1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question Limiting Spikes in iRacing profile

Discussion in 'SimTools DIY Version' started by Michael Jeffries, Sep 11, 2019.

  1. Michael Jeffries

    Michael Jeffries Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Balance:
    392Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 4DOF
    Does anyone know how I can limit spikes when some of the more "eager" drivers slam their cars into mine.
    I dont want the rig jumping off the floor when there's a hard impact.
    How can I adjust to fix that issue in simtools?
  2. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,358Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Well not a simple task. You could use the boundary filter to tune down the maximum effective movement of each axis thereby limiting the peaks. Try that with sway and surge.
  3. Michael Jeffries

    Michael Jeffries Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Balance:
    392Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 4DOF
    If I limit the boundary wouldnt that shorten the amount it moves and there by make the spike worse? Or is that only if it's axis limited?
  4. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,358Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I use boundary with heave for example. It cuts off the max travel during larger moves only while maintaining the nuance of smaller inputs. If you limit the axis then you still get the maximums but at shorter movements.
  5. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,358Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    For example, in iRacing for heave Extra 2
    I used to run a max axis at 5% to limit the travel because I was finding that being on the grass any more axis produced huge spikes and it felt violent. But I was losing fidelity with smaller movements.
    I ended up going with 100% axis and adding a boundary of 10 instead. Much better, lots of subtle details but none of the major spikes at the high end.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. Michael Jeffries

    Michael Jeffries Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Balance:
    392Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 4DOF
    I get it now. Thanks ill play with it.
  7. baxbax

    baxbax New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    49Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Hi,
    could you put an image , about, this configuration? I don't understand, where you inserted this settings?
    Thanks in advance
    Marco
  8. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,358Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Yes for sure a bit later when I get a chance.

    What does your motion rig look like?
    Did you see mine?
  9. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,358Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  10. baxbax

    baxbax New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    49Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Thank you very much , for these informations.
    This evening I will try.

    You did a fantastic job, with your sim! Very professional!
    Mine is a 2DOF very artigianal.
    Is it a your project?

    Bye
    Marco
  11. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,358Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Thank you, yes it is my project.