1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom Motion platform "Catopult"

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by kalbasator, Jul 1, 2022.

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,626
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    133,224Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,261 / 48 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    SMC3 settings are somewhat specific to how your hardware reacts, so are not generic but rather require tweaking settings for optimal responses.

    While written with different hardware in mind this simple analogous guide hopefully helps understand PID tuning is about an accurate response using the controls available: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/a-laymans-analogy-guide-to-pids-pid-tuning.219/

    Start on the low end and work up is the best way to go and not likely to result in damage.
  2. kalbasator

    kalbasator Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2021
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Kazahstan, Almaty
    Balance:
    248Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Hi all! I did a trial setting of the motors in the SMC3 utility, the motors are quite nimble.
    I post screenshots of the settings.
    It seems there are no problems.
    The only thing I can't understand is why during the output testing in SimTools, when I turn on the test, the levers are released down from the 90 degree position?

    Attached Files:

  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,626
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    133,224Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,261 / 48 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  4. kalbasator

    kalbasator Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2021
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Kazahstan, Almaty
    Balance:
    248Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    • Winner Winner x 1
  5. kalbasator

    kalbasator Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2021
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Kazahstan, Almaty
    Balance:
    248Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Hello everyone and good mood! :)
    I want to share good news - I launched my platform :cheers! I have been doing tests and tuning in LFS for a week, while everything is going well.
    Today I decided to download plugins for Dirt Rally 2.0 and Assetto Corsa Competizione Plugin, but I did not have access to download, I can not find how to activate the download plan for coins.
    I found a form that needs to be filled out for activation, but I'm not sure if this is correct - https://www.xsimulator.net/contact-us/
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,626
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    133,224Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,261 / 48 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    SimTools (motion software) and Xsimulator.net (DIY community and community plugins) are two different entities: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/simtools-and-xsimulator-partnership-explained.275/

    You can access all community plugins for a week by using 250 of your forum activity coins here and they will remain functional as long as there is no future game update that breaks functionality: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/shop/
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2022
  7. kalbasator

    kalbasator Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2021
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Kazahstan, Almaty
    Balance:
    248Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Thanks @noorbeast for your help, it worked!
    I also noticed that one of the front motors is very hot, the rest are barely warm. With what it can be connected? The settings in SMC3Utils are the same for all motors.

    Attached Files:

  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,626
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    133,224Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,261 / 48 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Sometimes, even though the same brand, different hardware needs slightly different settings if its responses are not the same. Have you used Output Mode in SMC3 to ensure each motor responds the same, particularly under load?

    As an aside you likely need to refine your clip and max limits, those set the range and safety limits for the motors. A lever becomes very inefficient beyond about 38-40 degrees of movement up and down, if yours are moving beyond that the motors will be under unnecessary strain.
  9. kalbasator

    kalbasator Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2021
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Kazahstan, Almaty
    Balance:
    248Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Yes, I used the output mode in SMC3 in the first place, all motors react the same and stably.
    Today I'm trying to change the length of the lever which is on the motor shaft reducer, I made additional holes in it for these situations.
    I also reduced the values of PWMmax and PWMmin, let's see what happens from this.
  10. kalbasator

    kalbasator Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2021
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Kazahstan, Almaty
    Balance:
    248Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Hi all! I want to share the first test of the mobile platform.

    The problem with the heating of the front right motor has not yet been solved.
    • Winner Winner x 1
  11. itsumairu

    itsumairu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2021
    Messages:
    148
    Occupation:
    Psychologist
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +73 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hello there..
    really nice to see your build is finished and move!
    I just wanna share my thought. the right motor get hot easily because the design of your rig.
    right section weight more than the left side. it's the as mine, my left motor get warmer because there's a shifter and handbreak attach to the left side.
    sorry for my english
    1662190914802.jpg
  12. kalbasator

    kalbasator Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2021
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Kazahstan, Almaty
    Balance:
    248Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Reducing the length of the lever did not give much results.
    Also, reducing PWMmax and PWMmin did not reduce the heating of the front right motor - perhaps, on the contrary, it is necessary to make the values higher so that it is easier for the motor to lift and hold the loaded side ... I have another idea - to add a spring.
  13. kalbasator

    kalbasator Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2021
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Kazahstan, Almaty
    Balance:
    248Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Who can tell me - is there a difference how to correctly - which side to attach the gearbox to the platform? Below is a screenshot for an example.
    It's just that basically I see that they use 1 version of the location.

    Attached Files:

  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,626
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    133,224Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,261 / 48 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    These look to be different angles of the same thing, so I am not sure what you mean, could you please explain a little further?
  15. kalbasator

    kalbasator Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2021
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Kazahstan, Almaty
    Balance:
    248Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Perhaps this will be clearer. And I installed it as in the second option, maybe this is why there is an additional load on the worm gear and the motor heats up?

    Attached Files:

  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,626
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    133,224Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,261 / 48 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I doubt the orientation is the issue, it is more likely related to the motor specs/faults and/or design issues.
  17. itsumairu

    itsumairu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2021
    Messages:
    148
    Occupation:
    Psychologist
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +73 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I second what @noorbeast said. I think its the design.
    the construction for the wheel base is only on the right side, it give a lot of work for the right motor. the weight is not distributed equally.
    CMIIW
  18. kalbasator

    kalbasator Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2021
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Kazahstan, Almaty
    Balance:
    248Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    I have a question about Fpwm - In the specification of the driver, the frequency is 60kHz, and in the utility you can set a maximum of 35kHz. What can it affect?

    Attached Files:

  19. kalbasator

    kalbasator Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2021
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Kazahstan, Almaty
    Balance:
    248Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Hi all! In general, after not much thought, I decided to cut the entire structure and redo the geometry. It took about half an hour to cut :grin Let's see how long it takes to weld a new frame.

    In general, the platform performed well. But the overheating of one motor did not give me rest.
    Due to the overall size of the motor with a gearbox, with the new location of the front motors, the overall size of the platform itself will increase :(

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2022
  20. kalbasator

    kalbasator Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2021
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Kazahstan, Almaty
    Balance:
    248Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Hi all! I can not understand what is the difference in the type of output, I tried both, it feels like there is no difference.
    But the logic is - I have a geared motor, so I need to install a rotational?

    Attached Files: