1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom IL2 Sim on 2 Dof

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by xmcnodx, Nov 30, 2021.

  1. Skuldi

    Skuldi Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Germany NRW
    Balance:
    259Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    can´t watch the video "Video Unavailable".
    when you can manipulate the green line from both motors in SMC, the error must be somewhere else.
    My guess:
    -you did the wiring between arduino and monsters schield wrong or the cables have a bad connection.
    -the motor shield is broken
    -the motor is broken

    EDIT: there is a led on both outputs on the motor shield. when the motor shield tries to give an output that leds should shine.
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2022
  2. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    97
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I checked the wiring with a meter today.
    All soldered joints are OK Arduino and SMC3 communication is also OK.
    Arduino and SMC3 have been displaced according to @eaorobbie's plan.

    Attached Files:

  3. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    97
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I also bought a multimeter.

    Attached Files:

  4. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    97
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    When measuring SCM3, 12 volts are present but no output.
    LED is always lit with 0 volts on both outputs, I suspect the SMC is defective, unfortunately it is one from sparkfun.com.
  5. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    97
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    SCM

    Attached Files:

    • SMC.jpg
      SMC.jpg
      File size:
      203.1 KB
      Views:
      42
    • SMC.jpg
      SMC.jpg
      File size:
      203.1 KB
      Views:
      34
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,303
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    131,168Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,158 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  7. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    97
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    so have the MMs neu verdrate according to plan more power, at the beginning I had zero volts at both ausgenge A1 A2 or B1 B2, after several attempts and prüfüngen I wanted to stop further,
    but then after switching off the SMC3 Uti. program, an LED lit up for a short time.
    So I put my voltage back on and look, at both outputs 11.85 volts test motor is connected and it starts to turn until I turn the potentiometer, at the output A1-A2 it can be fast but when turning back the potentiometer the motor stops and does not start anymore, I have to switch off the SMC3 Uti. program and restart it. I have to switch off the program SMC3 Uti. and restart it then the motor turns fully on, I change to B1-B2 the motor turns when I turn the potentiometer full power to the right and when I turn back the potentiometer it turns to the left which it does not do at A1-A2, but I have to switch on and off the SMC3 program again and again otherwise nothing works, I have made a couple of pictures and attach them.
    Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)
  8. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    97
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    after rewiring, Podi test

    Attached Files:

  9. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    97
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Tension applied and measurement

    Attached Files:

  10. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    97
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    After switching off the SMC3 programme
    LED lights up from motor output

    Attached Files:

  11. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    97
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    after the test of @SilentChill with multimeter
    could determine that the MMs is defective because A1-A2 can not be controlled with the Podi
  12. Skuldi

    Skuldi Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Germany NRW
    Balance:
    259Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    if the green line is exactly on the blue line the motor will stop. if you cross that line, the motor will change direction.
    if you cross the red line, the motor turn off and you have to bring the green line back between the red lines and click on "off" to turn the motors back on.
    The blue line is the position your motor tries to get
    The red line is emergency shutdown to prevent your rig from getting damaged.
    If the motor runs wild on A , you need to swap + und - .
  13. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    97
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    it does exactly as you described it stops at the blue line and it also changes the rotation
    and at the red line it turns off and when I turn the podi back and press on it turns on again
  14. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    97
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    how do i get the connection with simtools now?
    have turned everything on and run the game LVS but nothing happens
  15. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    97
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    does anyone have a wiring diagram on how to connect 2 motors?
  16. Skuldi

    Skuldi Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Germany NRW
    Balance:
    259Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    [​IMG]

    change "comport" to the one your arduino uses. you should connect the potentiometer with the motor first or it will spin endless in one direction, like it does now.

    with a different motor driver?

    Attached Files:

  17. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    97
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    have taken over your data, Aduino and SMC both switched to com 1 in simtools com 1 set unfortunately no movement
  18. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    97
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    have read that with LFS you have to run a race in first person mode before you can patch it for movement.
    as this generates some required files
    did the race and patched LFS also nothing
  19. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    97
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  20. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    97
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino