1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

My 2DOF rig

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by drzmat, Dec 29, 2020.

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,462
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    119,815Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,533 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Try a lower Tuning Center value for sway and roll, try 3-4 and tweak from there.

    Temporarily disable axis by setting 0% in Axis Assignments, or alternatively set the Axis temporarily to -
  2. drzmat

    drzmat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Messages:
    57
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I was looking at the FAQ #228 and i was wondering what they meant by :

    "Temporarily disable surge by setting is allocation to 0, that leave the Axis Allocation % in place so you can easily re-enable it."
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,462
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    119,815Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,533 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It should say set the Axis temporarily to - rather than 0, I will edit that to correct it.
  4. drzmat

    drzmat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Messages:
    57
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    That make sense!

    Thanks Noorbeast!
  5. drzmat

    drzmat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Messages:
    57
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi guys, i have trouble tuning "heave" force on my rig, i just cant feel it in project cars 2 even with a pretty big value.

    I tried to run over curbs and even jump over them, not much motion happening.

    I am not even sure my motor rotation is ok for that force since i dont know how to test it.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,462
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    119,815Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,533 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You likely need a smaller TC value, in some games less than 1, so try something like 0.5 and you should feel it.

    But a curb is more than heave, it includes pitch and roll as well.

    I use the bumpy bits of Monza in Assetto Corsa to tune heave,the track surface visually looks flat but some bits of it are quite bumpy.
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2021
  7. drzmat

    drzmat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Messages:
    57
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Ill try this thanks!
    • Like Like x 1
  8. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    312Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Could you make video for how to use tunning center...that FAQ didnt helped me
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,462
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    119,815Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,533 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  10. Skuldi

    Skuldi New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Germany NRW
    Balance:
    123Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    You can´t simulate heave with a 2dof rig. You need something like a 4DOF that can raise your rig up and down. When the car goes airborn, your rig will do almost nothing, but with an nice roll and pitch setting, you feel the landing.
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    63
    Balance:
    94Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    This is a nice and simplistic build. One thing you could consider is adding a metal bar where the motor arm connects to extend the distance from the center. This will decrease movement in exchange for less force exerted on the motor.
  12. drzmat

    drzmat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Messages:
    57
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi Sam, i am interested can you elaborate on this?

    I am not sure i understand where to put that metal bar?

    Thanks!
  13. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    63
    Balance:
    94Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    No problem. As you can see in this picture, you can put the point of contact to the motor out farther from the center of the platform. This fixed the issue I had with one motor going down when no power was applied but it might not work for you due to your motor position. image.jpg
  14. drzmat

    drzmat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Messages:
    57
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I think i may look into a shorter lever ctc since it seems to have a bigger impact looking at simcalc....
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2021