1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Inside-out tracking Workaround

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by El_Batallitas, Mar 16, 2019.

  1. El_Batallitas

    El_Batallitas New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    168Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Future VR headsets will have inside-out tracking which is not suitable for motion sims at first. I was thinking for a possible solution and I just came to this stupid idea: to create a body for the sim using cardboards.
    The sensors will detect walls and a ceiling, but those will be traveling with the sim. That should do the trick.

    This would open to a new world of customization, there is no limits to create a cool body for the sim, (does not necessary has to be cardboards) it could also have cool ventilation system and all...

    What do you think? is there some user with inside-out tracking system that could try this out? :)

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,861Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,813 / 32 / -1
    Maybe if you paint a checkerboard pattern or something on the cardboard it would work. From Microsoft:

    The product has been designed to work in normal environments. Consider the following thought experiment - if you were in a completely blank room (white walls, white ceiling, white floor) then the tracking system would find no features to track and would fail. If you were in a room that was covered in art work and decoration, then the tracking system would find many features to track and would work well. For the most part, typically decorated homes and offices have been demonstrated to have sufficient feature detail to track well.
  4. ACTIVE-GAME

    ACTIVE-GAME Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Balance:
    216Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, SCN5, SCN6, SimAxe, Motion platform, 4DOF

    The guys have a lot easier solution to your problem:
    1 - For the oculus - before starting the program of the oculus, simply close the sensors with any objects or unscrew them into the wall.
    2 - For HTC Vive - you need to buy and install an additional tracker on the simulator.
    3 - For Windows mixed reality - turn off seconds in settings.
  5. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,861Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,813 / 32 / -1
    I can't find this in Window mixed reality settings. Can you provide more details?
  6. ACTIVE-GAME

    ACTIVE-GAME Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Balance:
    216Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, SCN5, SCN6, SimAxe, Motion platform, 4DOF


    just turn off borders in settings
  7. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,861Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,813 / 32 / -1
    Okay thanks. I was looking in windows settings under mixed reality. I'm already running without borders.
  8. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,567
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    20,002Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,370 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    What ????
  9. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,866Coins
    Ratings:
    +597 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    Thats the worst response I have read in a while.
  10. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,567
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    20,002Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,370 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF

    This is exactly what I was going to try when I got my Odyssey, and I have got my Odyssey and it works although it is very primitive how I have done it just to test. I am getting some sticky chequered vinyl which I will wrap round my platform with a couple of boards in front, hopefully it will work ok.
    • Like Like x 1
  11. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,567
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    20,002Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,370 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I think it may work if you enclose the whole rig, I couldn't get it to work right well I'm afraid after more testing. However it works great with a controler on the rig but vibrations and jerking becomes a serious issue. I will post a seperate thread for help :)
    • Like Like x 1
  12. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,861Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,813 / 32 / -1
  13. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    4,829Coins
    Ratings:
    +329 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Aren't these solutions (not including proper compensation with a controller or tracker on the platform) only going to correct the positional tracking? As far as I know rotational tracking* is by IMU on all these headsets, no?

    Pitch and roll I think are 100% IMU, yaw I think is IMU with drift correction via the optical tracking.
  14. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,567
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    20,002Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,370 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yeah I tried it and it was terrible , it deffo does not work
    • Like Like x 1
  15. prime97

    prime97 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Balance:
    81Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Using an HP Reverb (inside-out tracking), I tried building a cardboard enclosure on my motion platform with various stripes on the inside of the cardboard for the headset camera to pick up. It was a big failure. The picture would jump and if I was driving around a corner then some of the jumps would put the horizontal at a sickening angle - I had to stop after less than 10 seconds. It gave the impression that the tracking system was seriously struggling to work out the orientation. It would seem that the gyros in the headset were outvoting the camera inputs. For this to work, the gyros would need to be disabled so that only the cameras are used.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. Phlames

    Phlames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    37
    Balance:
    282Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    why cant a program just use the telemetry data to move the play space. that sounds like the easiest thing to do and it would work with every headset no matter what type of tracking you are using, light house, camera or inside out. Why wouldnt that just be what people make to work it seems like it shouldnt be to hard to make ( im not a programmer so sorry if it is). but maybe it just sounds easy and its really more complex than that. I do remember someone saying that oculus wont just let you change the floor or something like that maybe thats why its so hard to do and in that case you would think that the manufactures of each headset would make there own version of motion compensation being that the sim world spends so much money in this field.
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,332
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,763Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,081 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    In effect that is what motion cancellation does, moves the HMD view to account for and offset the rig movement, but it is not easy to do in low latency real time in a robust and cost effective manner. At the moment the approach to cover robust and cost effectiveness is via utilisation of Lighthouse tracking, here is the member driven efforts: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/openvr-motioncompensation.14576/
  18. Phlames

    Phlames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    37
    Balance:
    282Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Thanks for the links i know about the light house tracking as that is what I currently have and will be using. I was just speaking more about getting it to be fully working with inside out tracking mainly.
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,332
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,763Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,081 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    No problem. Those working on motion cancellation are aware of the interest in conquering inside out tracking as well, but for now Lighthouse is the easiest supported way to go.
  20. Dschadu

    Dschadu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    513Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 1 / -0
    Every SteamVR supported device works with motion compensation.
    The issue is the tracking itself. If the HMD tracking does not work reliable on its own, no software can compensate that.
    The tracking has to work on its own in the desired environment. If this works, you can start adding additional layers to it, like motion compensation. But if the tracking is wonky out of the box, there is no way to adjust for that in software.
    • Informative Informative x 1