1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom My Diy 2dof RC test then 2dof wiper motor diary

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Krzysztof Dej, Jan 1, 2021.

  1. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    595Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Unplanned break due to covid. Stay safe men, this one is ugly as hell
  2. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    595Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Bzzz bzzzz I'm back to my 2dof project and make some progress. I have existing rig and I want to do some add on. My rig is build with 35x35 metal profiles I make add on with 30x30 and put inside profile and connect them with scrue. It's good solution for me becouse when I start testing I will see how strong my motors are. Then meybe I decide to put them in front of my sit. Now it's time to do 2nd part of rig for my seat and then connect it and start testing. I know for now that I must do some break again on the next week so my next progress will be after 1st weekend of May. I'm exited I went so far from zero.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  3. Thomas Rabbertz

    Thomas Rabbertz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    - 70Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    Hi, I am at about the same build stage for my first3DOF platform. Are you going to install also batteries for the regenerative power or are you gonna use clamp resitors?
  4. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    595Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi. Good luck for u and your project. No i don't use batteries a have 2 power amp 300 wat for 220 volt. I don't understand what clamp resistors means
  5. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    595Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi I make huge step to finish my project. I make add on to my existing rig try to make pivot point adjustable to make sure my weight point will help my motors. I already have 1st tests and it's working!!!!! If I can do this anybody can!!! I like to tnx all people who helped me solve my problems.
    I will tests it and solve potencjal problems
    I want also to create pot cover and new electrical box. Here is my photo and yt video from test 01
    Forces used :surge, sway, heavy

    Attached Files:

  6. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    595Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Omg it's sooo amazing. All the g forces imitate make so good sense and fun. 200 wat motors is strong and they r cold after 30 min playing
    I record young adept making his debiut.
    When he go off track in fisrts reactions was that I was shaking the seat :) I never thought it was going to be that cool
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    595Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I post my settings in sim tools and smc3 also
    I pul filter on sway for smooth and feeling is ok

    Attached Files:

  8. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    595Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    So my conclusion after this few month :
    From 2dof RC do 2dof motors is much more complicated but u can do it:)

    Important to remember change regional settings in windows!!!!!

    Buy shielded wires for motor silent work

    Be patient if somethings doesn't work. Try switch to the second motor, always restart smc3 after something is wrong!!

    Find best weight point for cardan pivot to not load the motors.

    Buy 20 pots or 2 hall pots :)
    Tnx eweryone for help and good luck with Yours project

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  9. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    595Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF

    Roll out on semetin stage Richard burns rally
    Trying to set profile: Can U guys talk with me what is the best? I think surge, heawy, sway. But I have mixed feelings about add pitch and roll i think this is good for symulator where screen and steering wheel are moving. What forces are You have guys?
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,190
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    124,761Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,758 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I use sway, heave, surge, roll and pitch, see the tuning tips in the FAQs, initially do one axis at a time, then turn them all on and tweak from there: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/
  11. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    595Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Ok but u put more on pich and roll or less? How u find this. I start yesterday rally stage The road was inclined and I was leaning off. I don't know if he wants to. Like I say upper post. Pich and roll is better for platform with vr where steering wheel moving also
  12. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,190
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    124,761Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,758 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You start at around 25 Axis Assignment and do each axis individually at first, to find the best settings for each, as per the tuning tip link. Likely you will end up with higher Axis Assignment values for sway pitch and roll, lower for heave and possibly surge, but it can be different for different games. Refining a motion profile takes time and practice.

    Tuning includes refining Tuning Center values after an initial capture. On some games heave may have a TC value less than 1, the larger the value the slower the response, but over a bigger range, the smaller the value the sharper the response, so roll and pitch often have higher TC values that say surge or heave.
    Last edited: May 17, 2021
  13. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    595Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Yea i know all that tutorial. My thoughts was for your personal preferences. :)
  14. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    595Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi so I understand that I must have game configurated to receive data on simhub and udp to sim tools? So if simhub receive game port 6667 i create forward udp for simtools 4231 on 127.0.0.1 to sim tools can receive data? This is not working for me. Sim tools patch all games for shaking. When I configure them for simhub is this right?
    I want to have my shakeit from simhub.
    Like on this pics game telemetry udp port will be 6667 (game patched by simhub)
    And forwarding do sim tools
    UDP forward port 4231 that sim tools can take data from port that it use. Can someone help me config this?

    Attached Files:

  15. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    595Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Simhub udp for Richard burns rally :)

    Attached Files:

    • rbr.jpg
      rbr.jpg
      File size:
      120.7 KB
      Views:
      32
    • rbr1.jpg
      rbr1.jpg
      File size:
      153.5 KB
      Views:
      31
  16. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    595Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Final version added some covers and.. Replaced pots with hall sensors ( i broke like 10 pots already)
    One more thing to do is cover for electronics.
    After about a month of use no other malfunctions

    Attached Files:

    • Winner Winner x 2
  17. Kenshiro27

    Kenshiro27 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2021
    Messages:
    76
    Balance:
    6Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hello, nice video with the car and the lego platform, it represents the movement that the car must take in play
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    595Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    One of my last posts. I managed my switch cable with stuff termo shells to avoid potencial damage. I finish box with all electric. Connect radiators of motor controller to metal plate by aluminum plates to dissipate heat. My 1 year old baby is my best beta tester so all things must be armored :) for me and my lack of time most demanding thing was creating motion profile. So I write a lot on this forum and yt and still best is less movement with subtle information. On this time I use my 2dof I have problem with one loose pot. My fault I don't give a washer to screw ;/ my longer play was about 3 hours and all elektro and motors was cold so it's working good. Thx so much for all people who helped me with my project and good luck with yours

    Attached Files:

  19. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    595Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    @noorbeast I star another 2fof for my sister kids. I think I have broken arduino but I have time to my new arduino arrive so I ask :
    I have all wire connected good. I have one motor for now and when turn on power it rotate all the time when I turn pot to the middle position motor rotate less and I can stop it by hold motor arm. But when pot is moving motor start to rotate again Did u see something similar?
  20. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,190
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    124,761Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,758 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    is the pot wired the correct way around and have the settings been done from scratch for this specific hardware?