1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom IL2 Sim on 2 Dof

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by xmcnodx, Nov 30, 2021.

  1. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    56
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    196Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello everyone, I'm new here and I'm trying to build a 2Dof Sim,
    Unfortunately my English is translated as I don't know, I'm not bad at tinkering, but I struggle with electronics and Arduino, but I hope for a good success with your support
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 30, 2021
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    56
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    196Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    In order to realize my project, I started buying the necessary materials.
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 30, 2021
  4. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    56
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    196Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yesterday came Arduino uno R3

    Attached Files:

  5. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    56
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    196Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yesterday also the ordered potentiometers arrived 10K

    Attached Files:

  6. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    56
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    196Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    tomorrow i expect the rest of my delivery and will post it, i am already looking forward to the construction.
  7. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    56
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    196Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    To realise my project I started to buy the necessary materials.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
  8. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    56
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    196Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    DHL arrived early and another part arrived, the most expensive part so far and difficult to find the universal joint, and the connecting cables as well as the VNH2SP30 board.
  9. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    56
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    196Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    At the weekend I will try the cable and a test engine to see if it works, I hope so.

    Attached Files:

  10. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    56
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    196Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    what an unexpected turn of events, my son gives me his
    gamer chair.
    I accept it with pleasure and a big conversion awaits me to turn it into a flight simulator.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
  11. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    56
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    196Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Help when I transfer code to Arduino I get this error message.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 3, 2021
  12. Skuldi

    Skuldi Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Germany NRW
    Balance:
    197Coins
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
  13. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    56
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    196Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello Skuldi thank you I have installed it on Arduino and no error message came, now I can continue, thank you again,
  14. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    56
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    196Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Today I prepared the displacement to carry out a test, but unfortunately there was no movement on the motor.

    Attached Files:

  15. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    56
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    196Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    have taken over all settings from @RufusDufus
    I also noted that Arduino Com3 and SMC3Ut. is also on Com3.

    Attached Files:

    • SMC3.jpg
      SMC3.jpg
      File size:
      274.5 KB
      Views:
      12
  16. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    56
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    196Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I have applied all the settings as described. What I have noticed is that when I move the potentiometers of motor 1 or 2, the green lines move but the motor does not.

    Attached Files:

  17. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    56
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    196Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I add a few pictures of my settings

    Attached Files:

  18. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    56
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    196Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Where could my error be that the test engine does not move, of course the engine was checked for function.
    Please help.
  19. Skuldi

    Skuldi Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Germany NRW
    Balance:
    197Coins
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    something between the arduino and the monster shield. the monster shields are cheap and often broken. did you try the other side (B1/B2)? can you test with a multimeter?

    for the future: if you want to use your seat for flying i would suggest FlyPT instead of Simtools.
    Its a little harder to set up but you get some nice features like different profiles for on ground and in air.
  20. xmcnodx

    xmcnodx IL2 Sim with 2Dof

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    56
    Occupation:
    Schmelzer
    Location:
    Zirndorf Deutschland
    Balance:
    196Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  21. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,543
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    126,408Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,886 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    First test the MM, as @Skuldi notes they are often faulty: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/monster-moto-testing-before-use.158/

    Make sure the pots are connected to the motors, as the pots provide positional feedback.

    Don't just copy settings, follow the SMC3 setup instructions to dial in the settings for your hardware: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...3dof-motor-driver-and-windows-utilities.4957/

    Don't bother messing with SimTools until SNC3 is fully sorted and working as expected.