1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Low cost 2DOF/3DOF/6DOF motion simulator - DOF REALITY

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Radioproffi, May 23, 2016.

  1. marco balletta

    marco balletta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    185
    Balance:
    1,380Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 1 / -0
    Do you guys need 4 more weeks starting from the day you posted this reply?

    Also, will the side bars motors of the base touch the ground when swinging around ?
    In the prototype it seems that part of the rig touches the floor when doing certain movements
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2018
  2. greatg67

    greatg67 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Balance:
    387Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    I have a 4 point harness that I want to use with my racing seat. Does anyone have any recommendations on how to attach the harness to a P3 system?
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,094
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,343Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,002 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    As per my previous reply he simplest and most common way for most sims is to attach the two lap belts directly to the bottom frame and use a spring between the two shoulder straps and the bottom frame.

    But members such as @SeatTime have gone even further and created motion driven harness that loosen and tighten in response to motion: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...int-harness-on-racing-seat.12331/#post-160962
  4. greatg67

    greatg67 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Balance:
    387Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    Thanks noorbeast! I just wanted to see if anyone with the same Sim as I have had any thoughts .
  5. Andy Booth

    Andy Booth Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Balance:
    375Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I have a bad left eye and I was concerned about VR with only one good eye. I bought the Rift DK 2 probably a year and a half ago to try and it turned out to be really just not worth it. Obviously you are not going to see 3D because you are only seeing one screen. Because you are only seeing one screen, the field of view is somewhat restricted. But the biggest problem I had was there were particular screens (usually windows screens etc) that were only displayed on one side. To see what was being displayed meant taking the headset off and looking through the headset with the other eye or removing the lens altogether and peering into the headset at the tiny image on the screen. Not impossible, but for me, it just wasn't worth it.

    Things may well have improved since the DK2 and the actual game screens were usually displayed on both screens anyway, but it wasn't really worth the effort for me.

    Hasn't stopped me looking at this generation of headsets. Waiting to try out a friends Rift to see if all my issues I had with the DK2 have been resolved.

    I suggest you try before you buy. But for me, I think head tracking is a better option, especially for flight sims. Just waiting for my EdTracker to turn up.

    Andy
  6. Andy Booth

    Andy Booth Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Balance:
    375Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF

    I used ECCI 7000 force feedback wheel (Probably as heavy but not as much force) and HPI Pedals (heavier and similar forces) and I did indeed break my frame however DofReality did send me a replacement free of charge. The newer design is stronger so I doubt you will have any issues.

    Just get the rig balance right and you will be OK.

    Andy
  7. Benji85

    Benji85 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Messages:
    141
    Balance:
    765Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I have this rig and I attached lap belts to sides of seat - top of frame NOT bottom.
    I had it ties at the bottom to begin with and it felt awful when the seat rolled etc and the belt would slack and tighten .
    Worked much better when attacked to the seat as the pressure was then constant and even but I did attach the shoulder straps to the bottom non moving frame with a thick cable tie - no spring . Works great and if your strapped in properly the straps tighten (seat pitches forward)
    as you brake and it feels bloody good! ;)
    • Like Like x 1
  8. LesterCovax

    LesterCovax Mixed Reality Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Occupation:
    DevOps Docent
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Balance:
    123Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I barely see out of / use one of my eyes and had the same concerns with VR due to having issues with any 3D movie / content in the past. I don't race without my Vive now. If you have any vision in that eye at all it's insane how much benefit you get from the depth perception, let alone the immersion factor. I would at least find a friend that has one, or go to a store or something to try it out if you're still having doubts.

    The blind will rise again!
  9. LesterCovax

    LesterCovax Mixed Reality Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Occupation:
    DevOps Docent
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Balance:
    123Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Apparently my 1 minute to edit expired while appending the questions I forgot to ask in my previous comment...

    I came across the kickstarter for the 'Feel Three' motion platform today and it rekindled my need for a motion rig. Igor has been helpful when I've contacted him before but would appreciate some customer's opinions on a few things.

    1. Noise. The motors/actuators are supposed to be fairly quiet but I'm mostly concerned about the noise from the floor below. I'm worried about my downstairs neighbors having a conniption anytime I'm using it.
    2. Adjustability. Foot pedal shelf looks like it only adjusts 20-30°, so I doubt I'd be able to invert my pedals without getting a new set or an adaptor. Same thing for the wheel base shelf as I currently have a Playseat Challenge and the ability to change the angle of the wheel is pretty nice. I'm sure the stability of an H3 would make up for that though. Can I assume that as long as I have a chair on rails that I can customize it enough to my liking?
    3. Why P3 over H3? Have there been many cases of durability / performance issues with the H3 model? I'm 200lbs at my heaviest and the specs for power/torque are extremely close between the two, so is the extra 4° of movement and added power worth the extra cost? If it's just because the price differential wasn't a big deal to people, that's one thing, but I'd prefer to save a few bucks provided the H3 won't crash and burn.
    4. How easy is it to move around? I typically have my rig in front of a green screen setup but may occasionally need to move it in front of my desk. Curious if locking castors would be an option, or using furniture sliders, or if it's not hard to move by myself.
    Thanks in advance!
  10. Mousetrap

    Mousetrap New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Occupation:
    Retired EE
    Location:
    Deep North of Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    231Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    (According to FedEx) My 3P left Ukraine today (October 30) and is in France, scheduled for delivery tomorrow.
    Apparently, FedEx doesn't know that they have to wait for freeze-up before they can run the sled dog teams to deliver to northern Minnesota.
  11. LesterCovax

    LesterCovax Mixed Reality Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Occupation:
    DevOps Docent
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Balance:
    123Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Yeahhhh, you may want to contact FedEx to confirm the target address (if they'll let you) or contact Igor to make sure tracking information wasn't mixed up with a different order. I'm most impressed that they've somehow broken the space/time barrier by delivering it in the future (October 30) :p
  12. Mousetrap

    Mousetrap New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Occupation:
    Retired EE
    Location:
    Deep North of Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    231Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Oops, my mistake. Should be today (August 30). I tend to get the vowel months confused. At least I didn't say April.
  13. optical10

    optical10 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Balance:
    632Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I had a similar issue where my P3 to my UK delivery address was shipping to USA using TNT, but Igor to be fair did rectify the issue within five minutes, but you can imagine my worry!

    My main issue I think is a language issue as my previous emails asking confirmation of delivery date confirmed today (31st August) as delivery when in fact today was the shipping date, good job I didn't take the day off work especially leaving me a bit deflated but for 20th august order I shouldn't have expected it any sooner than 7th Sept as confirmed which is a good turnaround.
  14. mike523

    mike523 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    Balance:
    406Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I seem to have lost all "roll" in Assetto Corsa lately, has anyone else run into this? I've got roll on dof1 and dof2 set at 50 so I should be getting a fairly decent response. It works perfectly when doing output testing in simtools.
  15. Mousetrap

    Mousetrap New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Occupation:
    Retired EE
    Location:
    Deep North of Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    231Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Impressed:
    1. P3 arrived this afternoon. Two days ago it was in France.
    2. Extraordinary packing by DOF. My compliments to the packer.
  16. greatg67

    greatg67 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Balance:
    387Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    Got my P3 setup. Installed the sw and ran the output test. I have no movement on the Yaw (slip) or heave axis? The back motor arm is not moving at all and is stuck in the back position?
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,094
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,343Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,002 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Can you please post pictures of all of your settings.
  18. greatg67

    greatg67 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Balance:
    387Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    So, when the nP3 first powered on, the back (slip) actuator arm moved completely to the left (facing sim) causing the back of the sim to shift right. Using the default settings in Game Engine I cannot get the back actuator (slip) or heave to work?

    Attached Files:

  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,094
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,343Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,002 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The DIR being checked orange or not determines which way an axis moves and yours are all mixed up @greatg67.

    There is a link in the first post of this thread to settings for some common games: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...ject-cars-2-can-anyone-share-me-theirs.11273/

    But to get the most out of your rig you will need to learn how to develop motion profiles, as many for the DOFreality rigs have such high axis allocations that they will induce clipping, see here for the steps involved in refining a motion profile, and you do one axis at a time: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/

    Once you get the basic issue and profile sorted you can refine traction loss even further: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/traction-loss-in-simtools.175/
  20. greatg67

    greatg67 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Balance:
    387Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    That will work. But my traction loss actuator is not moving? When in game engine default settings I get no movement from this actuator. As I mentioned, when first power on, it moved to full left and hasn't moved since?