1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question iRacing weak pitch

Discussion in 'iRacing' started by leonard, Nov 14, 2017.

  1. leonard

    leonard New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Norway
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Hello,

    I was wondering if there are other people experiencing an overal weak iracing movements compared to AC or PC1/2 etc...
    My biggest complain is the pitch. All my other dofs are set to 60 and 40 for traction loss but the pitch i have to go all the way to 150. Dont know if thats safe but at least is starts to communicate weight transfer to me when braking/accelerating.
    I have all my axis set to 80% max for safety. Using SNC6 for a 3 dof setup.
    I will also take the chance to ask about the possibility that mapping more than 3 dof might disturb the main ones. I have a bit of heave for example.
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,143
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,999Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,337 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    For acceleration and braking you should be setting surge, not pitch.
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2017
  3. leonard

    leonard New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Norway
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    I know acceleration and braking are surge motions but thought the result i should be looking for is the pitch angle. I will try surge. Thanks for your quick answer.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Brett Horton

    Brett Horton Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    289
    Occupation:
    UAS Manager / Pilot / Integration Specialist
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Balance:
    - 12Coins
    Ratings:
    +191 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    Agree with Norbeast, while you feel a slight nose down in Pitch under deceleration, the movement would be very limited (as you describe) due to the pitch angle only being very minor from the cars suspension compressing on the front end.
  5. leonard

    leonard New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Norway
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Yes surge made a difference. I cranked it up to 140 and the result is something I can work with. I think I understand better what surge is to simtools. Since my 3dof is incapable of the surge motion, my idea to put some values there was just arbitrary. I didnt know simtools takes those as inputs and outputs them in pitch. I can assume that, if I want more roll when turning, I should also adjust the sway. Thanks again.
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,143
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,999Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,337 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Sway leans away from a corner and roll is set opposite to that.
  7. leonard

    leonard New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Norway
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    What do you mean with roll being sett opposite to that? Isnt that more dependent of the surface angle of the corner. If a corner surface is angled opposite to oval corners, sway and roll should work together. I know this is not the case for most corners but trying to better understand how this is mapped. If a corner surface is lets say neutral, then the g forces applied on the car results in roll which result in leaning away from the corner. To my understanding so far, roll and sway work in the same direction. Now I am confused :)
  8. Brett Horton

    Brett Horton Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    289
    Occupation:
    UAS Manager / Pilot / Integration Specialist
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Balance:
    - 12Coins
    Ratings:
    +191 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    In a flat left hand turn, assuming the car stays perfectly flat, there will be zero roll, but right hand sway.
    In a normal banked left hand turn, with no sway (not normal) the car would roll left (into the turn) add sway to this and the Sim will sway right assuming g forces are greater than the affect of the roll. Sway is a G effect....
    In a very slow left hand turn in a normal banked turn, you sitting in your sim would indeed, feel the left hand roll. Speed up in the same turn, sway starts to be prevalent and you will feel the right hand sway and no left roll....
    Ok... I'm babbling at this point
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,143
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,999Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,337 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    SimTools mixes the allocations for each axis/force on the fly, this is how SimTools expects configuration: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/which-way-to-set-simtool-axis-movements.230/
  10. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,897Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,221 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    roll does not work properly with sway. choose one.