1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

[in progress] Reincarnation. Static SimRig in 2DOF

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by redford 77, Oct 3, 2020.

  1. redford 77

    redford 77 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    113Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hello everyone
    First of all I want to say that I am very glad that I have found such a community that brings together so many interesting people who are united by the same interests, each has his own knowledge and experience.
    IMG_20200920_134738.jpg So I want to share my ideas and experience, maybe it will be useful to someone.


    IMG_20200920_134651.jpg
    About a year ago, I decided to build a cockpit, my friend, upon learning about the project, gave me a sparco seat from his drift machine, I used a 20 * 40 pipe, welded everything without drawings - constantly making fittings in place, then I already had a steering wheel with a force fedback which was made according to the ebolzmagy scheme, I used a stm32 motor from an electric scooter my6812 120w various gears and belts from a power tool, the body is made of aluminum
    IMG_20200920_134430.jpg IMG_20200920_134525.jpg IMG_20200920_134506.jpg
    The pedal unit is a sequential gearbox and a handbrake are also made by me all the ideas I looked for on the Internet from various people,
    IMG_20200920_134608.jpg IMG_20200920_134629.jpg
    was also installed budget triplescreen consisting of a main 25 and two side 19 in a portrait position
    IMG_20201002_145343.jpg IMG_20200920_134707.jpg

    Now I started building a 2dof system, thanks to your community, I have a huge number of ideas for building and implementing my project, I will lay out my steps for converting my static simrig into a dynamic platform, yesterday I started the first steps to my 2dof system
    IMG_20201002_104319.jpg IMG_20200918_093423.jpg IMG_20201002_115217.jpg IMG_20200922_075552.jpg IMG_20201002_115247.jpg IMG_20201002_115230.jpg

    now I will lay out all the steps that I will take in this project
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,538
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    113,922Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,125 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  4. redford 77

    redford 77 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    113Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Today I took the electronics at the post office, for my project and some other spare parts.
    IMG_20201005_091907.jpg IMG_20201005_091846.jpg IMG_20201005_091856.jpg IMG_20201005_091924.jpg
    As a power source I will use a 500-watt computer power supply with a powerful 12-volt line.
    IMG_20201005_092011.jpg IMG_20201005_092039.jpg
    I also welded a few more elements to the frame.
    IMG_20201004_141501.jpg IMG_20201004_141516.jpg
    I can’t calculate how long the gimbal IMG_20201004_125858.jpg
    should be at me now 30 centimeters, in my opinion this is a lot, I think to do 20, what can you say?
  5. redford 77

    redford 77 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    113Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Finally, there is time to continue my project
    today I soldered all the electronics, in arduino I used the code from the "racing mat"
    IMG_20201010_094503.jpg IMG_20201010_094526.jpg IMG_20201010_094532.jpg IMG_20201010_094543.jpg
    immediately decided to conduct tests, but nothing happened - the motors did not spin, there was no reaction to the rotation of the potentiometers
    IMG_20201016_083958.jpg
    First failure, I will look for a problem.))) !! ???
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,538
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    113,922Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,125 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Did you test the MMs: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/monster-moto-testing-before-use.158/
  7. redford 77

    redford 77 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    113Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    No, I bought MM from a trusted seller who assured me that it was 100% working fee, I decided that the problem was in arduino, first I rebooted smc3 1.01 and immediately the left motor started working, the right one continued to be silent, I downloaded the code from the racing mat again and that's it working ))
    but i have questions
    1 - the motors do not stop in the middle of the rotation of the potentiometers about 80\20
    2- left motor rotates twice slowly and multimeter shows only 6 volts ??
    why so and how to adjust the position of the potentiometers ????
    can i setup or tune this
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2020
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,538
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    113,922Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,125 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I am confused, you mention using SMC3 code, then @RacingMat's code.

    For SMC3 make sure the pots are connected to the motor and you can use the handy configuration app to center the pots and set the clip limits.

    If you are showing 6V then test the MM.
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2020
  9. redford 77

    redford 77 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    113Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    i first loaded smc3 the right motor didn't work at all, then loaded the racing mat, right motor works well
    , left motor in one direction 12 volts, and in the other 6
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2020
  10. redford 77

    redford 77 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    113Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yesterday I was looking for the reason for the incorrect operation of MM all day, apparently the reason is in MM itself, one motor refuses to work normally, then it sharply changes direction, then it turns slower in one direction. I will buy IBT-2 BTS7960, I'm very sorry for the time spent now again wait until the spare parts arrive)))
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. redford 77

    redford 77 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    113Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Today I bought 2 pieces of IBT-2 BTS7960, installed smc3 -code2, smc utility, performed all tests without installing sim tools, everything works well, now i need to download a demo version and connect the motors with installed potentiometers and conduct tests in simtools IMG_20201019_154759.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  12. physke

    physke New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Occupation:
    IT & Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Tauranga, New Zealand
    Balance:
    128Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Noticed you're working on carpet - walking/moving around on carpet can generate static electricity which can damage and/or kill electronic components (mainly IC's). You're better off working on a wooden surface and discharge yourself to a earthed connection before working with static sensitive devices. Earthed anti-static mats are also handy.
  13. redford 77

    redford 77 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    113Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thanks, important note, I didn't think about it
  14. redford 77

    redford 77 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    113Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Tests passed today, wiper motor from BMW e46 , Arduino UNO + SMC3 & BTS7960 * 2
    • Like Like x 2
  15. redford 77

    redford 77 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    113Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Help, what am I doing wrong, I installed simtools, installed the LFS plugin, telemetry works, but Simtools does not transmit a signal to the Arduino, in test or game mode, test with SMC3 fine , everything works well, but with Simtools the test is nothing? I turn on LFS telemetry is running but the motors do not move as if there is no connection between the computer and the Arduino
    com port.png sim1.png sim2.png sim2(1).png
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,538
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    113,922Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,125 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  17. redford 77

    redford 77 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    113Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
  18. redford 77

    redford 77 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    113Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    in what order to launch,
    -sim tools first and then LFS ,or it doesn't matter
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,538
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    113,922Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,125 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Have SimTools running then launch LFS.

    Dies Output Testing work as expected?
  20. redford 77

    redford 77 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    113Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    No, I do output test ,but nothing to move
  21. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,538
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    113,922Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,125 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK