1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

[in progress] Reincarnation. Static SimRig in 2DOF

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by redford 77, Oct 3, 2020.

  1. redford 77

    redford 77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Occupation:
    Technologyst of fiberglass
    Location:
    Ukraine Kharkov
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    thanks for the answer, I'll try it at work in the evening
    I just thought, could this be related to the settings of the smc3 utility, when I run a test or a game from the motors there is a sound, as if there is not enough current or power, what should be the default settings in the sms3 utility?
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,804
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,446Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,228 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  3. Skuldi

    Skuldi New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Germany NRW
    Balance:
    95Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    looks a little bit like you have [A <Axis1a_>]_[B <Axis2a_>] instead of [A <Axis1a>][B <Axis2a>] in your simtools settings.
    i don't know if that would cause a problem..
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2020
  4. redford 77

    redford 77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Occupation:
    Technologyst of fiberglass
    Location:
    Ukraine Kharkov
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    FINALLY WORKS the problem was in conflict with Simtools and SimHub, I turned off Simhub and the output tests and the LFS game works well.......)))))))))
    • Like Like x 1
  5. redford 77

    redford 77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Occupation:
    Technologyst of fiberglass
    Location:
    Ukraine Kharkov
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I recorded a video of simtools work, but there is one problem in the place with the wiper motors, my steering wheel FFB on STM32 (ebolzmagy soft) also makes small movements, how to fix it, does anyone know ??
  6. redford 77

    redford 77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Occupation:
    Technologyst of fiberglass
    Location:
    Ukraine Kharkov
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I painted the lower part of the platform today and started making the levers of the motors ...
    IMG_20201024_145403.jpg IMG_20201024_145441.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  7. redford 77

    redford 77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Occupation:
    Technologyst of fiberglass
    Location:
    Ukraine Kharkov
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Today I tested the power supply for my 2dof, the manufacturer indicated that 2 lines of 12 volts can withstand a load of 20a, it turned out that at 6-7a the power supply goes into protection and does not even withstand 50% of the power of the wiper motors.
    never buy this china shit from this manufacturer ....
    IMG_20201028_191813.jpg

    this power supply is only suitable as a box for my arduino ..)))
    IMG_20201028_191748.jpg
  8. redford 77

    redford 77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Occupation:
    Technologyst of fiberglass
    Location:
    Ukraine Kharkov
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I finished welding the lower part, it remains only to weld my simrig to this platform and connect the motors..
    IMG_20201028_174411.jpg IMG_20201028_174421.jpg
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,804
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,446Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,228 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It is frustrating when specs are fudged by manufacturers.

    LED PSUs or modifying server PSUs are generally the two cheapest options: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...ver-power-supplies-as-cheap-powerful-psus.54/

    As our rigs tend to have significant power load spikes I personally prefer a PSU per motor.
  10. redford 77

    redford 77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Occupation:
    Technologyst of fiberglass
    Location:
    Ukraine Kharkov
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I began to assemble the structure, but I had to rebuild
    some parts because there was not enough strength,

    I had to add additional fasteners to the lever behind the back, and I added extensions to the motor fasteners
    IMG_20201030_091019.jpg
    IMG_20201031_124909.jpg
    IMG_20201031_131405.jpg
    IMG_20201031_133551.jpg
  11. redford 77

    redford 77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Occupation:
    Technologyst of fiberglass
    Location:
    Ukraine Kharkov
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    made the levers of the motors like the racingmat 65mm between the centers
    IMG_20201031_124849.jpg
  12. redford 77

    redford 77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Occupation:
    Technologyst of fiberglass
    Location:
    Ukraine Kharkov
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Finally I finished welding the entire frame, was busy at work and had very little free time.
    I had to rebuild a lot in the upper frame, removed the excess metal from the front of almost 5 kilograms and added the ability to accurately adjust the pedals and seat to find the weight balance for the driver with different weights
    IMG_20201114_115845.jpg IMG_20201114_115900.jpg IMG_20201114_115907.jpg
    This weekend I'll finally start assembling
    • Like Like x 1
  13. redford 77

    redford 77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Occupation:
    Technologyst of fiberglass
    Location:
    Ukraine Kharkov
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I forgot to mention an important point, this is the weight of the structure
    -upper frame 22-23 kg.
    - seat 12 kg.
    - steering wheel, pedals, gearbox, handbrake, bass shaker another 15 kg.
    Total about 50-55 kg. plus the driver's weight is 90 kg.
    It turns out a very heavy structure, it will probably be difficult for the wiper motors, I worry that the plastic gears will not work for a long time
  14. redford 77

    redford 77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Occupation:
    Technologyst of fiberglass
    Location:
    Ukraine Kharkov
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Finally, I put everything together, but as always, there were some difficulties, because of the heavy weight, the platform could not even hold its weight, I had to change the CTC lenght from 65mm to 45mm, now everything is fine.
    IMG_20201122_185639.jpg IMG_20201122_185537.jpg IMG_20201122_185526.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  15. redford 77

    redford 77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Occupation:
    Technologyst of fiberglass
    Location:
    Ukraine Kharkov
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Tomorrow a power supply unit for 30A arrives, I hope this will be enough, Everything can be connected to electronics ...
    I will send an application for a free license, I hope there will be no problems with this ..
  16. redford 77

    redford 77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Occupation:
    Technologyst of fiberglass
    Location:
    Ukraine Kharkov
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Finally, we received a power supply, 2 lines of 16a each, I hope this will be enough.
    Conducted tests on 18a, the protection is triggered, which means the unit is truly delivering its power.
    I can't wait to test the platform in the game ..))
    IMG_20201124_203247.jpg IMG_20201124_203215.jpg
  17. redford 77

    redford 77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Occupation:
    Technologyst of fiberglass
    Location:
    Ukraine Kharkov
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yesterday I got a free diy license.)) I want to thank everyone for their support and help in creating my project. Today I want to come home early from work in order to start testing the entire system as soon as possible, respectively, I will shoot a video of how everything works, thanks again to this community, I am glad that I am a part of this and I hope that my advice will also help someone in their work ..
    • Winner Winner x 1
  18. redford 77

    redford 77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Occupation:
    Technologyst of fiberglass
    Location:
    Ukraine Kharkov
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hello everybody, Need help, I got the system up and running and I have more questions than expected. The first is what power of the power supply unit is needed for two wiper motors?
    - I have two power supplies of 16A for each motor and I do not have enough, for the power supply it goes into protection at PWmax 150
  19. redford 77

    redford 77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Occupation:
    Technologyst of fiberglass
    Location:
    Ukraine Kharkov
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Second question
    - why do I set the center of the motors in smc3, and when I turn on simtools my center changes and the chair becomes sideways, how can I set the center in the simtools program?
  20. redford 77

    redford 77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Occupation:
    Technologyst of fiberglass
    Location:
    Ukraine Kharkov
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Which axle setting should I use?
    if I put Sway and Surgey, then there is some kind of hoatic twitching of the chair that has nothing to do with what is happening in the game
    if I put Roll and Pitch, then everything is a little better, but still there are no those movements that should be, for example, when accelerating, I have to lean back when braking forward
    please tell me how to set up?