1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question Help Setting Correct Ports on AASD15A for 3DOF with PT Actuator

Discussion in 'SimTools Pro & Entertainment Version' started by Globespy, Jun 20, 2020.

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,787
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    121,989Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,634 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Please post a picture that includes your surge settings.
  2. Globespy

    Globespy Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Messages:
    85
    Balance:
    643Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hey noorbeast!
    Had to take 2 clips to show everything:
    upload_2020-6-20_9-40-6.png

    upload_2020-6-20_9-41-11.png
  3. Globespy

    Globespy Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Messages:
    85
    Balance:
    643Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    In regard to the SimTools 'Axis Limiting' parameter can you clarify based on the following:

    I followed Barry Rowlands SRG review of his 5DOF system.
    In the setup menus of the AMC-AASD motion controller (what I use), he suggests limiting the stroke of each actuator to just below it's rated total movement. So for 150mm stroke actuators, select 130-140mm to avoid banging off the physical limits.

    Is this the same as the 'Axis Limiting' function in SimTools? If so, which one should I use?

    Additionally, in the 'Interface Settings' I chose the correct 'interface type' of AMC, but it shows more axis than I have, if an axis is defined as a motor?
    Should I only have Axis1a, Axis2a and Axis3a for a 3x Actuator setup?
    upload_2020-6-20_10-18-19.png

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 20, 2020
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,787
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    121,989Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,634 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    First a warning, wait until you have the fundamentals correct in your motion profile before using VR, as conflicting cues can make you ill. With VR it is more important tat the motion profile be fast an accurate, rather than use large axis movements. Once you have a base profile that is pretty good on a screen then refine it further in VR.

    At a guess I would suggest switching your heave and surge axis allocation % around. You also need to add sway, try 30% as a start point.

    It is important to initially test Axis Allocations individually, adjust them as needed, then when you are happy with each then turn them all on and tweak from there.

    Axis Limiting is covered on p.39 of the SimTools manual and yes a bit less than the full range is a good idea.

    Yes you only need Axis1a, Axis2a and Axis3a for a 3x Actuator setup.
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2020
  5. Globespy

    Globespy Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Messages:
    85
    Balance:
    643Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Thanks!
    Only issue is that I do not have a monitor close enough to my racing rig to be practical.
    I use virtual desktop when doing racing related things, my gaming PC and desk is about 10ft away.
    So I will have to do this in VR.

    Regarding Axis Limiting does this mean that we would be reading the parameters horizontally on each actuator? So a bit of roll, heave, pitch etc but just on one actuator at a time, and essentially playing with the 'volume'?
    That sounds strange given there's no other actuator to compare it to, but perhaps it will make more sense doing it. :)

    Thank you for the setting suggestions, I agree that with VR, its best to have short fast motion elements that accurately represent the road surface sensations over things like roll etc.
    Most of the cars I race are tight sports cars in the GTE/GTLM category, but from time to time the trophy trucks are a blast and 'big' motion would be more appropriate with landing from 20ft jumps.

    I was hoping to find other iRacing members who use SimTools related motion to get some profiles to try to get a feel for what does what and the differences in effect strengths.
    But so far no joy.

    If there's any other suggestions you may have, they are most welcome.
    Otherwise I will create a new thread here and in the iRacing member forums.

    Yes, I understand that there is intrinsic value and satisfaction from knowing how all this creates these immersive experiences and what settings are better suited to certain cars etc.
    But it's important to actually enjoy the motion aspect to warrant much more time invested in tinkering.
    Don't get me wrong, I am a tinkerer and have worked in technology my entire career before health stopped me in my tracks a little earlier than planned.
    Racing is my escape from chronic daily pain, and I was hoping to have an easier introduction to this experience with say a handful of community created profiles to try to give me a baseline to start from and be enthused enough to dig into this more on my better days.

    Thanks again
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2020
  6. Globespy

    Globespy Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Messages:
    85
    Balance:
    643Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    The surge effect is interesting.
    I like the little 'jolts' when changing up and down gears 0ne strange aspect is that if I'm braking, then I lose the downshift 'jolts'? Doesn't that seem odd?
    Doing testing with just the front actuator and quite surprised just how strong the sensations are with just one axis!
    Turned most of the parameters to single digits, but still too much going on - its not that I don't like the forces felt, it's just that they seem like they are lasting too long, creating the experience that the motion feedback is sluggish/slow.
  7. Lesmore222

    Lesmore222 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    205Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Globespy Thank you so much for starting this post. I am in the same boat as you. I have 3 PT Actuators and have been pulling my hair out and staying up half the night trying to figure this out for the last 2-3 days. I also do mostly Iracing.
    Any chance you could post screen shots of your current settings? I would really appreciate it.
  8. Globespy

    Globespy Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Messages:
    85
    Balance:
    643Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    If you have 1 actuator in center front of your rig, the other 2 on each side near the rear, then this should work.
    If you want to have your motion like a fairground ride with big exaggerated movements, then you may not like these settings.
    I was focused on getting as much information from the laser scan data in iRacing to help me understand more about how the car was moving rather than to be thrown around.

    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/pt-actuators-3dof-system.13568/page-12#post-204342
    • Like Like x 1