1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

HP Reverb G2 to be sold on Steam

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by noorbeast, Apr 25, 2020.

  1. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    278Coins
    Ratings:
    +119 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    pre order mine oct,20.
    shippment only in decembr, and bad news for no USA buyers, because HP dont sent any g2 for other countrys this year.
  2. Doon1

    Doon1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Balance:
    357Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    But it won't work with a motion platform. Correct?
  3. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    278Coins
    Ratings:
    +119 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Of course It Works !
  4. Doon1

    Doon1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Balance:
    357Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    I was under the impression that there was no working motion cancelation software that is working with WMR inside-out motion tracking. Has this limitation been overcome? I still have all the parts for the motion platform I was building when I switched to WMR. I've gotten a little burned out building UH-1H collectives for people. A new project would be welcomed.
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2020
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,074
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    117,266Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,376 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    OpenVR supported devices lists the Reverb with WMR controller as working: https://ovrmc.dschadu.de/en/testeddevices
  6. Doon1

    Doon1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Balance:
    357Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Hi noorbeast,
    Cool reading this, "If you device or your combination is not listed, don't worry: Every devices that is recognized by SteamVR will work." This sound promising. So this should work with an O+.
    Can you suggest some threads that talk about the pros and cons between a physical tracker and a virtual one? Do you have a recommendations at to what is the better solution? Is there a build thread of the physical tracker system somewhere?
    I went out to the garage and dug out the motion "stuff". Almost sold the 24 volt motors when I saw they were bringing $500 a pair used on eBay. Glad I didn't now.
    Thanks
    John
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,074
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    117,266Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,376 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Personally I consider Lighthouse based tracking to be the gold standard, but tracking is only part of the package and other things such as HMD resolution and cost come into play.

    Check out the OpenVR thread for a diversity of views and experiences: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/openvr-motioncompensation.14576/
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  8. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    278Coins
    Ratings:
    +119 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    agree with noorbeast. reverb g2 at 4k is a master piece for sims. No need motion cancelation. just blind the two frontal cams !
  9. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    109
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Does that actually work?
  10. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    278Coins
    Ratings:
    +119 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    yes. bestway to fix this "problem"
  11. Blanes

    Blanes Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Balance:
    1,138Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 3 / -0
    No idea what that means here ... Bind or Blind ? If you mean Blind how then does the tracking work for normal moevement in the car cockpit ? Explanation and method would be great please.

    I have both the Reverb G2 and a new Gaming Rig (Ryzen 9 5900 & Rx6800) paid and expected early Dec delivery. My current Rift S dances around a bit racing with PT Actuators and if there is a tried and tested way to effect motion compensation I am all in to try it ! Cheers
  12. Hobbs77

    Hobbs77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +69 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Finally got my tracking numbers, Thursday night. Could have it as soon as saturday which would be nice. Well the long wait is almost over ......lets hope everything works properly!
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2020
  13. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    109
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I have had my reverb g2 for a while. Picture is pretty amazing compared to my rift s. I am running this with a 3070. Controllers are garbage compared to the rift s though unfortunately.
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Hobbs77

    Hobbs77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +69 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Got my G2 this past Saturday Dec 12th with a Aug 27th pre order through Connection. Ran into some troubles with my rig running right after install. I was all pumped to test drive this new HMD only to be let down with the actuators running in slow motion, about 10-20% speed. And right after installing the G2 which was quite strange because everything had been running just fine.... I even ran it the day before.
    And after a day and a half of trying just about everything under the sun with no luck, I decided to run win 10 updater. It came back with an update for my COM&LPT ports on my pc and that fixed it. All's well that ends well.... but think it was more than just a coincidence.
    As far as the G2, it's quite a step up in picture quality over the cv1. It also feels a little heavier to me. The cv1 I could wear for hours but this gets to me within an hour or so.
    The tracking of the controllers are a kind of hit and miss with me also. Having the room properly lit makes a difference..... Putting a few more camera's on the hmd would have been the thing to do but I guess they were trying to keep costs down.
    Right now I'm just enjoying revisiting all my racing games with this new display except for 1, Dirt Rally.
    I bought the Steam ver. which you could run in vr with the rift from Steam. But because I didn't buy the rift ver. I can't find a way to run it with the G2 and WMR. I can run all my rift library games but not this one which I like even better than the newer DR2.
  15. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Index Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    5,200Coins
    Ratings:
    +924 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    G2 picture quality is really good. There are things to sort on tracking, though. Most of the time tracking of the headset itself is pretty good - better than I thought it would be - but I get little microstutters, especially in DCS. The sides of the facial interface also are a bit narrow for my wide face but I can still wear it for extended periods without problem. The G2 is very lightweight and has great optics with excellent panels. No screen door that I can see. Just an overall silk-like texture. It’s really beautiful in there. Aircraft panels look great and are very, very readable. It’s a breath of fresh air in a cockpit.

    But the tracking has near constant microstutters. Lighthouse tracking has always been rock solid for me. No stutters. No jumps. The stutters in WMR appear to be at least somewhat application dependent and are most noticeable for me in DCS which is a heavy lifter anyway. Waiting to see how it is in FS2020 since that should be specifically optimized initially for WMR. The microstutters for now are a constant as I look around which is noticeable enough to send me back to the Index for DCS. The G2 sits for now.

    EDIT - this stuttering is/was application dependent so is not the headset per se. FS2020 is nicely smooth.

    Hoping a software update fixes that. I’ve got a powerful system driving it - 9900ks and 3090 so hopefully it’s not hardware holding it back. The one thing remaining is I have an ASUS mobo and G2/WMR doesn’t like the built-in mobo USB-C port so I’m having to use the supplied adapter on a USB3 A port. A little pissed that Nvidia dropped support for USB-C on the video card, too. Bad timing for that. That could be part of it since the tracking camera video has to come back to the PC. I’ve also backed settings off in DCS to the VR preset but no change in the microstutters so I suspect it’s something else with DCS possibly combined with slower coms from the headset to the PC.

    For now, a little disappointed in the G2 for my uses. It does better in other VR applications but I got it for flying/driving simulation and still prefer how immersively smooth Index is even though it’s slightly lower resolution and heavier. But one thing is certain - we are so far from the DK2 it’s not funny. VR is now coming of age.
    • Informative Informative x 2
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2020
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,074
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    117,266Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,376 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It would be interesting to know if the micro stutters are frame rate related, or perhaps to SteamVR settings itself?
  17. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,110
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    19,254Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,988 / 20 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @Zed :
    Some users with NVIDIA GPUs are experiencing dropped frames with SteamVR 1.15. If you encounter this issue on a 10xx or 20xx card, consider rolling back your GPU drivers to 446.14. This resolved the issue for many people.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  18. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Index Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    5,200Coins
    Ratings:
    +924 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thanks Matt! I’ll give it a try.
  19. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Index Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    5,200Coins
    Ratings:
    +924 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Since I was a bit critical of the G2, an update, and a good one.

    I haven’t sorted the DCS microstutters yet (haven’t flown it since FS2020 got VR) but they could even be gone now since there have been some updates. But in FS2020 the tracking is really impressive so it’s not the headset. It can track well if there aren’t other issues such as whatever was going on in DCS. It does still have occasional but minor glitches but I can’t say for certain it’s due to the inside out tracking.

    I never thought I’d say it but inside out is probably where the industry will go. You can knock a couple of hundred bucks off the price and tracking is really good, or at least good enough for most. I still think Lighthouse is the best I’ve seen. It just works and in my setup never glitches at all. But I can see the attraction of inside out at least until we get 100% high framerate, butter smooth video in the headsets.

    In FS2020, I was seeing some really odd tracking until I realized it was seeing the moving images in a full-screen FS2020 display on my monitor. I set it to windowed and made it small and now no problems. I don’t think this is/was the issue with DCS since the way that does VR in my system it uses a tall/narrow window that leaves a lot of non-moving stuff on the monitor anyway. Maybe, though.

    So for me the G2 is golden. Light weight, great displays and sweet spot. The only issues are the cable is relatively stiff and doesn’t lay down on the floor if it gets a twist in it. The other thing is the face gasket is a little narrow for my face but that’s obviously an individual thing.

    I do have a slight intermittent issue in the left headphone but a wiggle fixes it when/if it happens. At some point, though, I may have to open it up to sort that. Seems there are both physical connection issues and possible driver issues but since I can both provoke it and fix it by moving the left speaker, it sounds like a connection issue. Luckily it’s rare at least for now.

    In the G2, FS2020 is deeply immersive. The light weight makes scanning the skies and panel about as natural as it can get. The sweet spot lets me just use my eyes to glance around instead of always having to turn my head.

    There seems some quirks to the software. I don’t see the headphones or mic in device lists for TeamSpeak or on my desktop. Nothing seems to see the headphones or mic. They just work, though. I point TeamSpeak at my mobo built-in Realtek sound and the G2 mic and headphones automagically work. That is probably better than having them listed separately since with other headsets I’ve used, when I stop SteamVR, the headset devices go away and TeamSpeak complains about missing devices.

    The high resolution is very welcome when interacting with G1000 panels. I have no problem with small text on them and can see and read the wind bug on the panel in front of the copilot/passenger. Great contrast - black levels look good but I’m not doing totally dark scenes to stress that. Brightness is also good. Not painful but you know you’re looking at the sun, for example.

    So one minor (think/hope) issue but the rest is a very nice advance over Vive Pro and even Index.
    • Like Like x 3
  20. Blanes

    Blanes Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Balance:
    1,138Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 3 / -0
    My G2 is slated to ship 4-1-2021.

    Can someone please explain what @paulopsx2 said sometime ago ...
    " just blind the two frontal cams ! ".

    Excuse my lack of understanding as I have no idea what this actually means. Sounds important though as it apparently fixes motion compensation... does it ?