0 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    good luck for the progress, congratulations for your location
    • Like Like x 1
  10. dion

    dion New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    104Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    • Winner Winner x 2