1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Tutorial Monster Moto Shield acts as a single motor driver = more power!

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Pit, May 9, 2014.

  1. Alinos

    Alinos New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    72Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Hey!

    Im trying to move a nema17 with monster moto shield but im not be able to get it. I copy your schematic connections as you can see in the pic.
    IMG_20180510_113050.jpg
    For arduino code
    Did you use de SMC3? Dont know if nema17 is well connected too.
    If someone can help me, im quite noob with this dirver.
    thanks!

    Attached Files:

  2. Alicante

    Alicante New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    40Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    @Pit

    Hi,

    I am using B configuration but something strange happens:
    I have been testing it for about 4 hours, one of the ibt2 is so hot while the other one is ccompletly cold.
    I think that both bridges should be more or less at same temperature, as i have understood one ibt2 works when motor is turning clockwise and the otherone when it is turning anticlockwise. is it right?

    Regards
  3. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,021
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,711Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,032 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Sorry mate no support for the IBT.
  4. Martin.Berger

    Martin.Berger Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Balance:
    343Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi@all.
    Trying to move my truckwipers. In "normal" conditions everything works fibe in smcutil.
    In the single MM configuration 12V come into MM but nothing out. Pins are connected like it is described in the first Post.
    Thanks for Help.
    Martin
  5. Tags..(VR)

    Tags..(VR) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    indiana
    Balance:
    26Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    what wire gauage and how did you solder them on there? nice job.
  6. dedraro

    dedraro Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    44Coins
    Ratings:
    +64 / 0 / -0
    Hi guys, sorry for resurrecting this old topic, but I have a question for you, I currently use 2 ibt-2 in series to manage a single 120W 24v worm motor for the belt tensioner, like this:
    [​IMG]
    The situation compared to a single ibt-2 has slightly improved, but often it happens to me that with impacts or hard braking the boards go overloaded and shutsdown, so I wondered if a triple board configuration was possible, like this:
    [​IMG]

    What do you think?
  7. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,021
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,711Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,032 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Before you upgrade maybe you can post your SMC3 settings (or anything other software you're using for these drivers) .Sometimes the Kp value is too high, or the max Power is too high, slightly reducing these values could help already. Anyway 3 IBT bridges are critical in parallel mode, on the other hand I did never test such a configuration. If you need stable motor drivers, I suppose to have a look at Saberthooth drivers.
  8. dedraro

    dedraro Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    44Coins
    Ratings:
    +64 / 0 / -0
    Thanks for the answer, yes I use SMC3, and I played a lot with the settings, these are the ones that I accept as minimum, after it becomes too slow and the braking does not synchronize with the surge of the rig, and it bothers me
    [​IMG]
    Can you recommend any changes?
    I wanted to give one last chance to this motor, which responds really well (when don't shutsdown) then if I can't get them to work I will go directly to the servo I use for the SFX100, I don't want spend money to take a sabertooth with this cheap motor.
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,728
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    108,861Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,894 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Does this only drive surge, or have you not configured other axis?

    In the TC you have 0 for Max, which will make it very violent. I would suggest doing a proper TC capture then tune from there: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/

    Keep in mind the lower the TC value the sharper the response, the higher the value you will soften the response, over a greater range.

    I would suggest you not mess with any filters or axis limiting (unless needed to prevent breakage) until the base motion profile is fully refined.

    You may want to try lowering the Main Level % in the Game Manager Profile Editor, as that will help soften spikes in thing like a crash which may trip things out. You can also create specific profile for particular cars at certain tracks.

    Take it slow and methodical, don't make multiple setting changes at the same time.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2020
  10. dedraro

    dedraro Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    44Coins
    Ratings:
    +64 / 0 / -0
    Yes I use it only for surge, I set axis limiting because this way I can have it more accentuated for the small moviements like shifting and don't break my shoulders on the hard brakes.
    However I will definitely try to reduce the main level %, I haven't tried it yet, always left at 100%.
    I reset everything and start from scratch, thanks for the advice, I'll let you know.
    • Like Like x 2
  11. dedraro

    dedraro Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    44Coins
    Ratings:
    +64 / 0 / -0
    I finally managed to make it work! I decreased the main level % down to 80%, but unfortunately I had not yet solved it, so I realized that the ibt-2 disconnected only when I had the SFX-100 turned on, and from there I understood that it was an EMI problem.
    So I shielded the cables of the potentiometer by adding adhesive aluminum film and ferrite filters, and used a USB cable always shielded with ferrite filters, and it finally seems to work great!
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Now I can use them at very high values without any problems :D
    • Like Like x 1
  12. josemanuelrm26

    josemanuelrm26 my 2dof

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    valencia
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hello I have the arduino with 1 motomonster but I don't have clari left and I'm looking for info.
    I have to change some programming on the arduino ??
    Thank you
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,728
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    108,861Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,894 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I am sorry but I don't understand your question, can you explain a little more about the problem.
  14. josemanuelrm26

    josemanuelrm26 my 2dof

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    valencia
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  15. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,728
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    108,861Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,894 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Please post all your questions and problems in your own build thread, rather than spread across multiple posts and threads, as otherwise it is far to difficult to follow or assist you.
  16. josemanuelrm26

    josemanuelrm26 my 2dof

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    valencia
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hello isn't this your thread ?? how does the
    Monster Moto Shield acts as a single motor driver = more power!
    put? if I'm not going to look for it. thanks