1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Tutorial How-to guide: Real car dashboard for racing games

Discussion in 'DIY peripherals' started by jjanu, May 10, 2018.

  1. jjanu

    jjanu LiveForSim Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Occupation:
    Multimedia
    Location:
    Québec
    Balance:
    512Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Hi All,

    This post will provide you with a complete procedure on how to use a real car dashboard with compatible racing games and a detailed list of the material to acquire. The main components include a Mazda 3 2005 instrument cluster, a TM1638 digital display, a Arduino Mega 2560 micro-controller, a SeeedStudio CAN-BUS shield and a 12 volt ATX power supply. The concept was presented in my earlier post in which I was studying how to port to Simtools my project that was initially programmed and configured for X-Sim many years ago. With the help of fellow members I successfully adapted the codes and commands in order to have a complete solution that can be implemented into Simtools. And I'm glad to share this resource with you.

    The attached document includes a step-by-step guide in PDF format with links and codes. You can also access the complete documentation on my OneDrive shared folder: https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtwKGzBk3VOohJdXo46y1V035DA0PQ

    The solution was tested with Assetto Corsa and Project Cars.

    Attached Files:

    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: May 12, 2018
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,835
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,241 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  4. jjanu

    jjanu LiveForSim Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Occupation:
    Multimedia
    Location:
    Québec
    Balance:
    512Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Thanks noorbeast.
    Last edited: May 27, 2018
  5. Allan Soto

    Allan Soto New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    SA
    Balance:
    - 28Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Hi, @jjanu thanks for your post, you inspired me!
    I can to use your arduino code in other Instrument Cluster?

    I am building a cockpit with Jaguar parts.
    I have the SimTools Professional license and a Jaguar Instrument Cluster ( S-Type 2005 ).
    I found the CAN(+) and CAN(-) pinout (JagRepair.com), but the Instrument Cluster don't work.
    Or this Instrument Cluster have a security system and I need a startup output.

    Thank you

    Attached Files: