1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules
value1

iRacing Plugin 2.0.3.2

SimTools game plugin for iRacing

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,085
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,171Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,992 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It may need an update, if iRacing devs have changed something. Is there a error message and if so please post it.
  2. nclabs

    nclabs Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Balance:
    547Coins
    Ratings:
    +143 / 0 / -0
    Ok man, I'll do a screenshot next time it will happen (not always it seems). Last thing, they added bass shaker support. I wanted to use the rumble streed effect but in simvibe is not showing up. That would be a nice effect to add. Cheers!
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,085
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,171Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,992 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Hopefully @value1 can have a look when he has time, and may be able to check if the rumble streed effect can be supported in Game Vibe.
  4. nclabs

    nclabs Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Balance:
    547Coins
    Ratings:
    +143 / 0 / -0
    This is the error I get

    Attached Files:

  5. MrJack

    MrJack New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    139Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    I have had this message for a very long time and not since the last update ;)

    I have to launch Iracing, without Simtools, close Iracing, launch Simtools and then Iracing.
    Like that, I don't have the error message.
    • Informative Informative x 2
  6. samaha

    samaha New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    22Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    hi all, maybe someone can help me. I get no gear data from iracing. the other datas working fine.. anyone an idea what I make wrong ?

    thanks in advance

    samaha

    Attached Files:

  7. samaha

    samaha New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    22Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    is there nobody who use this plugin with iRacing??
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,085
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,171Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,992 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    That is something @value1 will need to have a look at, when he has a spare moment.
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2020
  9. CdnSimRacer

    CdnSimRacer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    497Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform
    @yobuddy I just downloaded simtools and upgraded to pro for gamevibe. I am not seeing a "gear shift" specifically to tune for iracing.

    Any help would be appreciated.
  10. CdnSimRacer

    CdnSimRacer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    497Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform
    @yobuddy any update? Thanks
  11. upracerr

    upracerr New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    - 242Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 6DOF
    hi, sometimes i get this message also, but not every time. alsö on different systems. but only in iracing. Hopefully we find a solution....
  12. Globespy

    Globespy Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Messages:
    67
    Balance:
    545Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I have a question on the DOF options.
    3DOF PT 150mm actuators.

    I'm trying to find a solution to undesirable motion effects in VR - important to know that I race 100% in VR so perhaps this is not problem that can be solved, but worth asking.

    I'm pretty much unable to use Pitch as it acts in many ways similar to Surge, with the exception that you have to be accelerating/braking for the same things to be felt in the Surge effect. With Pitch, these odd effects just happen.
    Note I am using Surge at 12% with 9 smoothing filter and 9/-9 in Tuning Center - pretty low values by most standards.

    I'll try to explain:
    Let's say I go to a track that has lots of elevation changes , specifically a 'valley' on a race track where the car goes down the hill, then flattens, then back up the hill.
    With every other DOF parameter turned off, and only Pitch enabled, what can be noticed is that as I'm going down the hill, despite not moving whatsoever in my cockpit, my 'virtual body' will move several inches up and forwards - easy way to see this is picking a focal point feature of the car interior (LED RPM strip on the dash above the wheel works) and watch how more of this feature comes into view from behind the steering wheel as the car goes down the hill, the virtual body moving forwards and up.
    If I look down towards my lap in VR, I can see that it's moved quite far back and my virtual stomach/chest area is now more in line with where the back of the my cockpit seat might be, just to demonstrate how much this moves.
    Then the car flattens out and begins to slowly go up the hill, and now my virtual body moves forwards and arms seeming to stretch multiple inches away from me, and a feeling of 'sinking' into the road surface.

    In a real car you would be strapped in with a tight 6-point harness that would not allow your body to move around independent of the car's motion. You would have the sensation of going up and down hills/elevation changes, but you would not be rising and falling in your seat, nor having your body/head move back and forwards multiple inches - a seat belt harness would not allow this.
    In simulation you should still feel your cockpit pitch forwards/back as you go down/up a hill, but it should not slide forwards and backwards, also rising higher and sinking lower.

    Pitch is an important effect as it helps me understand how the suspension compresses and relaxes during elevation changes, but the way it is perceived in VR is very unnatural feeling as it's quite clear that the virtual driver in VR is not in any way attached to the car and is moving as a separate object.

    Perhaps this is just an unfixable problem in VR, which would be a shame as pitch is a valuable effect.
    For now I have to use values so low that it begs the question "why even bother using Pitch"?

    Hopefully there's a solution to this - seems to be a similar problem regarding the original 'Heave' effect that was changed to Extra2-Heave-1 which removed gravity from the effect, thus allowing the driver's body to remain locked to the car, just like sitting in a real car's seat, strapped in tightly.
    That seems to makes sense to me - the effects of the motion rig pitching forwards and backwards as the car goes up and down hills should be felt, but not from the perspective of a virtual body/head/eyes that are not locked to the motion of the car, creating a very odd sensation that you will find very off-putting if you have ever driven a sports car at a real racetrack.

    Appreciate any insights and advice - maybe this plugin could be re-written to achieve a natural effect that mimics real world driving?

    Thanks.
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,085
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,171Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,992 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  14. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    273
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,496Coins
    Ratings:
    +158 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Go to iRacing options screen.

    Believe it's the first screen where you can adjust sliders dedicated to horizon etc. There are two specific to movement horizontal and vertical. Set them both to 100 I believe. That will eliminate the in game movement.
  15. Globespy

    Globespy Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Messages:
    67
    Balance:
    545Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Pretty sure the sliders you mention are only relevant for racing on monitors and make no difference in VR.
    I've read some use a plugin 'Motion Compensation' which is only available if you use Steam OpenVR - I use Oculus, and I know that Oculus can use SteamVR, but it's not as optimized as OculusVR and performance suffers.
    Last time I checked, the motion compensation plugin that SteamVR users used was blurry or had issues with the image looking like a 'fish eye' type lens when ran on Oculus.
    Also, with more HMD's moving away from external tracking (Lighthouses, sensors), the future of this plugin may be shorter than hoped as there seems to be inherent issues with inside-out tracking that will soon be the standard.
    Thanks for the suggestions.
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2020 at 18:17
  16. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    273
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,496Coins
    Ratings:
    +158 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Those sliders do work in VR. I run VR

    If set to full I don't get any perceived movement in cockpit when the car pitches. If you have a black box or something on screen you can see it stays put in place. With the sliders down you can notice them moving up and down.

    Try it. If I'm understanding you correctly this will help.
  17. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    273
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,496Coins
    Ratings:
    +158 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    It's the pitch and roll sliders. I just saw a screen shot.
  18. Globespy

    Globespy Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Messages:
    67
    Balance:
    545Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Thank you, I will test this out.
  19. Globespy

    Globespy Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Messages:
    67
    Balance:
    545Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Pitch slider off makes things a lot worse. It's best left at default setting.
    Roll slider doesn't do anything that I can notice.
    I've just had to accept that I can't really use pitch, at least it doesn't feel at all right for me to have it more than barely noticeable (5%)
  20. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    273
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,496Coins
    Ratings:
    +158 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    It has to be all the way to the right. 100%