1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Help with gears/ratio/reducer

Discussion in '3D Printing' started by SilentChill, Feb 4, 2017.

  1. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,469
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,613Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,140 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Im sure we have someone here who is good at maths :) I am terrible and I am trying to work out how to turn my 10 turn pot 20tooth GT2 belt pulley into to a 1 turn Hall pot.

    I obviously need to go small to big to small to big but I am just being lazy and asking first as it will be easy peezy for someone :D

    Travel of the belt is 400mm so I need to turn that into 360degrees by not using a 100mm pulley lol

    Once I know I can go print the relevant gears off and little housing for them.
  2. adgun

    adgun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    4,587Coins
    Ratings:
    +82 / 3 / -0
    if you make a i 10 gearbox you can use the same 20tooth pulley.
    The gears you need pepends on the stages ,with 1 stage its 10 and 100 tooth or 12 and 120 tooth
    with a 2 stage its two times i 5 two times 10 and 50 tooth
    hope this helps
  3. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,469
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,613Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,140 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Sorry I should of been more specific. I am going to use my gt2 pulley and then attach spur gear to the same rod that the pulley is on. Then add another rod for gears and yes make hopefully a 2/3 stage gearbox with the hall pot as the last gear, and make it as small as I can, I only have about 80mm x 40mm x 40mm of room to play with
  4. adgun

    adgun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    4,587Coins
    Ratings:
    +82 / 3 / -0
    A lot depends on the gear module you gona use.(there a 2 types of gears imperial usa and module europe)I only know the module system .With mod.1 a 100 tooth gear is 100 mm of size on his hartline(where tooth totsh)a mod. 0.5 100 tooth is 50mm/a 1.5mod. 100 tooth is 150 mm
    First you need to know how smal is the shaft to fit the first gear on, try to use mod. 0.5 and make it 2 stage, with a bigger module you need more stages with more backlash
  5. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,469
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,613Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,140 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I am going to use M6 thread for the shafts
  6. adgun

    adgun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    4,587Coins
    Ratings:
    +82 / 3 / -0
    You need a I 10 (I stand for reduction)This means the gear must have 10 times more tooth than the pinion fitted up pulley.
    with more stages you have a lot of options to get to I 10.
    To keep it simple with a 2 stage can go from first stage I 5 second stage I 2 (5x2=10)
    or first stag I 3.33 second stage I 3,333,33x3,33=10)
    the tooth from the first gear X wanted I give needed tooth for second gear
    With a 10 tooth pinion an a I 3,33= 10x3,33=34 tooth gear needed
    With 2 times a 10 tooth pinion and 2 times a 34 tooth gear you wil have a little bit less than 360 degrees of rotation on potty
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. adgun

    adgun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    4,587Coins
    Ratings:
    +82 / 3 / -0
    A mod.1 10 tooth gears =10 mm on his hartline and11/12mm total
    I have a fuw times used a m6 shaft for a 10 tooth mod.1 gear,with a lath but dont recomend it
    A 34 tooth mod.1 gear got a 34 mm hartline and is 35/36 mm total
  8. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,469
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,613Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,140 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thanks matey I have made these on thingiverse and I am printing them now to see if they work

    http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2084641
  9. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,554Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,269 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I wish I saw this post earlier ...

    My suggest is using a worm gear box that can be at any ratio you need 5:1, 10:1, 40:1, 50:1, 60:1

    You can salvage them easily from many sources : Angle grinder, car wiper and the windows motors, old VCR mechanisms, a LEGO gears ... endless .
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,469
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,613Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,140 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I can print worm gears also that would be a good idea :) but I have no idea how to calculate the size etc
  11. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,554Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,269 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    That's easy I guess ...
    Look at this Floppy/CD-ROM mechanism ...
    Cd-rom-drive-reading-head-movement.gif

    you need to get one of these high pitch motor shaft as it advances the mechanism by let's say 0.5cm per motor revolution ...

    then design/print a corresponding gear that meshes with it that has a perimeter length of 10 times that shaft pitch ...
    so when the shaft revolves 10 ... the gear will have a complete 1 revolution .

    Unfortunately I have this confirmed idea but I don't have a 3D printer :grin
    https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...th-ac-motors-finished.8349/page-3#post-111253
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2017
  12. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,469
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,613Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,140 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Bearings finally came and I put my first little gearbox together, really not so little lol but it works and the reduction is exactly the same rotation for my 10turn pots I did not need to change any limits in Simtools. Maybe a fluke but hey ho.

    20170219_205214.jpg 20170219_205242.jpg

    I just need to make it more compact
    • Creative Creative x 3
    • Like Like x 2
  13. OZHEAT

    OZHEAT Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    1,800Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    @SilentChill
    I feel you have gone the extremely long way to get what you want.
    You want to convert 400mm linear travel to 10 turn rotary motion.
    So 400 divide by 10 =40mm travel per turn.
    40mm circumference=12.732mm diameter
    So converting 400mm linear motion to 10 turn rotary motion = 10 turns of a 12.732 diameter pulley.
    Thats the calculation but as you are using GT2 it is really easy to work out.
    400mm GT2 belt with pitch of 2mm =200 teeth.
    So 200 teeth divide 10 turns = 20 teeth per turn

    As you are using gt2 belt with a pitch of 2mm a 20 tooth GT2 pulley would do nicely and be exact.
  14. adgun

    adgun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    4,587Coins
    Ratings:
    +82 / 3 / -0
    No he wants to go from a 10 turn to a 1 turn pot
    • Agree Agree x 2
  15. OZHEAT

    OZHEAT Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    1,800Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    • Like Like x 1
  16. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,469
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,613Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,140 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hah no probs, it's big and crude, I really need something smaller. One good thing there is no slack at all with the herring tooth gears.
    • Winner Winner x 1
  17. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,772
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,336Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,479 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  18. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,469
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,613Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,140 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    • Informative Informative x 1
  19. Mmcool

    Mmcool Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    1,062Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  20. OZHEAT

    OZHEAT Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    1,800Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    An easy way to get rid of one of the gear sets is to replace the 20 tooth GT2 pulley with a 60 tooth one, that will make it 3:1 so you need only 1 more stage of 3:1
    Or replace the 20t gt2 with 40t gt2, you then need 5:1 stage.

    You will need to position the pulley so that the 2 left tangents line up, the rhs doesn't matter.
    • Like Like x 1